$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harry A.
Business
Goodyear
Feb 19, 2015

Pretty pedestrian stay

The hotel is well located, close to public transportation. The room was pretty basic and reasonably comfortable. The hotel staff by and large were friendly, courteous and helpful. We arranged to have breakfast included in our reservation and were satisfied with the buffet offering. On our last day the hotel experienced a water problem which was fixed in the late afternoon however on the morning of our departure the problem seemed to recur and I was not able to take a shower prior to a 14 hour flight home!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 28, 2010

Good value

This is a superb location close to the Wynnard station, Starbucks, George St, the Rocks, Opera House, shopping, and many many restaurants. Note of interest approximately a few steps from the corner of the hotel are some good options for excellent food and good prices. Overall, I would stay again because the value is superb. This is a great economically priced hotel for an awesome international location: "vacation on a dime".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train to and from the airport if you are not heavily packed. The station is a short walk form the hotel and the train fare is about $15 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, texas
Oct 28, 2009

Travelodge on York Street

very pleasant....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
Business
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris' parents
Business
The Valley Isle, Hawaii
Feb 26, 2011

Rip off for the price

Location was great for Circular Quay and surrounding areas. Most of the staff were great and went out of their way to make a sightseeing activity gone wrong ok. However: Had to ask for a washcloth the first two dates; never received first wakeup call; when asked whether we could exchange currency we were told yes, but then when we came to do this a few days later when we needed it for a day trip they would only exchange a very small amount; manager on duty would not come and talk to us when we were trying to arrange details for another nights stay when we returned from our cruise (tried 3 different times); severely needs some modernization and upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, Calif
Mar 16, 2010

Hard double bed

We were told the cost covered the breakfast which was not the case. Buffet breakfast was over priced at $25.00 a person. Bed was supposed to be a queen bed but when my wife and I went to bed, there was not excess room with just the two of us. Bed was not innerspring but cotton filled. Room was small, not more that 10' x 15' and no seperate shower stall, just a shower head in the bathroom by the comode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring money!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
Business
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jim1
Business
canberra australia
Nov 3, 2013

NOT WHAT IS ADVERTISED

booked an executive queen room ..advertised as overlooking park with queen bed ... given a double overlooking an alley full or garbage bins and rubbish ... checkin staff was rude and unhelpfull ... booked room with parking on arrival was told they have none and i would have to park 1 mile down the road at another garage all for $35 and walk back to hotel .. no apology no compensation nothing .. just a rude overtone that if i didnt like it too bad ... there service is non-existant to say the least .. the room itself was so small and the bed was so hard you could hear the old springs in the mattress evrytime i moved to try and get comfortable ...last thing i was on level 4 and could hear the trains that run directly underneath the hotel through a tunnell especially the next morning around 6 to 7 am ... i wouldnt stay here again ever .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
Business
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top