$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 17, 2011

Great location for seeing the

Great location for seeing the city. Staff very helpful. Will stay with them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmexican
Business
Birmingham, AL
May 24, 2010

Great location and good room

The Travelodge Wynyard was perfectly located in the middle of Sydney's CBD (Central Business District). Everything (Aquarium, Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Queen Victoria Building) was easily within walking distance from the hotel especially the Wynyard CityRail station. The hotel itself was a good hotel with the amenities that we needed (a place to sleep), but it wasn't anything spectacular. The price of the hotel and the money saved by being able to walk everywhere definitely makes this hotel a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

George Street and Pitt Street are an easy walking distance from the hotel and have many retail options.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 28, 2010

Good value

This is a superb location close to the Wynnard station, Starbucks, George St, the Rocks, Opera House, shopping, and many many restaurants. Note of interest approximately a few steps from the corner of the hotel are some good options for excellent food and good prices. Overall, I would stay again because the value is superb. This is a great economically priced hotel for an awesome international location: "vacation on a dime".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train to and from the airport if you are not heavily packed. The station is a short walk form the hotel and the train fare is about $15 each way.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 28, 2010

Good value

This is a superb location close to the Wynnard station, Starbucks, George St, the Rocks, Opera House, shopping, and many many restaurants. Note of interest approximately a few steps from the corner of the hotel are some good options for excellent food and good prices. Overall, I would stay again because the value is superb. This is a great economically priced hotel for an awesome international location: "vacation on a dime".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train to and from the airport if you are not heavily packed. The station is a short walk form the hotel and the train fare is about $15 each way.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always on the road...
Business
VA, USA
Apr 26, 2010

Will stay again....

Fantastic location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and clean. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the train station. So very convenient and inexpensive way to get around.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrkelley79
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 25, 2010

Great Hotel For Touring Around Syndey

This is a great simple, but nice hotel for a couple that is looking to stay in a great location and not spend an arm and a leg. The room was clean, and the staff was helpful. Free Internet helped as well as a small bar/restaurant if you are in a hurry. If you don't plan to spend your whole trip in a hotel and want to be near public transportation and fairly close to the harbor, stay here. It won't disappoint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, Calif
Mar 16, 2010

Hard double bed

We were told the cost covered the breakfast which was not the case. Buffet breakfast was over priced at $25.00 a person. Bed was supposed to be a queen bed but when my wife and I went to bed, there was not excess room with just the two of us. Bed was not innerspring but cotton filled. Room was small, not more that 10' x 15' and no seperate shower stall, just a shower head in the bathroom by the comode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring money!!!!!

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore Md.
Feb 26, 2010

Good hotel...bad phone service

The hotel was good, but when we checked out we were charged $60.00 for phone calls. The only calls we made were with a pre paid phone card, only one call got through, the other 4 or 5 calls were not connected. I told this to the front desk but they insisted every time you pick up the phone ther is a charge. I agreed, but thought it should be about a dollar or two if the call is not connected. They insisted the $60 is right, and we had to pay it. All I can say is do not pick up the phone in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 555 Buss that is free for visitors. We didn't find this out until the day before we left.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Feb 24, 2010

Excellent location!

The hotel has an excellent location. Easy to get to anywhere in Sydney- if it's not within a walking distance, good transport links are nearby to enable exploring Sydney. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but it did not matter, as the "met cafe" is within 2 minute walk from the hotel and serves excellent takeaway or eat in breakfast at half the hotel prices. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Feb 24, 2010

Excellent location!

The hotel has an excellent location. Easy to get to anywhere in Sydney- if it's not within a walking distance, good transport links are nearby to enable exploring Sydney. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but it did not matter, as the "met cafe" is within 2 minute walk from the hotel and serves excellent takeaway or eat in breakfast at half the hotel prices. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top