$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Vibe Hotel Sydney

4 stars
View map of 111 Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Vibe Hotel Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Good location, decent/average

It would have been great if they had our reservation when we arrived. Overall average hotel, minimal/basic amenities. The phone didn't ring in our room, and messages were not available except when randomly delivered by someone from reception. Overall reasonable value for Sydney, easy walk to majority of attractions and neighborhoods. Had to contest bill on checkout, and had several mis-charges. Each of three separate orders to room service were messed up, and had to contest billing of each item. They were accommodating in making the changes, so there were no real issues. I'm just glad they had availability when we arrived because many other hotels were sold out. If they had not, this would have been a serious issue. I would stay there again if nothing else in the price range and proximity was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get between the Central Train Station and Circular Quay, look for the free 555 buses that run along Elizabeth and George streets. They make many stops along the way, and are easier/cheaper than the subway or taxi. However, look at the times as they only run until 3:30pm most weekdays. The Curve cafe in the Vibe has a good lunch deal for an entree and beer for $12.50, which is good for Sydney.

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Good location, decent/average

It would have been great if they had our reservation when we arrived. Overall average hotel, minimal/basic amenities. The phone didn't ring in our room, and messages were not available except when randomly delivered by someone from reception. Overall reasonable value for Sydney, easy walk to majority of attractions and neighborhoods. Had to contest bill on checkout, and had several mis-charges. Each of three separate orders to room service were messed up, and had to contest billing of each item. They were accommodating in making the changes, so there were no real issues. I'm just glad they had availability when we arrived because many other hotels were sold out. If they had not, this would have been a serious issue. I would stay there again if nothing else in the price range and proximity was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get between the Central Train Station and Circular Quay, look for the free 555 buses that run along Elizabeth and George streets. They make many stops along the way, and are easier/cheaper than the subway or taxi. However, look at the times as they only run until 3:30pm most weekdays. The Curve cafe in the Vibe has a good lunch deal for an entree and beer for $12.50, which is good for Sydney.

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stafford, Virginia
Aug 17, 2010

Nice Hotel!

The hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. It was in a decent location. Darling Harbour was about a 10 minute walk and the Rocks/Sydney Harbour was about a 15 minute walk. We took their subway to the Sydney Harbour to save time (about $4 round trip). The hotel eatery/bar was expensive! I would eat elsewhere (even across the street). DO NOT TAKE CABS! They are super expensive. All places are walkable or there is the subway & bus system. The hotel staff are super friendly and will help you get to where you need to go. We stayed on the third floor and it was quiet. At least it seemed quiet but we pretty much zonked out each night from all the fun we were having during the day. While in Sydney, our most favorite activity was the Sydney Bridge Climb. It was pricy but COMLETELY worth every penny! The climb is steep with some stairs but you do not notice it because the guides break it up with history, stories, spotting locations, etc. While at the top, the scenery is breathtaking! They also have different versions of the climb and we did the more adventurous one. This is the one thing we would recommend people to do while in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, ca
Jul 2, 2010

Liked the Vibe

We very much enjoyed our stay. We had a family room, which was a bit tight, but worked well for what we needed. The price was very reasonable for Sydney and we could walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Leandro, CA
Jun 11, 2010

Great location!

The Vibe Hotel was in a prime location. We couldn't have asked for a better location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cheap and good eats, the hotel is within walking distance to Chinatown!

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BoulderTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO
May 28, 2010

Sydney Vibe Hotel

The Vibe's best feature is the location: a few blocks away from Chinatown for superb and reasonably priced food while smack between the Museum and Central Station stop for the train to / from the airport. Likewise the free CBD bus that takes you to Circular Quay is only two blocks away. You can also easily walk to Circular Quay and the business / shopping areas downtown. The staff was helpful. The room -- and the hotel itself -- is clean but slightly dated and the room could use a coat of paint. The bathroom is clean and hot water plentiful. The room is kept spanking clean everyday. And our room on the 6th floor is blissfully quiet due to some powerful double paned windows. For what we paid (about US$130/ night) it is a good value no question. But the room was not as nice as pictures on the hotel's website. And our 6th floor hallway smelled like curry for the 3 days that we were there probably because the air intake is next to an Indian restaurant. However, our room did not smell like curry thank goodness. Do stay for the location and good value but don't expect it to be in tiptop shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oki gal
Business
Naha, Okinawa
Apr 20, 2010

Vibe Hotel, Sydney

We arrived before check in time, but were given our room immediately which was a great welcome as we arrived on an over night flight and were dirty and tired. The hotel is within walking distance to everything - museums, ferries, great restaurants, historical sites etc. It was easy to plan your day - museum in the morning - rest briefly at the hotel - ferry to the beach in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many fine restaurants within a five minute walk from the hotel. The hotel provided business cards with directions to about 20 of these.

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ridgecrest, Ca
Mar 29, 2010

Nice Hotel for Four

It is very hard to find a hotel in other countries that sleeps more than two. Vibe hotel offered a "quad" room which meant we didn't need to book two rooms for our stay in Sydney - yeah!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Aussie Travelers
Business
Shawano Lake, WI
Mar 28, 2010

Great location

We used this hotel for its walkability to numerous attractions: Darling Harbour, Hyde Park, the Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown. It worked out great for us. The internet fees were higher here than we encountered on the street though. Go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 3, 2010

Vibe Hotel Sydney

The Vibe is located in a great spot for all activities. It is up to date and very clean, although we were not there but to sleep. Internet was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour is a short walk with great dining and activities.

Back to menu Return to top