$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
71 reviews
wonderful location

Close to the Rocks which is our favorite place to shop and eat. Within walking distance of the... See full review

  • grandma doodle
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location

First time in Sydney, hotel really central, good location for most sightseeing. Good buffet... See full review

  • Pickchic
  • Dec 21, 2014
Dependable hotel in Sydney’s central business district

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is a comfortable hotel at the core of Sydney's central business district, so guests are able to walk to the nearby Opera House, an array of museums and Darling Harbour. The nearby Wynyard Railway Station provides transport to popular tourist attractions such as Bondi Beach. The hotel's Citrus Grove restaurant is a popular place to enjoy dining and the lounge is tastefully decorated with comfy large leather couches. Here, visitors surf the Internet (fees apply) while over in the lobby bar genuine Australian wine is available until late at night. A fitness center and free luggage storage complete the package.

Reasons to stay
  • Located close to the premier entertainment venues and attractions in Sydney
  • The hotel gives guests comfortable and contemporary rooms
  • There is 24-hour room service and a full-service restaurant on-site
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney rooms
The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney hotel has a total of 277 rooms, all with big windows that encourage a flood of natural sunlight. A choice of rooms awaits guests to the Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, with a standard queen or twin bed or a studio room complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. The decor in each room combines comfortable amenities are delightfully warm and inviting to guests looking for rest and relaxation. High-speed Internet (fees apply), a workstation and a flat screen TV with a full listing of movie channels are available in all rooms. Parking is available (fees apply) and city views can be enjoyed with an executive room. The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney gives exercise-focused guests the chance to exercise in a fully equipped fitness center. Guests can also take advantage of the free luggage storage service. A handy safety deposit box is available for all visitors.
Things to do nearby
  • The Rocks (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Circular Quay 0(.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Australian Museum (1 mi/1.7km)
  • Taronga Zoo (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Car parking is available on site for $40/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wynyard Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room. Rates are for two people in double or twin bedding only, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Executive Room
Executive rooms (non-smoking) with city views, queen or double only. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed Internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Courtyard Room
Courtyard Room (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Studio Apartment
Studio apartment (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Includes CD stereo, bath and microwave equipped kitchenette. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking is $40 per night subject to availability.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Citrus Grove
Enjoy a wide range of modern Australian cuisine at Travelodge Wynyard's Citrus Grove Restaurant. Citrus Grove Restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with a simple yet fabulous tasting menu. Room Service is available for lunch and dinner (please check operating hours) for those who like to relax and unwind in the comfort of their room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Good hotel

Good decent hotel in a great location in the middle of Syndey CBD, very close to the train and tourist spots. Cheap for location & services. They even honored my early check in request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, North Carolina
Jul 18, 2011

JUST SHOOT STRAIGHT WITH ME!

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney (July 5th -15th, 2011)I just finished a visit/business trip in Sydney. The cost of the hotel stay at Travelodge Wynyard was over $1,200 and in realty I was disappointed. Although Australia is in their winter months I am the kind of person that needs a room to be cool in order to sleep at night. I don't think that this is a lot to ask at over $125 Australian currency per night to have the room. Their idea at this particular hotel was to have their rooms cooled by opening the window to the room. The problem with this method is that the all night Sydney traffic is a huge irritant. Keep in mind that in their advertisement it is clearly mentioned that air-conditioning is offered in every room. When I made them aware of the problem they sent someone while I was away, when I returned late that night I found the window open. At that time the hotel said nothing about them turning off the main air unit for the winter. I called again to check the air, what they did next was to offer me a fan to move the air around. This had some relief but the room was still stuffy, even my son who visited mentioned it to me. [...] the hotel finally admitted the shut- down of their air unit. They offered me a "no penalty" for cancelling a reservation for further nights. I had to stay; my hands were tied in that I could not change the situation because of schedule conflicts and difficulty in taking time to move. My problem was that I could not hunt for a new hotel, I actually had no time and cabs are so expensive along with everything else in the city to take the time to do that. Bottom line is that this was a matter of false advertising and I was unable to rectify the problem by moving to another location. If you were to calculate what I actually paid for this room considering American to Australian currency it compounds the disappointment with the whole experience.I want to believe this is not an indicator of Travelodge and their affiliates[...], I chose both organizations because of their commitment to customer satisfaction.Respectfully submitted,Robert J. Ricotta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Botanic Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 23, 2011

ok, could of been better and worse.

As soon as i heard were were on the 2nd floor, i had a bad taste.. The room seemed a bit used up, needed renovation w/ new carpet, and bigger renovation in the bathroom. The tiles, molding, under the sink area could of had a face lift. This is what happened the very first day/night: We came in in the afternoon, turned the air conditioner on, left the room for a few hours, came back and it was hot, only warm air was coming out of the vents. When taking a shower, the water tempature was going back and forth to warm to semi cold.My husband told the receptionist about these two problems, he came promptly, tested out the air conditioner, did see it was not working. He told us he will have maintence look at it the next morning. In meantime to solve this, he brought down a stand up fan for the night.In the AM, my husand could sleep due to the tempature in the room so at 4:30 AM, he went down to the receptionist desk, spoke to a [...] and told him about the room, [...] moved us to another room on the 17th level. The room was much nicer and it seemed less used up.After the move, all was fine. I like the workout room! Always nice to have one of these. Over all rating , despite the first room and night, everything was fine and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the city rail or underground tram was always close to any spot so if you don't want to walk, you have this option which was great! The location was great for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budita2000
Business
Mexico City
Jan 10, 2011

Normal hotel, good location

Normal hotel, average amenities, average price for Sydney. It has a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore Md.
Feb 26, 2010

Good hotel...bad phone service

The hotel was good, but when we checked out we were charged $60.00 for phone calls. The only calls we made were with a pre paid phone card, only one call got through, the other 4 or 5 calls were not connected. I told this to the front desk but they insisted every time you pick up the phone ther is a charge. I agreed, but thought it should be about a dollar or two if the call is not connected. They insisted the $60 is right, and we had to pay it. All I can say is do not pick up the phone in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 555 Buss that is free for visitors. We didn't find this out until the day before we left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time traveling as a mom
Business
honolulu, hi
Jan 1, 2010

adverage

i wanted to be near restaurants or shops that open late. i was right at the end of town. china town took a 45 min. trek. did my own wash at their facility and the dryer took too long. the front desk was friendly and fast. limited my pillows, had myself husband and toddler. wanted another 4 but they would not let us. its an open shower area with no walls which is ok but the toilet paper roll kept getting wet. overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grace Lover
Business
Evanston, IL
Dec 7, 2009

Good deal

The hotel was an ordinary, okay hotel with a good rate. The location is good too. It is right next to Wynyard station. So we took the AirportLink, since we arrived during morning rush hour. It is in a walking distance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. We were not able to check in to our room when we arrived, but they had a shower room for us to use after a long trip. The hotel service was not the best. The front desk and travel desk seemed very busy and we had to wait for awhile to get any service. We used a computer by the front desk because they told us that we would be able to do what we wanted, but discovered that we actually could not. We still had to pay for the time we spent on the computer. The shuttle service to the airport that is advertised at the front desk never showed up for us. So if you are using this service, make sure you make a reservation with extra time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased SmartVisit card which allows you access to many attractions in and around Sydney. We bought one with transportation and since the hotel was right by a train station, we had an easy time getting to different attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point
Mar 28, 2011

Sydney on a Budget

I was presently surprised by the quality and size of our room. The bed was super comfortable too. The location was within walking distance of Cirgular Quay to catch the many ferries and the historic "Rock" district. We could also walk to the bridge and the lovely Sydney Opera House. Definitely would recommend this hotel although it's not much to look at from the lobby. Also inexpensive Japenese restaurants next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Grab all the free magazines for Sydney. We received a 20% discount on the Essential Tour for the Opera House in one of them. Plus once you go you get discounts on some of the shows for that night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KK Hawaiian
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 24, 2014

Travelodge Wynyard 11/23/14

This hotel is in a great location, its just about half way to "The Rocks" and "Town Hall". It takes about 10 minutes to walk in either direction. It is also only a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour. It is only one block away from the Wynyard Train Station. I caught the train from the international airport in Sydney to this station, and it only took about 15 minutes. Once out on the street from the station, it took me only 30 seconds to walk to the hotel with my luggage. There is a Starbucks directly across the street, and the internet there is pretty fast. They give you a code which last 1 hour with any purchase. My only suggestion is too go before or after rush hour because it can get really busy in the morning. The staff were pleasant, but nothing outstanding. No concierge service, so have your plans done prior to arriving here, or have a laptop on tablet so you can research on your own. There is wireless in the lobby, you just need to get the password from the front desk. It definitely is not a high speed service, be prepared to wait on downloads. The electrical outlets are all Australian, so my american plug did not fit in the socket. There are vending machines upstairs that sell adapters. There is only one plug in the bathroom that will fit a 2 prong american plug. A huge bonus was that you can use the shower located next to the gym if you need to before you leave. My flight didn't leave until late at night, but the staff was able to store my bags until my return to the hotel. I could retrieve clean clothes, take a shower, and head to the airport relaxed. Towels are provided, but no amenities. I wish every hotel provided this service (including 5 star ones), it is a huge benefit. The rooms were clean, good sized, and furnished okay. The bed was a very lumpy, and needed a new mattress. I would stay here again if the price were right. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Friday and Saturday nights, you can have dinner and drinks outside the Opera House over looking the Harbour. Go early because it gets really crowded!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top