$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CB Sydney
Business
San Diego, CA
May 2, 2013

Good travel/buissness hotel in Sydney

Affordable hotel with good access to trains and the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raypal
Business
England
Nov 23, 2013

Stay in Sydney

This hotel is in a very good position in the heart of Sydney. The rooms are adequate, clean and well serviced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Take you kids to Sydney for cheap
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Dec 28, 2009

Can't beat the location for the price

The hotel is in a PERFECT location. Everything is close. However the hotel doesn't have much in it other than a simple resturant, coffe bar, and internet cafe. This is not a hotel experience vacation destination. However if you want to see the city it's perfect. The rooms were average in size and for the most part clean. I would have liked a cleaner bathroom but I say again, for the price it is perfect to see Syndey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbor is 10 minute walk and great for food and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Sep 16, 2009

Travelodge Wynward Sydney

This hotel was located in a very convenient part of Sydney that made it easy to see most of the core tourist spots by walking, and the staff were very friendly. The room was very clean and kept that way. The down side was that the room we had was fairly noisy during the night.All said, the price was very good and I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk of 15-20 mins to Darling Harbor with a large amount of fine dinig resturants. Many resturants and cfes wiyhin 5-10 mins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ultimate Mom
Business
Notre Dame, IN
Mar 8, 2011

Great location

The hotel was within easy walking distance of the Botanical Gardens, the Opera House, the Ferries, a subway station, a grocery store, and numerous restaurants and pubs. The hotel facilities were fine; nothing special, but who spends much time in the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway from the airport -- there's a stop very close to the hotel and it's much cheaper than a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 22, 2010

Great location!

Excellent location, close to all transportation and a 10 miniute walk to Circular Quay. Double room was large, bathroom very small. Bed not made after first night, otherwise service good. Buffet breakfast $25 each and not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 'My Multi' pass for all bus, train and ferry serfide is totally worth it, providing unlimited on and off service throughout town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Good hotel

Good decent hotel in a great location in the middle of Syndey CBD, very close to the train and tourist spots. Cheap for location & services. They even honored my early check in request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, North Carolina
Jul 18, 2011

JUST SHOOT STRAIGHT WITH ME!

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney (July 5th -15th, 2011)I just finished a visit/business trip in Sydney. The cost of the hotel stay at Travelodge Wynyard was over $1,200 and in realty I was disappointed. Although Australia is in their winter months I am the kind of person that needs a room to be cool in order to sleep at night. I don't think that this is a lot to ask at over $125 Australian currency per night to have the room. Their idea at this particular hotel was to have their rooms cooled by opening the window to the room. The problem with this method is that the all night Sydney traffic is a huge irritant. Keep in mind that in their advertisement it is clearly mentioned that air-conditioning is offered in every room. When I made them aware of the problem they sent someone while I was away, when I returned late that night I found the window open. At that time the hotel said nothing about them turning off the main air unit for the winter. I called again to check the air, what they did next was to offer me a fan to move the air around. This had some relief but the room was still stuffy, even my son who visited mentioned it to me. [...] the hotel finally admitted the shut- down of their air unit. They offered me a "no penalty" for cancelling a reservation for further nights. I had to stay; my hands were tied in that I could not change the situation because of schedule conflicts and difficulty in taking time to move. My problem was that I could not hunt for a new hotel, I actually had no time and cabs are so expensive along with everything else in the city to take the time to do that. Bottom line is that this was a matter of false advertising and I was unable to rectify the problem by moving to another location. If you were to calculate what I actually paid for this room considering American to Australian currency it compounds the disappointment with the whole experience.I want to believe this is not an indicator of Travelodge and their affiliates[...], I chose both organizations because of their commitment to customer satisfaction.Respectfully submitted,Robert J. Ricotta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Botanic Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 23, 2011

ok, could of been better and worse.

As soon as i heard were were on the 2nd floor, i had a bad taste.. The room seemed a bit used up, needed renovation w/ new carpet, and bigger renovation in the bathroom. The tiles, molding, under the sink area could of had a face lift. This is what happened the very first day/night: We came in in the afternoon, turned the air conditioner on, left the room for a few hours, came back and it was hot, only warm air was coming out of the vents. When taking a shower, the water tempature was going back and forth to warm to semi cold.My husband told the receptionist about these two problems, he came promptly, tested out the air conditioner, did see it was not working. He told us he will have maintence look at it the next morning. In meantime to solve this, he brought down a stand up fan for the night.In the AM, my husand could sleep due to the tempature in the room so at 4:30 AM, he went down to the receptionist desk, spoke to a [...] and told him about the room, [...] moved us to another room on the 17th level. The room was much nicer and it seemed less used up.After the move, all was fine. I like the workout room! Always nice to have one of these. Over all rating , despite the first room and night, everything was fine and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the city rail or underground tram was always close to any spot so if you don't want to walk, you have this option which was great! The location was great for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top