$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biscotti Babe
Business
Jewel of the Sierra
Dec 27, 2009

Nice Hotel

Nice, clean accomodation for the money. Room was not available when we arrived early in the morning, but they did store our luggage at no charge. Great location! It was just a short stroll to the Opera House and the Rocks, and was near many of the other sites that Sidney has to offer. Staff was very helpful. Room was basic, with no view, but was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 13, 2009

Bright rooms, excellent location

We were surprised that although a large, impersonal hotel, the Wynyard was an excellent stay for us. Clean rooms, good service, helpful concierge, nearby the airlink train to and from airport. We could walk to almost all important sights in Sydney--we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pubs and restaurants nearby. Found a Belgium beer spot we liked on Harrington.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grace Lover
Business
Evanston, IL
Dec 7, 2009

Good deal

The hotel was an ordinary, okay hotel with a good rate. The location is good too. It is right next to Wynyard station. So we took the AirportLink, since we arrived during morning rush hour. It is in a walking distance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. We were not able to check in to our room when we arrived, but they had a shower room for us to use after a long trip. The hotel service was not the best. The front desk and travel desk seemed very busy and we had to wait for awhile to get any service. We used a computer by the front desk because they told us that we would be able to do what we wanted, but discovered that we actually could not. We still had to pay for the time we spent on the computer. The shuttle service to the airport that is advertised at the front desk never showed up for us. So if you are using this service, make sure you make a reservation with extra time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased SmartVisit card which allows you access to many attractions in and around Sydney. We bought one with transportation and since the hotel was right by a train station, we had an easy time getting to different attractions.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B J old lady
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 18, 2009

great hotel

the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was great for my visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the distance to some nice stores and good shopping areas was not too far

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandyc
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 28, 2009

Good value and good location for price.

We had a long wait getting into our room. For a business trip, the room provided all the basic needs. We requested additional towels - no luck. The dual flush toilet did not work properly and it was nearly impossible to adjust the temperature of the shower - there was no lack of hot water. The price of the breakfast was far too expensive and the view from our room looked into the window of an adjoining office building. The front desk staff was very helpful, kind and courteous. The location was great for getting around the city. Overall, I would certainly stay at this property again. A first visit is always challenging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many free areas only a short walk from the property. The overall cost in Sydney was much more expensive than anticipated. Traveler's checks and American money were not accepted at any location we visited.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveling soccer player
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 22, 2009

Very pleasant hotel in a great location

Spent nine nights at the hotel but only ate one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel restaurant. Dinner was excellent. Breakfast buffet was good and full of choices. Train station was a half block away and Darling Harbor, The Rocks and Circular Quay were within a few minutes walk. A full range of restaurants were also within a short walk. Rooms were reasonably small (including a small table and two chairs), quiet with a very small bathroom (fine for one but too small for two). TV had an annoying buzz but we almost never turned it on except to try to get a weather forecast. It was easier and more pleasant to ask the staff at the desk. They were very helpful whenever we had questions. Exercise room was minimal. Laundry (two washers and two dryers) was useful for a long trip (3+ weeks). I would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Oct 16, 2009

Sydney vacation

Sydney is a fantastic city. There is much to do there , as we could have easily spent a week there. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the "Bridge" and Opera house along with many other interesting places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera House and harbor cruises were about a leisure 10 minute walk from hotel.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SirStephen
Business
Olympia, WA
Sep 26, 2009

Better then expected

We were surprised by how expensive everything in Sydney is! Almost everything is about double of what we're used to in the USA, so the room felt like even more of a good deal! :) The room was nice and clean, the location was great for walking anywhere in town (because driving is slower then walking, and parking is almost as expensive as the rooms.) Downtown is a bit noisy with some buses and sirens... but overall, the place was great and I would probably stay there again if I go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet in the room is almost $22.00 USD per day, but there's a Starbuck's (thank God) right across the street that's only $6.00 USD per day (but they're closed at night.) Also, parking is $30.00 USD per day, but it's still cheaper and more convenient then shuttle service if there's more then one of you!

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KTDT
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 21, 2009

Good deal

Great price for a hotel in the center of Sydney. The hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Sep 16, 2009

Travelodge Wynward Sydney

This hotel was located in a very convenient part of Sydney that made it easy to see most of the core tourist spots by walking, and the staff were very friendly. The room was very clean and kept that way. The down side was that the room we had was fairly noisy during the night.All said, the price was very good and I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk of 15-20 mins to Darling Harbor with a large amount of fine dinig resturants. Many resturants and cfes wiyhin 5-10 mins

Back to menu Return to top