$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
77 reviews
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to... See full review

  • CA Travels
  • Jun 7, 2014
Travelodge Sydney is the perfect choice for leisure and business guests alike with friendly, professional and efficient staff, modern, functional but stylish surroundings and its prime location in Sydney. Location- This property is located on the edge of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance to explore the city and it's superb restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and great range of shopping outlets from designer stores to funky boutiques. Nearby major attractions include A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file and also a deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 77
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA Travels
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 7, 2014

Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to the train, shopping, and met my needs. The hotel staff was always ready to answer questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There were great little restaurants all around the hotel that offered menus on the sidewalk that were inexpensive.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grey traveller
bristol
Oct 29, 2012

clean and convenient

convenient to city centre and train station. m/w and basic kitchen facilities mean self catering is easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at supermarket (e.g. Woolworth's at Town Hall) not at convenience stores nearby, for better choice and value.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael from Melbourne
Melbourne
Sep 6, 2012

Efficient, friendly and central location

This hotel is just a block from Hyde Park and the CBD beyond. Walk the other way to Riley, Crown and Bourke streets for brilliant cafes and restaurants. Skip Oxford St until it goes beyond Bourke St. The hotel staff are young, friendly and helpful - I needed a boarding pass printed. The room was clean and quiet with a good view from the thirteenth floor. I have stayed here several times and recommend it as an excellent choice at competitive prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk around the domain taking in the Art Gallery of NSW, the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens. Look for the Andrew Boy Charlton swimming pool. Excellent cafe with great views.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swagman
Antioch, CA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great location

Good central location. Bus and subway nearby and run often. Plenty of places to eat in the area. Hotel's restaurant open for breakfast only; it's expensive, too. Overall, I'd say this hotel is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alexander's on the park bistro is a five minute walk from the hotel. They serve breakfast and lunch. Food was very good and reasonably priced. A real bonus here is free wifi, not easy to find in Sydney. If you need the Internet, this is a better option than the hotel's rental computers that were horribly slow and cost six dollars per hour; they spent half the time loading the pages. Very frustrating.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigTraveler8
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 10, 2012

3 night stay

I went to Sydney for my first time and was looking for an inexpensive place to stay but close to everything. The hotel was in the less expensive part of town but still a good area and accessible to the city. I walk a lot so it wasn't a problem for me to walk 15 minutes to the main downtown area or Darling Market (probably 25-30 min to walk to the Opera House). The room was basic, clean enough for me since I was barely in there except to sleep. Bathroom was clean but beds were a little hard. Good enough for the price considering other places I could have stayed. The 1 downfall was NO INTERNET in rooms! That was very tough to handle since I wanted to look up things to do while in town. I had to either go to the lobby internet kiosks or go somewhere else with internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to bars

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Jun 8, 2011

Nice and Big

The hotel is good. I was really happy with the size of the room. The bathroom was okey, nothing problematic, not spacious. The overall services and facilities was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a free wifi in the coffee shop next to the museum subway station

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Back to menu Return to top