$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
View map of Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Very walkable location

This hotel was crazy busy while I was there and the location was so amazingly convenient I... See full review

  • Dr Bug
  • Feb 23, 2015
Excellent location

We could see landing planes from our room window and this makes it an excellent in my books. Also,... See full review

  • Anti Veeranna
  • Dec 2, 2014

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Property features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Nearby attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Policies
  • Free Wi-Fi access is only up to 100mbs data per 24 hours, per room. Over 100mbs, additional data is available at $9.95 for the remainder of the 24 hours, for up to 4 devices per room.
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 65
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL (duh!)
May 30, 2010

Great location, nice staff

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Central Station (15 minutes), if you want to take the train to the airport (AUD $15 one way) or around the country. There is also a convenient, efficient shuttle back to the airport (AUD $12 one way) that can be booked and paid for at the lobby. It picks you up right at the hotel at half-hour intervals during the peak times.My room (2/3 of the way to the top, on the end, with a nice view looking down Wentworth Ave.) was clean, quiet, and all-around pleasant. The TV station choice was rather limited, but I wasn't in Sydney to watch the tube!The staff members are friendly and helpful. That goes a long way toward making up for the fact that there are often long lines at the front desk (and elevators), due to the many large tour groups that stay at the hotel. On the other hand, people arriving on early-morning flights (which includes most everyone coming from North America) are welcome to store their luggage free of charge and come back when their rooms are ready. The hotel also seems to be popular with festive Australians visiting Sydney, which means that you don't feel as though you are only rubbing shoulders with "foreigners" like yourself.There are numerous dining options within 10 minutes of the hotel on foot, even if there are not any right at the hotel itself. (The front desk does sell snacks and drinks.) Sydney rivals Seattle and Alaska when it comes to the number of coffee shops. There is one on almost every corner--in addition to a couple in the middle of every block. That's the impression I got, in any event!It is not too long a walk north through Hyde Park (5 minutes) to Macquarie Street (15 minutes), the Botanic Gardens (20-25 minutes), and the Opera House (25-30 minutes). There are trains and buses (the 555 is free), too, but I wanted to get my exercise. Chinatown is about 15 minutes to the northwest. The shopping and gay bars and clubs on Oxford Street are only a 5-10-minute walk away. Surry Hills is directly to the south (it starts across the street, and the local police station is a block away), and it is really a charming neighborhood/suburb. Great Lebanese, Turkish, and Greek food along Cleveland Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Hotel at the corner of Goulburn & Elizabeth has a nice traditional-style pub with a good draft beer selection, reasonably priced lunch specials, and an interesting assortment of mostly local customers (from blue-collar workers to older gentlemen and ladies to yuppie couples). As in many such places, a lot of people are watching and betting on horse and other races on the TV. In this place, it doesn't get obnoxious or overbearing, though. Laid-back and fun.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swagman
Business
Antioch, CA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great location

Good central location. Bus and subway nearby and run often. Plenty of places to eat in the area. Hotel's restaurant open for breakfast only; it's expensive, too. Overall, I'd say this hotel is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alexander's on the park bistro is a five minute walk from the hotel. They serve breakfast and lunch. Food was very good and reasonably priced. A real bonus here is free wifi, not easy to find in Sydney. If you need the Internet, this is a better option than the hotel's rental computers that were horribly slow and cost six dollars per hour; they spent half the time loading the pages. Very frustrating.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael from Melbourne
Business
Melbourne
Sep 6, 2012

Efficient, friendly and central location

This hotel is just a block from Hyde Park and the CBD beyond. Walk the other way to Riley, Crown and Bourke streets for brilliant cafes and restaurants. Skip Oxford St until it goes beyond Bourke St. The hotel staff are young, friendly and helpful - I needed a boarding pass printed. The room was clean and quiet with a good view from the thirteenth floor. I have stayed here several times and recommend it as an excellent choice at competitive prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk around the domain taking in the Art Gallery of NSW, the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens. Look for the Andrew Boy Charlton swimming pool. Excellent cafe with great views.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grey traveller
Business
bristol
Oct 29, 2012

clean and convenient

convenient to city centre and train station. m/w and basic kitchen facilities mean self catering is easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at supermarket (e.g. Woolworth's at Town Hall) not at convenience stores nearby, for better choice and value.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA Travels
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jun 7, 2014

Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to the train, shopping, and met my needs. The hotel staff was always ready to answer questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There were great little restaurants all around the hotel that offered menus on the sidewalk that were inexpensive.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FONTANA,CALIFORNIA
Mar 24, 2010

MUHAMMAD.U.KAHN

ALMOST EVERYTHING WAS THERE, HOWEVER AT THE PRICE YOU CHARGED THE BREAKFAST AND INTERNET SHOULD HAVE BEEN COMPLIMENTRY. OTHERWISE ALL PLUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Nov 14, 2010

great location, nice room!

i'd read about long checkin times and the possibility that i could only get a twin bed. when i arrived at 2pm, i not only got a double bed but i also asked for a room far from the elevator and was happily given one. the kitchenette was next to the door and i had a long hall to my bathroom and bedroom. this made it quieter than most rooms. the bed was comfortable but they didn't have extra pillows available in the room. i thought that odd. bathroom was small and the floor rug got soaked from the short shower curtain. there was a table and chairs in the room. they were wooden so not super comfortable but it was nice to have the space for breakfast and sorting out my maps for the next day's activities. really though, i have no complaints. i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

world square is 3 short blocks away and there's a supermarket there where you can stock up on breakfast items and save big $$$

Back to menu Return to top