$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

4 stars
View map of 7-9 York Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amsterdamisfun
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 8, 2011

Good location.

Great location and friendly staff. Rooms are just a little too small and over priced but everything in Sydney is expensive. Many great sites are in walking distance and the Wynyard train station is less then a block away on York St. If the rates were a little cheaper I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wynyard train station is less then a block away. Don't take a shuttle or taxi from the airport when a MyMulti pass bought with a airport ticket is way cheaper in the long run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point
Mar 28, 2011

Sydney on a Budget

I was presently surprised by the quality and size of our room. The bed was super comfortable too. The location was within walking distance of Cirgular Quay to catch the many ferries and the historic "Rock" district. We could also walk to the bridge and the lovely Sydney Opera House. Definitely would recommend this hotel although it's not much to look at from the lobby. Also inexpensive Japenese restaurants next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Grab all the free magazines for Sydney. We received a 20% discount on the Essential Tour for the Opera House in one of them. Plus once you go you get discounts on some of the shows for that night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ultimate Mom
Business
Notre Dame, IN
Mar 8, 2011

Great location

The hotel was within easy walking distance of the Botanical Gardens, the Opera House, the Ferries, a subway station, a grocery store, and numerous restaurants and pubs. The hotel facilities were fine; nothing special, but who spends much time in the hotel?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway from the airport -- there's a stop very close to the hotel and it's much cheaper than a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris' parents
Business
The Valley Isle, Hawaii
Feb 26, 2011

Rip off for the price

Location was great for Circular Quay and surrounding areas. Most of the staff were great and went out of their way to make a sightseeing activity gone wrong ok. However: Had to ask for a washcloth the first two dates; never received first wakeup call; when asked whether we could exchange currency we were told yes, but then when we came to do this a few days later when we needed it for a day trip they would only exchange a very small amount; manager on duty would not come and talk to us when we were trying to arrange details for another nights stay when we returned from our cruise (tried 3 different times); severely needs some modernization and upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senen
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 25, 2011

No nonsense hotel

If all you need is lodging this is the place. It is clean, strategically located, we occupied a room on the topmost floor. The staff are very pleasant & helpful. There are only two criticisms I can cite: (1) check in is a little bit late (2:00PM), (2) they do not serve lunch on weekends. 7

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is expensive in Sydney compared to San Diego

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 23, 2011

ok, could of been better and worse.

As soon as i heard were were on the 2nd floor, i had a bad taste.. The room seemed a bit used up, needed renovation w/ new carpet, and bigger renovation in the bathroom. The tiles, molding, under the sink area could of had a face lift. This is what happened the very first day/night: We came in in the afternoon, turned the air conditioner on, left the room for a few hours, came back and it was hot, only warm air was coming out of the vents. When taking a shower, the water tempature was going back and forth to warm to semi cold.My husband told the receptionist about these two problems, he came promptly, tested out the air conditioner, did see it was not working. He told us he will have maintence look at it the next morning. In meantime to solve this, he brought down a stand up fan for the night.In the AM, my husand could sleep due to the tempature in the room so at 4:30 AM, he went down to the receptionist desk, spoke to a [...] and told him about the room, [...] moved us to another room on the 17th level. The room was much nicer and it seemed less used up.After the move, all was fine. I like the workout room! Always nice to have one of these. Over all rating , despite the first room and night, everything was fine and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the city rail or underground tram was always close to any spot so if you don't want to walk, you have this option which was great! The location was great for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budita2000
Business
Mexico City
Jan 10, 2011

Normal hotel, good location

Normal hotel, average amenities, average price for Sydney. It has a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 22, 2010

Great location!

Excellent location, close to all transportation and a 10 miniute walk to Circular Quay. Double room was large, bathroom very small. Bed not made after first night, otherwise service good. Buffet breakfast $25 each and not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 'My Multi' pass for all bus, train and ferry serfide is totally worth it, providing unlimited on and off service throughout town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Sep 1, 2010

Excellent location and great price.

We enjoyed the convenient location and the quiet rooms. We particularly enjoyed being able to open a window for fresh air. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We felt like we were in a very safe area and had no reservations about taking a short walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks after dark. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annick marc
Business
brussels belgium
Aug 25, 2010

The good & really bad

We are doing a round the world trip & encountered very nice or very bad hotel and that's the hazard of the travelling. At Travelodge, we reserved first 4 days at a valuable price with [...]. We decided to stay at Sydney, 4 days more and made another 4 days reservation ...the price was a higher price (100 euros instead 60 euros)but we decided to reserve and got the confirmation from ebookers. Travelodge mgt refused to accept it, telling us that no more room was available & [...] computers systems were dis-synchronized with the rooms availability. You must know that the International Naval fair & exhibition just started ....travelodge refused rooms at a price of 300 USD the night (hotel is located 500m from the harbour). We made so much scandal that finally travelodge accepted to honor the reservation of [...]. The problems started: rooms key never fonctionning...we had to reload at the front desk more tha 10 times in 4 days. We got a room check at 9.30 PM to see if we are smoking in the room (in such cas a fine of 200 dollars is applicable).This is harassment & we can not accept such methods

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top