$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
72 reviews
wonderful location

Close to the Rocks which is our favorite place to shop and eat. Within walking distance of the... See full review

  • grandma doodle
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location

First time in Sydney, hotel really central, good location for most sightseeing. Good buffet... See full review

  • Pickchic
  • Dec 21, 2014

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is a comfortable hotel at the core of Sydney's central business district, so guests are able to walk to the nearby Opera House, an array of museums and Darling Harbour. The nearby Wynyard Railway Station provides transport to popular tourist attractions such as Bondi Beach. The hotel's Citrus Grove restaurant is a popular place to enjoy dining and the lounge is tastefully decorated with comfy large leather couches. Here, visitors surf the Internet while over in the lobby bar, genuine Australian wine is available until late at night. A fitness center and free luggage storage complete the package.

Rooms

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney hotel has a total of 277 rooms, all with big windows that encourage a flood of natural sunlight. A choice of rooms awaits guests to the Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, with a standard queen or twin bed or a studio room complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. The decor in each room combines comfortable amenities are delightfully warm and inviting to guests looking for rest and relaxation. A workstation and a flat screen TV. Parking is available (fees apply) and city views can be enjoyed with an executive room. The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney gives exercise-focused guests the chance to exercise in a fully equipped fitness center. Guests can also take advantage of the free luggage storage service. A handy safety deposit box is available for all visitors.

Highlights
  • Located close to the premier entertainment venues and attractions in Sydney
  • The hotel gives guests comfortable and contemporary rooms
  • There is 24-hour room service and a full-service restaurant on-site
Nearby attractions
  • The Rocks (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Circular Quay 0(.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Australian Museum (1 mi/1.7km)
  • Taronga Zoo (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
Policies
  • Car parking is available on site for $40/night.
  • Executive Rooms have 500MB free Wi_Fi access/24 hours, thereafter charges apply.
  • The lobby offers 1 hour free Wi-Fi/room, per day, thereafter charges apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Wynyard Sydney also booked these hotels.

★★★
$74
3.5 / 5 65 reviews
★★★★
$84
3.9 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$93
3.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$92
3.8 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$84
3.4 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$98
3.7 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$142
4.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★★
$134
4.1 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$112
4.0 / 5 30 reviews

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room. Rates are for two people in double or twin bedding only, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Executive Room
Executive rooms (non-smoking) with city views, queen or double only. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed Internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Courtyard Room
Courtyard Room (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $40 extra per night, subject to availability.
Studio Apartment
Studio apartment (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Includes CD stereo, bath and microwave equipped kitchenette. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking is $40 per night subject to availability.
Late Check-In and Early Check-Out Special
Check-in from 5pm & checkout by 9am PLEASE NOTE: Guest must check in and check out during the time slots advised. You will be refused check-in if you come before the allocated time and extra charges will apply if you check out after 09:00am

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Citrus Grove
Enjoy a wide range of modern Australian cuisine at Travelodge Wynyard's Citrus Grove Restaurant. Citrus Grove Restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with a simple yet fabulous tasting menu. Room Service is available for lunch and dinner (please check operating hours) for those who like to relax and unwind in the comfort of their room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 72
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vikas s
Family
Massachusetts, USA
May 14, 2013

Central Location in a Safe Neighborhood!

The hotel is very centrally located, just a block away from Wynyard Station (with connecting train to the airport/suburbs). The monorail station is a 10 minute walk. Both the Opera House and the Darling Harbour are approx. a short 15 minute walk. We had a late evening flight and were able to leave our luggage at the front desk while we enjoyed the tourist attractions. If you are flying out of Sydney, you might consider taking the reasonably priced shuttle service offered by the hotel (It is for drop-off not pick up). We arrived late on a Sunday evening and took a cab (fare approx. 48 AUD - if you get stuck in traffic the fare might be higher (train to Wynyard from the airport will be a better option)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney Opera House, Darling Harbour, Wynyard Train Station

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris' parents
Family
The Valley Isle, Hawaii
Feb 26, 2011

Rip off for the price

Location was great for Circular Quay and surrounding areas. Most of the staff were great and went out of their way to make a sightseeing activity gone wrong ok. However: Had to ask for a washcloth the first two dates; never received first wakeup call; when asked whether we could exchange currency we were told yes, but then when we came to do this a few days later when we needed it for a day trip they would only exchange a very small amount; manager on duty would not come and talk to us when we were trying to arrange details for another nights stay when we returned from our cruise (tried 3 different times); severely needs some modernization and upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
Family
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
Family
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
usa
Aug 24, 2010

good location

it has best location for travelers/tourists. very close to train station (wynyard station). walking distance 10-15 mins. or 3-6 mins. via train to tourist attractions. the staffs are courteous and helpful. one thing i'm not satisfied is that they only provide one soap per room when you check in unlike other hotels which provides 2 soaps per room but over all, i'm satisfied with my stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
Family
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
Family
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tulsa, OK
Jun 13, 2010

GREAT DEAL, CLOSE TO ALL THE SIGHTS

We had just flown in and our check in time was suppose to be 1 pm but it was 11 am when we arrived by shuttle (DON'T TAKE A TAXI TOO EXPENSIVE). The front desk was very accomadating by finding us a room that was ready so we could get cleaned up since we traveled all night on the plane. The room had a great view of the Sydney Tower on the 14th floor. One street over you can take a free city bus to see all the sights but you can walk to the opera house no problem. My 9 year old and 76 year old mother did great and we walked down to the water and back up to the Art museum and Sydney Tower. The subway train station was directly across the street from the hotel and we were able to take it to the airport to take our connecting flight on to Adelaide. Don't take the shuttle or taxi back to airport very expensive and traffic is HELL any time of day. If you have a lot of bags you can store them at the airport either at the international side or domestic side for about $10 a bag. It is nice if you just want to have a quick lay over and travel on to your destination. The subway goes straight to either terminal for $15 a person and it takes about 24 minutes. You can't beat it. I highly recommend this hotel and quick layover if you fly from the US to Australia because you have to go through customs anyway so you might as well stay over night one night and check out the sights in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Irvine, Calif
Mar 16, 2010

Hard double bed

We were told the cost covered the breakfast which was not the case. Buffet breakfast was over priced at $25.00 a person. Bed was supposed to be a queen bed but when my wife and I went to bed, there was not excess room with just the two of us. Bed was not innerspring but cotton filled. Room was small, not more that 10' x 15' and no seperate shower stall, just a shower head in the bathroom by the comode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring money!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top