Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
60 reviews
Good stay

Secure. Friendly staff. Very good quality for the price. Staff were friendly. See full review

  • A.N.O.N.
  • Oct 12, 2014
Nice hotel with good price

First time staying this hotel during my visit to Sydney. Close to train station and the room is... See full review

  • Vincent Wai
  • Sep 14, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jas The Traveler
Business
San Francisco, California
Jan 15, 2014

Cockroach in bathroom - We wanted to leave and they wouldn't give refund

Came back to the hotel at 10pm to find a cockroach in the bathroom. We were on the 15th floor. My friend killed it. We were thoroughly disgusted. We called the front desk and asked for a refund and were planning to leave the hotel. The on site night manager was highly incompetent. He sent someone to the room, the guy looked at the cockroach, went to get a towel, came back and cleaned up the cockroach and said everything OK now? We called onsite manager again and he said he did not know if he could authorize a refund and said he could change rooms and I could speak to the manager in the morning...we changed rooms and had a bad nights sleep wondering if there was any more cockroaches in the new room. Spoke to the assistant manager and manager in the morning and asked for a refund they said no. They said cockroaches are common in Australia and it's not as big of a deal as I'm making it... I asked them to do anything to remedy the situation and make me happy. They offered 10% discount on the next stay and free breakfast the next stay. I continued to ask for a refund and they said no. They ended with 15% discount on the next stay and free breakfast on the next stay. That did not make me happy. We left and will never go back. If they simply gave me a refund and an apology I wouldn't be writing this review. In speaking with staff they said they find cockroaches in rooms about 1x or 2x a year. Travelers beware. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast cafe nearby - ask concierge for name of cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notahappycamper
Business
Sydney
Jun 22, 2014

Not an enjoyable stay!!

While the location is good, it is very over priced. Staff were incredibly rude. Not helpful at all. I moved to Sydney so I stayed here until I found an apartment to live in. If i was on a holiday I would have left. I asked a very rude lady at reception how much would it be to extend for 1 night (only reason being I found an apartment but couldn't move in till the next day and didn't want to drag 4 suitcases around the city.) She told me $190 dollars for one night. Went online and it was $90 HUGE difference, Not happy at all, very disappointed in there staff at reception. For the price you pay you would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JonesG
Business
Doonan, QLD
Mar 6, 2014

Not a place for couples

This was a case of pushing single beds together. They say that booking through anywhere but 'this hotele' you cannot be guaranteed double bed rooms, especially search engine customers etc are always relegated in their thoughts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCNY
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Not Worth the Price

I thought that by staying with an international chain we'd be avoiding disappointment, but not so much. Our "king" sized bed was just two twin beds pushed together, and the shower didn't have a real door, just a curtain, but no squeegee or anything to clear up the sodden floor. Location was close in to town, but felt a bit sketchy and deserted at night. I'd definitely look elsewhere for a stay in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCKTravelers
Business
Michigan, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Sydney Travelodge

The location was fine, but the room was very, very small. The air conditioner did not work properly and things were broken (hook on bathroom door, shelf in the refrigerator) . The staff was great about giving us directions but overall it was just a so-so hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAgirl2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Nothing special

The room rates were actually a bit expensive for what I got, but it was the weekend of the Mardi Gras parade in Sydney, so I suppose all hotels were priced a little higher. There's nothing special at this hotel. No in-room wi-fi or room service, but the kitchenette area was ok. I probably would not choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
adrian miami
Business
miami
Mar 26, 2013

check out spoiled my whole trip! NEVER AGAIN THIS PLACE

first of all i have to say sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world, so 125 us a night on the net for this place was a steal.unfortunately that is what they do in this hotel afterwards when they invent movies and other items on the bill you never watched and consumed. i cant talk about it because i reported this case to the ministry of tourism and the federal police. they charged my card and told me i would get it back, haha of course not. be careful in this place ! location: nicely located between not so nice central station and really much much nicer museumstation. room itself was nice and had even a nice view. unfortunately the place is so ungenerous with housekeepers that really even toiling to death cant clean efficiently neither rooms nor hallways. not a nice working atmosphere for the girls that have to listen to guests complaining. internet of course not free, and they change sheets every 3rd day. stingy people and certainly a hotel to be avoided. i complained about lacking cleanliness and at least they tried to clean my room.funny, in front it stopped and the hallways were dierty as before.they nickel and dime you for everything ! not good at all! really not good if you just go tfor once in a lifetime. they will ruin your trip! pay a little bit more and get a nicer hiotel with real service and clean rooms. if it is for 3 days for business trips it surely is nicer than all the other 120 to 150 us s available if...yes if they would not steal at check out. will never ever come back. leaves a bad after taste. really have fun in that fantastic city which is sydney nonetheless ! cheers mates :()

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

go to darling harbour and have a gorgeous sea food meal but check prices before !!! fantastic panorama at unnormal prices :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ausstruck Annie
Business
San Bruno, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Travel Lodge Sydney

At check-in, my husband & I were given a Standard Room with 2 twin beds. We went back down to the lobby to complain as we had pre-paid for an Executive Room with a queen-size bed before leaving the U.S. A registration staff said they were out of rooms with queen-size beds, so my husband & I said we will go to another hotel. The staff then searched their computer & found a room for us. She then said that we should have booked the room w/queen bed through their hotel's website. ??? Water kept leaking out of the shower & into the bathroom floor because there was no footbase to hold the receding water. Towels were not changed daily by the cleaning staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Jet Restaurant at Queen Victoria Building in Sydney serves really good pasta, meat & chicken dishes. My husband & I are very picky eaters. We enjoyed the main dishes at Jet so much that we had dinner there twice during our stay in Sydney. You can also there for just tea, coffee &/or dessert. Service is fast, efficient & very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Utah Ski Bum
Business
Cedar Hills, Utah
Nov 11, 2014

So so

Rooms were small, beds were twin sized and were not secured to anything so they moved around. Elevators were very crowded in the morning, had to wait for four elevators to pass before one had room. Cleanliness was good, location close to Hyde Park convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustJoeOrlando
Business
Orlando, FL USA
Feb 17, 2014

Environment focus = discomfort

Great hotel. Clean and the staff is great. Few towels available in room without a request. Master power switch was turned off daily resulting in a hot room upon return. AC was locked down and the room bordered on uncomfortably warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

LGBT nightlife just around the corner on Oxford.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top