$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
71 reviews
wonderful location

Close to the Rocks which is our favorite place to shop and eat. Within walking distance of the... See full review

  • grandma doodle
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location

First time in Sydney, hotel really central, good location for most sightseeing. Good buffet... See full review

  • Pickchic
  • Dec 21, 2014
Dependable hotel in Sydney’s central business district

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is a comfortable hotel at the core of Sydney's central business district, so guests are able to walk to the nearby Opera House, an array of museums and Darling Harbour. The nearby Wynyard Railway Station provides transport to popular tourist attractions such as Bondi Beach. The hotel's Citrus Grove restaurant is a popular place to enjoy dining and the lounge is tastefully decorated with comfy large leather couches. Here, visitors surf the Internet (fees apply) while over in the lobby bar genuine Australian wine is available until late at night. A fitness center and free luggage storage complete the package.

Reasons to stay
  • Located close to the premier entertainment venues and attractions in Sydney
  • The hotel gives guests comfortable and contemporary rooms
  • There is 24-hour room service and a full-service restaurant on-site
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney rooms
The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney hotel has a total of 277 rooms, all with big windows that encourage a flood of natural sunlight. A choice of rooms awaits guests to the Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, with a standard queen or twin bed or a studio room complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. The decor in each room combines comfortable amenities are delightfully warm and inviting to guests looking for rest and relaxation. High-speed Internet (fees apply), a workstation and a flat screen TV with a full listing of movie channels are available in all rooms. Parking is available (fees apply) and city views can be enjoyed with an executive room. The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney gives exercise-focused guests the chance to exercise in a fully equipped fitness center. Guests can also take advantage of the free luggage storage service. A handy safety deposit box is available for all visitors.
Things to do nearby
  • The Rocks (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Circular Quay 0(.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Australian Museum (1 mi/1.7km)
  • Taronga Zoo (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Car parking is available on site for $40/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wynyard Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room. Rates are for two people in double or twin bedding only, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Executive Room
Executive rooms (non-smoking) with city views, queen or double only. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed Internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Courtyard Room
Courtyard Room (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Studio Apartment
Studio apartment (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Includes CD stereo, bath and microwave equipped kitchenette. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking is $40 per night subject to availability.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Citrus Grove
Enjoy a wide range of modern Australian cuisine at Travelodge Wynyard's Citrus Grove Restaurant. Citrus Grove Restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with a simple yet fabulous tasting menu. Room Service is available for lunch and dinner (please check operating hours) for those who like to relax and unwind in the comfort of their room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 71
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz123456
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Good for what it is.

This hotel is convenient and clean. It is nothing special, but the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phil B
Business
San Diego
Mar 29, 2012

Good location, not the best building

The rooms are dark and basic. Then again, they're at very good rates. Too bad they don't have Internet access, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
inFezA
Business
Melbourne
Apr 6, 2013

Bring your own pillow

It was okay, nothing special, i'd suggest you bring your pillow because theirs are like rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, North Carolina
Jul 18, 2011

JUST SHOOT STRAIGHT WITH ME!

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney (July 5th -15th, 2011)I just finished a visit/business trip in Sydney. The cost of the hotel stay at Travelodge Wynyard was over $1,200 and in realty I was disappointed. Although Australia is in their winter months I am the kind of person that needs a room to be cool in order to sleep at night. I don't think that this is a lot to ask at over $125 Australian currency per night to have the room. Their idea at this particular hotel was to have their rooms cooled by opening the window to the room. The problem with this method is that the all night Sydney traffic is a huge irritant. Keep in mind that in their advertisement it is clearly mentioned that air-conditioning is offered in every room. When I made them aware of the problem they sent someone while I was away, when I returned late that night I found the window open. At that time the hotel said nothing about them turning off the main air unit for the winter. I called again to check the air, what they did next was to offer me a fan to move the air around. This had some relief but the room was still stuffy, even my son who visited mentioned it to me. [...] the hotel finally admitted the shut- down of their air unit. They offered me a "no penalty" for cancelling a reservation for further nights. I had to stay; my hands were tied in that I could not change the situation because of schedule conflicts and difficulty in taking time to move. My problem was that I could not hunt for a new hotel, I actually had no time and cabs are so expensive along with everything else in the city to take the time to do that. Bottom line is that this was a matter of false advertising and I was unable to rectify the problem by moving to another location. If you were to calculate what I actually paid for this room considering American to Australian currency it compounds the disappointment with the whole experience.I want to believe this is not an indicator of Travelodge and their affiliates[...], I chose both organizations because of their commitment to customer satisfaction.Respectfully submitted,Robert J. Ricotta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Botanic Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied traveller 13
Business
NSW Australia
Apr 19, 2014

Very convenient location!

Just walk across the road to get to the Wynyard train station!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandyc
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 28, 2009

Good value and good location for price.

We had a long wait getting into our room. For a business trip, the room provided all the basic needs. We requested additional towels - no luck. The dual flush toilet did not work properly and it was nearly impossible to adjust the temperature of the shower - there was no lack of hot water. The price of the breakfast was far too expensive and the view from our room looked into the window of an adjoining office building. The front desk staff was very helpful, kind and courteous. The location was great for getting around the city. Overall, I would certainly stay at this property again. A first visit is always challenging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many free areas only a short walk from the property. The overall cost in Sydney was much more expensive than anticipated. Traveler's checks and American money were not accepted at any location we visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always on the road...
Business
VA, USA
Apr 26, 2010

Will stay again....

Fantastic location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and clean. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the train station. So very convenient and inexpensive way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy loves life
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 1, 2014

Great position, good value

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position opposite Wynyard Station was fabulous and it's also a very easy walk (15 minutes) to the Opera House one way, and town the other. Coffee shops very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top