$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
Nice hotel with good price

First time staying this hotel during my visit to Sydney. Close to train station and the room is... See full review

  • Vincent Wai
  • Sep 14, 2014
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigTraveler8
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 10, 2012

3 night stay

I went to Sydney for my first time and was looking for an inexpensive place to stay but close to everything. The hotel was in the less expensive part of town but still a good area and accessible to the city. I walk a lot so it wasn't a problem for me to walk 15 minutes to the main downtown area or Darling Market (probably 25-30 min to walk to the Opera House). The room was basic, clean enough for me since I was barely in there except to sleep. Bathroom was clean but beds were a little hard. Good enough for the price considering other places I could have stayed. The 1 downfall was NO INTERNET in rooms! That was very tough to handle since I wanted to look up things to do while in town. I had to either go to the lobby internet kiosks or go somewhere else with internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Jun 8, 2011

Nice and Big

The hotel is good. I was really happy with the size of the room. The bathroom was okey, nothing problematic, not spacious. The overall services and facilities was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a free wifi in the coffee shop next to the museum subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
FONTANA,CALIFORNIA
Mar 24, 2010

MUHAMMAD.U.KAHN

ALMOST EVERYTHING WAS THERE, HOWEVER AT THE PRICE YOU CHARGED THE BREAKFAST AND INTERNET SHOULD HAVE BEEN COMPLIMENTRY. OTHERWISE ALL PLUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
Dec 3, 2009

pretty good location , clean, friendly

Overall, pretty satisfied with stay there. One thing is that TV wasn't working and it took 2 days to fix it. I guess it was weekend and probably no maintenance was available on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swagman
Antioch, CA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great location

Good central location. Bus and subway nearby and run often. Plenty of places to eat in the area. Hotel's restaurant open for breakfast only; it's expensive, too. Overall, I'd say this hotel is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alexander's on the park bistro is a five minute walk from the hotel. They serve breakfast and lunch. Food was very good and reasonably priced. A real bonus here is free wifi, not easy to find in Sydney. If you need the Internet, this is a better option than the hotel's rental computers that were horribly slow and cost six dollars per hour; they spent half the time loading the pages. Very frustrating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacifica, CA
Nov 14, 2010

great location, nice room!

i'd read about long checkin times and the possibility that i could only get a twin bed. when i arrived at 2pm, i not only got a double bed but i also asked for a room far from the elevator and was happily given one. the kitchenette was next to the door and i had a long hall to my bathroom and bedroom. this made it quieter than most rooms. the bed was comfortable but they didn't have extra pillows available in the room. i thought that odd. bathroom was small and the floor rug got soaked from the short shower curtain. there was a table and chairs in the room. they were wooden so not super comfortable but it was nice to have the space for breakfast and sorting out my maps for the next day's activities. really though, i have no complaints. i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

world square is 3 short blocks away and there's a supermarket there where you can stock up on breakfast items and save big $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael from Melbourne
Melbourne
Sep 6, 2012

Efficient, friendly and central location

This hotel is just a block from Hyde Park and the CBD beyond. Walk the other way to Riley, Crown and Bourke streets for brilliant cafes and restaurants. Skip Oxford St until it goes beyond Bourke St. The hotel staff are young, friendly and helpful - I needed a boarding pass printed. The room was clean and quiet with a good view from the thirteenth floor. I have stayed here several times and recommend it as an excellent choice at competitive prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk around the domain taking in the Art Gallery of NSW, the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens. Look for the Andrew Boy Charlton swimming pool. Excellent cafe with great views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search