Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Central Location in a Safe Neighborhood!

The hotel is very centrally located, just a block away from Wynyard Station (with connecting train... See full review

  • vikas s
  • May 14, 2013
Great position, good value

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The position opposite Wynyard Station was fabulous and... See full review

  • Wendy loves life
  • Sep 1, 2014
Dependable hotel in Sydney’s central business district

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is a comfortable hotel at the core of Sydney's central business district, so guests are able to walk to the nearby Opera House, an array of museums and Darling Harbour. The nearby Wynyard Railway Station provides transport to popular tourist attractions such as Bondi Beach. The hotel's Citrus Grove restaurant is a popular place to enjoy dining and the lounge is tastefully decorated with comfy large leather couches. Here, visitors surf the Internet (fees apply) while over in the lobby bar genuine Australian wine is available until late at night. A fitness center and free luggage storage complete the package.

Reasons to stay
  • Located close to the premier entertainment venues and attractions in Sydney
  • The hotel gives guests comfortable and contemporary rooms
  • There is 24-hour room service and a full-service restaurant on-site
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney rooms
The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney hotel has a total of 277 rooms, all with big windows that encourage a flood of natural sunlight. A choice of rooms awaits guests to the Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, with a standard queen or twin bed or a studio room complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. The decor in each room combines comfortable amenities are delightfully warm and inviting to guests looking for rest and relaxation. High-speed Internet (fees apply), a workstation and a flat screen TV with a full listing of movie channels are available in all rooms. Parking is available (fees apply) and city views can be enjoyed with an executive room. The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney gives exercise-focused guests the chance to exercise in a fully equipped fitness center. Guests can also take advantage of the free luggage storage service. A handy safety deposit box is available for all visitors.
Things to do nearby
  • The Rocks (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Circular Quay 0(.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Australian Museum (1 mi/1.7km)
  • Taronga Zoo (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Standard room. Rates are for two peoplein double or twin bedding only, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Executive Room
Executive rooms (non-smoking) with city views, queen or double only. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in existing bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed Internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Courtyard Room
Courtyard Room (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Cable TV, pay movies. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking $30 extra per night, subject to availability.
Studio Apartment
Studio apartment (non-smoking) single or double share only with 1 queen bed. Rates are for two people, maximum occupancy is 3 ($40.00 additional charge in rollaway bedding). Includes CD stereo, bath and microwave equipped kitchenette. Now featuring high speed internet access. Parking is $30 per night subject to availability.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

-33.8648 151.2053
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International and Domestic Airports.
Area description
Travelodge Wynyard is ideally situated next door to Sydney's wonderful attractions, whether you are looking for an exciting day in the city or a sensational night out on the town. You can visit the Opera House, the historical Rocks area, Darling Harbour, the Botanical Gardens, a huge variety of restaurants and a great selection of major shopping outlets. Adjacent to Wynyard railway station, you will find it easy to discover the best that Sydney has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Citrus Grove
Enjoy a wide range of modern Australian cuisine at Travelodge Wynyard's Citrus Grove Restaurant. Citrus Grove Restaurant offers a relaxing atmosphere with a simple yet fabulous tasting menu. Room Service is available for lunch and dinner (please check operating hours) for those who like to relax and unwind in the comfort of their room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 22, 2010

Great location!

Excellent location, close to all transportation and a 10 miniute walk to Circular Quay. Double room was large, bathroom very small. Bed not made after first night, otherwise service good. Buffet breakfast $25 each and not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 'My Multi' pass for all bus, train and ferry serfide is totally worth it, providing unlimited on and off service throughout town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Sep 1, 2010

Excellent location and great price.

We enjoyed the convenient location and the quiet rooms. We particularly enjoyed being able to open a window for fresh air. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We felt like we were in a very safe area and had no reservations about taking a short walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks after dark. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
usa
Aug 24, 2010

good location

it has best location for travelers/tourists. very close to train station (wynyard station). walking distance 10-15 mins. or 3-6 mins. via train to tourist attractions. the staffs are courteous and helpful. one thing i'm not satisfied is that they only provide one soap per room when you check in unlike other hotels which provides 2 soaps per room but over all, i'm satisfied with my stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
consub
bristol
Aug 6, 2010

Very good location

Good price for location, and better than UK Travelodges that we have stayed at. Breakfast price was A$25, or A$20 if booked at check-in, but you can eat cheaper at nearby cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Jul 30, 2010

Great room, service, and location

This hotel could not be in a better location. It is adjacent to the rail station and walking distance to the Ferry and bridge. Service was great. They held our bags as we arrived very early from the US and then helped us check in as soon as a room was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did have a tough time finding cheap food at dinner time. Lunch was no problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Jun 13, 2010

GREAT DEAL, CLOSE TO ALL THE SIGHTS

We had just flown in and our check in time was suppose to be 1 pm but it was 11 am when we arrived by shuttle (DON'T TAKE A TAXI TOO EXPENSIVE). The front desk was very accomadating by finding us a room that was ready so we could get cleaned up since we traveled all night on the plane. The room had a great view of the Sydney Tower on the 14th floor. One street over you can take a free city bus to see all the sights but you can walk to the opera house no problem. My 9 year old and 76 year old mother did great and we walked down to the water and back up to the Art museum and Sydney Tower. The subway train station was directly across the street from the hotel and we were able to take it to the airport to take our connecting flight on to Adelaide. Don't take the shuttle or taxi back to airport very expensive and traffic is HELL any time of day. If you have a lot of bags you can store them at the airport either at the international side or domestic side for about $10 a bag. It is nice if you just want to have a quick lay over and travel on to your destination. The subway goes straight to either terminal for $15 a person and it takes about 24 minutes. You can't beat it. I highly recommend this hotel and quick layover if you fly from the US to Australia because you have to go through customs anyway so you might as well stay over night one night and check out the sights in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 7, 2010

Good hotel

Good decent hotel in a great location in the middle of Syndey CBD, very close to the train and tourist spots. Cheap for location & services. They even honored my early check in request!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tampa, fl
Jun 5, 2010

fabulous location and value

very convenient to all transportation....trains, boats, busses and tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego CA
Jun 4, 2010

Super location for the price

This is a great location, within walking distance to most of the tourist areas. We walked to the Sidney Harbor, Opera House, China Town, Darling Harbor and more. This hotel is in the business district and everyone was bustling around. We felt very safe walking everywhere. The people-watching was wonderful!! The room itself was quite standard, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was quite expensive, but we were able to find specials on different days of the week (Monday early evening special Sheperd's pie at Lord Nelson's Brewery, Tuesday 2 for 1 steaks all day at the Argle Inn etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top