$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 22, 2010

Great location!

Excellent location, close to all transportation and a 10 miniute walk to Circular Quay. Double room was large, bathroom very small. Bed not made after first night, otherwise service good. Buffet breakfast $25 each and not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 'My Multi' pass for all bus, train and ferry serfide is totally worth it, providing unlimited on and off service throughout town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Good hotel

Good decent hotel in a great location in the middle of Syndey CBD, very close to the train and tourist spots. Cheap for location & services. They even honored my early check in request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, North Carolina
Jul 18, 2011

JUST SHOOT STRAIGHT WITH ME!

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney (July 5th -15th, 2011)I just finished a visit/business trip in Sydney. The cost of the hotel stay at Travelodge Wynyard was over $1,200 and in realty I was disappointed. Although Australia is in their winter months I am the kind of person that needs a room to be cool in order to sleep at night. I don't think that this is a lot to ask at over $125 Australian currency per night to have the room. Their idea at this particular hotel was to have their rooms cooled by opening the window to the room. The problem with this method is that the all night Sydney traffic is a huge irritant. Keep in mind that in their advertisement it is clearly mentioned that air-conditioning is offered in every room. When I made them aware of the problem they sent someone while I was away, when I returned late that night I found the window open. At that time the hotel said nothing about them turning off the main air unit for the winter. I called again to check the air, what they did next was to offer me a fan to move the air around. This had some relief but the room was still stuffy, even my son who visited mentioned it to me. [...] the hotel finally admitted the shut- down of their air unit. They offered me a "no penalty" for cancelling a reservation for further nights. I had to stay; my hands were tied in that I could not change the situation because of schedule conflicts and difficulty in taking time to move. My problem was that I could not hunt for a new hotel, I actually had no time and cabs are so expensive along with everything else in the city to take the time to do that. Bottom line is that this was a matter of false advertising and I was unable to rectify the problem by moving to another location. If you were to calculate what I actually paid for this room considering American to Australian currency it compounds the disappointment with the whole experience.I want to believe this is not an indicator of Travelodge and their affiliates[...], I chose both organizations because of their commitment to customer satisfaction.Respectfully submitted,Robert J. Ricotta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Botanic Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 23, 2011

ok, could of been better and worse.

As soon as i heard were were on the 2nd floor, i had a bad taste.. The room seemed a bit used up, needed renovation w/ new carpet, and bigger renovation in the bathroom. The tiles, molding, under the sink area could of had a face lift. This is what happened the very first day/night: We came in in the afternoon, turned the air conditioner on, left the room for a few hours, came back and it was hot, only warm air was coming out of the vents. When taking a shower, the water tempature was going back and forth to warm to semi cold.My husband told the receptionist about these two problems, he came promptly, tested out the air conditioner, did see it was not working. He told us he will have maintence look at it the next morning. In meantime to solve this, he brought down a stand up fan for the night.In the AM, my husand could sleep due to the tempature in the room so at 4:30 AM, he went down to the receptionist desk, spoke to a [...] and told him about the room, [...] moved us to another room on the 17th level. The room was much nicer and it seemed less used up.After the move, all was fine. I like the workout room! Always nice to have one of these. Over all rating , despite the first room and night, everything was fine and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the city rail or underground tram was always close to any spot so if you don't want to walk, you have this option which was great! The location was great for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budita2000
Business
Mexico City
Jan 10, 2011

Normal hotel, good location

Normal hotel, average amenities, average price for Sydney. It has a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore Md.
Feb 26, 2010

Good hotel...bad phone service

The hotel was good, but when we checked out we were charged $60.00 for phone calls. The only calls we made were with a pre paid phone card, only one call got through, the other 4 or 5 calls were not connected. I told this to the front desk but they insisted every time you pick up the phone ther is a charge. I agreed, but thought it should be about a dollar or two if the call is not connected. They insisted the $60 is right, and we had to pay it. All I can say is do not pick up the phone in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 555 Buss that is free for visitors. We didn't find this out until the day before we left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time traveling as a mom
Business
honolulu, hi
Jan 1, 2010

adverage

i wanted to be near restaurants or shops that open late. i was right at the end of town. china town took a 45 min. trek. did my own wash at their facility and the dryer took too long. the front desk was friendly and fast. limited my pillows, had myself husband and toddler. wanted another 4 but they would not let us. its an open shower area with no walls which is ok but the toilet paper roll kept getting wet. overall ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grace Lover
Business
Evanston, IL
Dec 7, 2009

Good deal

The hotel was an ordinary, okay hotel with a good rate. The location is good too. It is right next to Wynyard station. So we took the AirportLink, since we arrived during morning rush hour. It is in a walking distance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. We were not able to check in to our room when we arrived, but they had a shower room for us to use after a long trip. The hotel service was not the best. The front desk and travel desk seemed very busy and we had to wait for awhile to get any service. We used a computer by the front desk because they told us that we would be able to do what we wanted, but discovered that we actually could not. We still had to pay for the time we spent on the computer. The shuttle service to the airport that is advertised at the front desk never showed up for us. So if you are using this service, make sure you make a reservation with extra time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased SmartVisit card which allows you access to many attractions in and around Sydney. We bought one with transportation and since the hotel was right by a train station, we had an easy time getting to different attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point
Mar 28, 2011

Sydney on a Budget

I was presently surprised by the quality and size of our room. The bed was super comfortable too. The location was within walking distance of Cirgular Quay to catch the many ferries and the historic "Rock" district. We could also walk to the bridge and the lovely Sydney Opera House. Definitely would recommend this hotel although it's not much to look at from the lobby. Also inexpensive Japenese restaurants next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Grab all the free magazines for Sydney. We received a 20% discount on the Essential Tour for the Opera House in one of them. Plus once you go you get discounts on some of the shows for that night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top