$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
Business
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
Business
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Jul 30, 2010

Great room, service, and location

This hotel could not be in a better location. It is adjacent to the rail station and walking distance to the Ferry and bridge. Service was great. They held our bags as we arrived very early from the US and then helped us check in as soon as a room was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did have a tough time finding cheap food at dinner time. Lunch was no problem.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jun 13, 2010

GREAT DEAL, CLOSE TO ALL THE SIGHTS

We had just flown in and our check in time was suppose to be 1 pm but it was 11 am when we arrived by shuttle (DON'T TAKE A TAXI TOO EXPENSIVE). The front desk was very accomadating by finding us a room that was ready so we could get cleaned up since we traveled all night on the plane. The room had a great view of the Sydney Tower on the 14th floor. One street over you can take a free city bus to see all the sights but you can walk to the opera house no problem. My 9 year old and 76 year old mother did great and we walked down to the water and back up to the Art museum and Sydney Tower. The subway train station was directly across the street from the hotel and we were able to take it to the airport to take our connecting flight on to Adelaide. Don't take the shuttle or taxi back to airport very expensive and traffic is HELL any time of day. If you have a lot of bags you can store them at the airport either at the international side or domestic side for about $10 a bag. It is nice if you just want to have a quick lay over and travel on to your destination. The subway goes straight to either terminal for $15 a person and it takes about 24 minutes. You can't beat it. I highly recommend this hotel and quick layover if you fly from the US to Australia because you have to go through customs anyway so you might as well stay over night one night and check out the sights in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Good hotel

Good decent hotel in a great location in the middle of Syndey CBD, very close to the train and tourist spots. Cheap for location & services. They even honored my early check in request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Jun 5, 2010

fabulous location and value

very convenient to all transportation....trains, boats, busses and tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 4, 2010

Super location for the price

This is a great location, within walking distance to most of the tourist areas. We walked to the Sidney Harbor, Opera House, China Town, Darling Harbor and more. This hotel is in the business district and everyone was bustling around. We felt very safe walking everywhere. The people-watching was wonderful!! The room itself was quite standard, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was quite expensive, but we were able to find specials on different days of the week (Monday early evening special Sheperd's pie at Lord Nelson's Brewery, Tuesday 2 for 1 steaks all day at the Argle Inn etc.)

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmexican
Business
Birmingham, AL
May 24, 2010

Great location and good room

The Travelodge Wynyard was perfectly located in the middle of Sydney's CBD (Central Business District). Everything (Aquarium, Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Queen Victoria Building) was easily within walking distance from the hotel especially the Wynyard CityRail station. The hotel itself was a good hotel with the amenities that we needed (a place to sleep), but it wasn't anything spectacular. The price of the hotel and the money saved by being able to walk everywhere definitely makes this hotel a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

George Street and Pitt Street are an easy walking distance from the hotel and have many retail options.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 28, 2010

Ordinary, be sure to your reservation

My wife and I stayed here, along with my parents in two different rooms and under two different reservations. Big difference in room sizes, myself getting the short end of the stick. Reservation made with [...] included full breakfast, however the hotel had no record of this, so had to get a copy of the reservation (no free internet even in the lobby) to prove that fact. Then the toliet broke on the second day, and was moved to another room. The breakfast reservation was lost again, and had to 're-prove' the pre-paid breakfast.The rooms were clean, but basic. It seems like the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors are bigger than the rest of the hotel. Room to room voice mail would leave your message on your OWN room mailbox rather than the destination room mailbox.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Only a few resturants near by, better to walk several blocks up towards Chinatown end of downtown.

Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always on the road...
Business
VA, USA
Apr 26, 2010

Will stay again....

Fantastic location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable and clean. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the train station. So very convenient and inexpensive way to get around.

Back to menu Return to top