$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetnessa
Travelling
Feb 13, 2013

A pleasant stay.

We were in a quandary having been let down on another arrangement and were delighted to be able to get a room for three nights in this hotel, it was just what we wanted, clean and bright and in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandyc
Business
Knoxville, TN
Oct 28, 2009

Good value and good location for price.

We had a long wait getting into our room. For a business trip, the room provided all the basic needs. We requested additional towels - no luck. The dual flush toilet did not work properly and it was nearly impossible to adjust the temperature of the shower - there was no lack of hot water. The price of the breakfast was far too expensive and the view from our room looked into the window of an adjoining office building. The front desk staff was very helpful, kind and courteous. The location was great for getting around the city. Overall, I would certainly stay at this property again. A first visit is always challenging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many free areas only a short walk from the property. The overall cost in Sydney was much more expensive than anticipated. Traveler's checks and American money were not accepted at any location we visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveling soccer player
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 22, 2009

Very pleasant hotel in a great location

Spent nine nights at the hotel but only ate one breakfast and one dinner at the hotel restaurant. Dinner was excellent. Breakfast buffet was good and full of choices. Train station was a half block away and Darling Harbor, The Rocks and Circular Quay were within a few minutes walk. A full range of restaurants were also within a short walk. Rooms were reasonably small (including a small table and two chairs), quiet with a very small bathroom (fine for one but too small for two). TV had an annoying buzz but we almost never turned it on except to try to get a weather forecast. It was easier and more pleasant to ask the staff at the desk. They were very helpful whenever we had questions. Exercise room was minimal. Laundry (two washers and two dryers) was useful for a long trip (3+ weeks). I would be happy to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Sep 15, 2009

Sydney Wynyard

Not the most up to date...but it was a great location & the place is clean and a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free 3 hour walking tour of Sydney (just tip the guide) was great! Tour is offered every Tues., Thurs & Sat at 10:30 am. Meeting place is at anchor located at the town hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senen
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 25, 2011

No nonsense hotel

If all you need is lodging this is the place. It is clean, strategically located, we occupied a room on the topmost floor. The staff are very pleasant & helpful. There are only two criticisms I can cite: (1) check in is a little bit late (2:00PM), (2) they do not serve lunch on weekends. 7

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is expensive in Sydney compared to San Diego

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrkelley79
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 25, 2010

Great Hotel For Touring Around Syndey

This is a great simple, but nice hotel for a couple that is looking to stay in a great location and not spend an arm and a leg. The room was clean, and the staff was helpful. Free Internet helped as well as a small bar/restaurant if you are in a hurry. If you don't plan to spend your whole trip in a hotel and want to be near public transportation and fairly close to the harbor, stay here. It won't disappoint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Sep 15, 2009

Travelodge Sydney

Great location for the price. Not far from the Rocks and Circular Quay. Pool and fitness room were closed at the time so cannot comment on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SirStephen
Business
Olympia, WA
Sep 26, 2009

Better then expected

We were surprised by how expensive everything in Sydney is! Almost everything is about double of what we're used to in the USA, so the room felt like even more of a good deal! :) The room was nice and clean, the location was great for walking anywhere in town (because driving is slower then walking, and parking is almost as expensive as the rooms.) Downtown is a bit noisy with some buses and sirens... but overall, the place was great and I would probably stay there again if I go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Internet in the room is almost $22.00 USD per day, but there's a Starbuck's (thank God) right across the street that's only $6.00 USD per day (but they're closed at night.) Also, parking is $30.00 USD per day, but it's still cheaper and more convenient then shuttle service if there's more then one of you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B J old lady
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 18, 2009

great hotel

the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was great for my visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the distance to some nice stores and good shopping areas was not too far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, NJ
Feb 15, 2010

great location

it is an average hotel. good location and price,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmexican
Business
Birmingham, AL
May 24, 2010

Great location and good room

The Travelodge Wynyard was perfectly located in the middle of Sydney's CBD (Central Business District). Everything (Aquarium, Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Queen Victoria Building) was easily within walking distance from the hotel especially the Wynyard CityRail station. The hotel itself was a good hotel with the amenities that we needed (a place to sleep), but it wasn't anything spectacular. The price of the hotel and the money saved by being able to walk everywhere definitely makes this hotel a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

George Street and Pitt Street are an easy walking distance from the hotel and have many retail options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top