$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 4, 2010

Super location for the price

This is a great location, within walking distance to most of the tourist areas. We walked to the Sidney Harbor, Opera House, China Town, Darling Harbor and more. This hotel is in the business district and everyone was bustling around. We felt very safe walking everywhere. The people-watching was wonderful!! The room itself was quite standard, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was quite expensive, but we were able to find specials on different days of the week (Monday early evening special Sheperd's pie at Lord Nelson's Brewery, Tuesday 2 for 1 steaks all day at the Argle Inn etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJZJ
Business
Cyprus
Aug 2, 2014

Good value city hotel

The Travelodge is well situated with good size rooms and friendly staff. All the major landmarks are nearby and easily accessible. The hotels is near rail and bus links.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fozzy2229
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 31, 2014

Better Than Expected

I had heard some poor reviews of the Travel Lodge, however I found everything to be perfectly fine and exceptional value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy loves life
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Sep 1, 2014

Great position, good value

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position opposite Wynyard Station was fabulous and it's also a very easy walk (15 minutes) to the Opera House one way, and town the other. Coffee shops very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gosford nsw australia
Nov 14, 2014

together time

Basic good value hotel. Great location. Short walk to the quay , shopping ,the rocks and train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the rocks and quay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickchic
Business
Lancs, England
Dec 21, 2014

Perfect location

First time in Sydney, hotel really central, good location for most sightseeing. Good buffet breakfast on 2 for 1 Would recommend for base for seeing the city sights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The rocks for eating and historical interest only a short walk away. Fridays street food market is definitely worth a look early evening!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MRSLA
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great Location

The location is perfect. The room was clean and view was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikas s
Business
Massachusetts, USA
May 14, 2013

Central Location in a Safe Neighborhood!

The hotel is very centrally located, just a block away from Wynyard Station (with connecting train to the airport/suburbs). The monorail station is a 10 minute walk. Both the Opera House and the Darling Harbour are approx. a short 15 minute walk. We had a late evening flight and were able to leave our luggage at the front desk while we enjoyed the tourist attractions. If you are flying out of Sydney, you might consider taking the reasonably priced shuttle service offered by the hotel (It is for drop-off not pick up). We arrived late on a Sunday evening and took a cab (fare approx. 48 AUD - if you get stuck in traffic the fare might be higher (train to Wynyard from the airport will be a better option)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney Opera House, Darling Harbour, Wynyard Train Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 13, 2009

Bright rooms, excellent location

We were surprised that although a large, impersonal hotel, the Wynyard was an excellent stay for us. Clean rooms, good service, helpful concierge, nearby the airlink train to and from airport. We could walk to almost all important sights in Sydney--we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pubs and restaurants nearby. Found a Belgium beer spot we liked on Harrington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jun 13, 2010

GREAT DEAL, CLOSE TO ALL THE SIGHTS

We had just flown in and our check in time was suppose to be 1 pm but it was 11 am when we arrived by shuttle (DON'T TAKE A TAXI TOO EXPENSIVE). The front desk was very accomadating by finding us a room that was ready so we could get cleaned up since we traveled all night on the plane. The room had a great view of the Sydney Tower on the 14th floor. One street over you can take a free city bus to see all the sights but you can walk to the opera house no problem. My 9 year old and 76 year old mother did great and we walked down to the water and back up to the Art museum and Sydney Tower. The subway train station was directly across the street from the hotel and we were able to take it to the airport to take our connecting flight on to Adelaide. Don't take the shuttle or taxi back to airport very expensive and traffic is HELL any time of day. If you have a lot of bags you can store them at the airport either at the international side or domestic side for about $10 a bag. It is nice if you just want to have a quick lay over and travel on to your destination. The subway goes straight to either terminal for $15 a person and it takes about 24 minutes. You can't beat it. I highly recommend this hotel and quick layover if you fly from the US to Australia because you have to go through customs anyway so you might as well stay over night one night and check out the sights in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top