$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
102 reviews
Central Location in a Safe Neighborhood!

The hotel is very centrally located, just a block away from Wynyard Station (with connecting train... See full review

  • vikas s
  • May 14, 2013
Very convenient location!

Just walk across the road to get to the Wynyard train station! See full review

  • Satisfied traveller 13
  • Apr 19, 2014
Dependable hotel in Sydney’s central business district

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is a comfortable hotel at the core of Sydney's central business district, so guests are able to walk to the nearby Opera House, an array of museums and Darling Harbour. The nearby Wynyard Railway Station provides transport to popular tourist attractions such as Bondi Beach. The hotel's Citrus Grove restaurant is a popular place to enjoy dining and the lounge is tastefully decorated with comfy large leather couches. Here, visitors surf the Internet (fees apply) while over in the lobby bar genuine Australian wine is available until late at night. A fitness center and free luggage storage complete the package.

Reasons to stay
  • Located close to the premier entertainment venues and attractions in Sydney
  • The hotel gives guests comfortable and contemporary rooms
  • There is 24-hour room service and a full-service restaurant on-site
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney rooms
The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney hotel has a total of 277 rooms, all with big windows that encourage a flood of natural sunlight. A choice of rooms awaits guests to the Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, with a standard queen or twin bed or a studio room complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. The decor in each room combines comfortable amenities are delightfully warm and inviting to guests looking for rest and relaxation. High-speed Internet (fees apply), a workstation and a flat screen TV with a full listing of movie channels are available in all rooms. Parking is available (fees apply) and city views can be enjoyed with an executive room. The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney gives exercise-focused guests the chance to exercise in a fully equipped fitness center. Guests can also take advantage of the free luggage storage service. A handy safety deposit box is available for all visitors.
Things to do nearby
  • The Rocks (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Circular Quay 0(.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Australian Museum (1 mi/1.7km)
  • Taronga Zoo (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room. Rates are for two peoplein double or twin bedding only, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Executive Room
Executive rooms (non-smoking) with city views, queen or double only. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed Internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Courtyard Room
Courtyard Room (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Studio Apartment
Studio apartment (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Includes CD stereo, bath and microwave equipped kitchenette. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking is $30 per night subject to availability.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wynyard Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8648 151.2053
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International and Domestic Airports.
Area description
Travelodge Wynyard is ideally situated next door to Sydney's wonderful attractions, whether you are looking for an exciting day in the city or a sensational night out on the town. You can visit the Opera House, the historical Rocks area, Darling Harbour, the Botanical Gardens, a huge variety of restaurants and a great selection of major shopping outlets. Adjacent to Wynyard railway station, you will find it easy to discover the best that Sydney has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Citrus Grove
Enjoy a wide range of modern Australian cuisine at Travelodge Wynyard's Citrus Grove Restaurant. Citrus Grove Restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with a simple yet fabulous tasting menu. Room Service is available for lunch and dinner (please check operating hours) for those who like to relax and unwind in the comfort of their room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time traveling as a mom
honolulu, hi
Jan 1, 2010

adverage

i wanted to be near restaurants or shops that open late. i was right at the end of town. china town took a 45 min. trek. did my own wash at their facility and the dryer took too long. the front desk was friendly and fast. limited my pillows, had myself husband and toddler. wanted another 4 but they would not let us. its an open shower area with no walls which is ok but the toilet paper roll kept getting wet. overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore Md.
Feb 26, 2010

Good hotel...bad phone service

The hotel was good, but when we checked out we were charged $60.00 for phone calls. The only calls we made were with a pre paid phone card, only one call got through, the other 4 or 5 calls were not connected. I told this to the front desk but they insisted every time you pick up the phone ther is a charge. I agreed, but thought it should be about a dollar or two if the call is not connected. They insisted the $60 is right, and we had to pay it. All I can say is do not pick up the phone in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 555 Buss that is free for visitors. We didn't find this out until the day before we left.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time traveling as a mom
honolulu, hi
Jan 1, 2010

adverage

i wanted to be near restaurants or shops that open late. i was right at the end of town. china town took a 45 min. trek. did my own wash at their facility and the dryer took too long. the front desk was friendly and fast. limited my pillows, had myself husband and toddler. wanted another 4 but they would not let us. its an open shower area with no walls which is ok but the toilet paper roll kept getting wet. overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grace Lover
Evanston, IL
Dec 7, 2009

Good deal

The hotel was an ordinary, okay hotel with a good rate. The location is good too. It is right next to Wynyard station. So we took the AirportLink, since we arrived during morning rush hour. It is in a walking distance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. We were not able to check in to our room when we arrived, but they had a shower room for us to use after a long trip. The hotel service was not the best. The front desk and travel desk seemed very busy and we had to wait for awhile to get any service. We used a computer by the front desk because they told us that we would be able to do what we wanted, but discovered that we actually could not. We still had to pay for the time we spent on the computer. The shuttle service to the airport that is advertised at the front desk never showed up for us. So if you are using this service, make sure you make a reservation with extra time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased SmartVisit card which allows you access to many attractions in and around Sydney. We bought one with transportation and since the hotel was right by a train station, we had an easy time getting to different attractions.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phil B
Business
San Diego
Mar 29, 2012

Good location, not the best building

The rooms are dark and basic. Then again, they're at very good rates. Too bad they don't have Internet access, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budita2000
Mexico City
Jan 10, 2011

Normal hotel, good location

Normal hotel, average amenities, average price for Sydney. It has a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salem Traveler
Salem, Oregon
Nov 1, 2012

Great location but lacking ..

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The location is terrific. Cross the street to the Wynyard Station between this and the Menzies for a Cole's (one level down) and lots of places to pick up a bite. Stay in the Station and go to George street for Hungry Jack's and McDonalds. Dirty towels left in the tub were taken but not replaced. The bed is akin to a Japanese mat on the floor with a brick for a pillow. Citrus Grove serves good food with the daily specials not over priced (for Australia).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Wynyard Station for groceries. Twice during our three days free samples were passed out during the morning rush. (yoghurts, coffees, etc.)

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose
Jan 23, 2011

ok, could of been better and worse.

As soon as i heard were were on the 2nd floor, i had a bad taste.. The room seemed a bit used up, needed renovation w/ new carpet, and bigger renovation in the bathroom. The tiles, molding, under the sink area could of had a face lift. This is what happened the very first day/night: We came in in the afternoon, turned the air conditioner on, left the room for a few hours, came back and it was hot, only warm air was coming out of the vents. When taking a shower, the water tempature was going back and forth to warm to semi cold.My husband told the receptionist about these two problems, he came promptly, tested out the air conditioner, did see it was not working. He told us he will have maintence look at it the next morning. In meantime to solve this, he brought down a stand up fan for the night.In the AM, my husand could sleep due to the tempature in the room so at 4:30 AM, he went down to the receptionist desk, spoke to a [...] and told him about the room, [...] moved us to another room on the 17th level. The room was much nicer and it seemed less used up.After the move, all was fine. I like the workout room! Always nice to have one of these. Over all rating , despite the first room and night, everything was fine and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the city rail or underground tram was always close to any spot so if you don't want to walk, you have this option which was great! The location was great for us.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relufero Tweet
Mexico City, Mexico
Oct 24, 2011

Not what you expect from a Travelodge

No Wi-Fi in rooms. Only in lobby and charged at 11 AuDls per hour. Not clean: bathroom not mopped, room seldom vacumcleaned. Staff do help but don´t have the service spirit. It can be a place to stay but not to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillip´s Foote, in George Street, in The Rocks. A great place have a beef cut.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
Sep 16, 2009

Travelodge Wynward Sydney

This hotel was located in a very convenient part of Sydney that made it easy to see most of the core tourist spots by walking, and the staff were very friendly. The room was very clean and kept that way. The down side was that the room we had was fairly noisy during the night.All said, the price was very good and I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk of 15-20 mins to Darling Harbor with a large amount of fine dinig resturants. Many resturants and cfes wiyhin 5-10 mins

Back to menu Return to top