$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to... See full review

  • CA Travels
  • Jun 7, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skooter
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Dec 31, 2011

Great location, reasonable price, but that's all

If you want a hotel for < $200 in the Sydney CBD area, this is a good place. If you want comfort, clean bathrooms, and access to wireless internet, don't stay here. I have never criticized a hotel for its elevators before, but I hated the elevators at this hotel. There was a 'security' card-swipe system, but it was balky, so if someone called the elevator to an upper floor before I got the card reader to work, I had to go up to that floor (how is that secure?). Even on the way down, which did not require a card swipe, if someone called the elevator in the seconds it took me to hit the button for the lobby, I was taken to an upper floor. I spent a lot of time traveling involuntarily in that elevator to upper floors. I could use the stairs for travel between upper floors, but not from the lobby because access was blocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eternity
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Last minute booking

Hotel is okay, nothing too lavish or great. I got it pretty expensive last minute but Sydney is overall expensive, so it was ok given the central location. However, if you are going for 3-4 days stay and want to walk and see Sydney, try staying closer to Circular Quay or Darling Harbor. This is still a good location but walking back can feel non-trivial when you are walking whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try booking the airport shuttle (needs to be done before 24 hrs) instead of taking the train to Airport - can save a couple of bucks.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cesar Bueno
East Perth
Jul 28, 2014

just what I needed

It suited for what I needed: bed, hot shower and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanghaimarkus
Shanghai
Feb 4, 2013

All good

Hotel okay. You get what you pay. Clean, good location. Comfort as a hostel. Bathroom small but clean and sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
junjune
melbourne
May 22, 2014

familt trip

Water pressure is not strong enough,,,, overall ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Macchia
Business
Melbourne, Victoria
Apr 27, 2014

Good position and worth the money

Travelodge Sydney is a convenient accomodation next to the CBD and to the public transport. From Museum railway stop it is easy to get to the airport in about 15 minutes. Surry Hills and Darling Harbour are within a short distance too. The rooms are pretty large with basic furniture and a small kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigTraveler8
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 10, 2012

3 night stay

I went to Sydney for my first time and was looking for an inexpensive place to stay but close to everything. The hotel was in the less expensive part of town but still a good area and accessible to the city. I walk a lot so it wasn't a problem for me to walk 15 minutes to the main downtown area or Darling Market (probably 25-30 min to walk to the Opera House). The room was basic, clean enough for me since I was barely in there except to sleep. Bathroom was clean but beds were a little hard. Good enough for the price considering other places I could have stayed. The 1 downfall was NO INTERNET in rooms! That was very tough to handle since I wanted to look up things to do while in town. I had to either go to the lobby internet kiosks or go somewhere else with internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to bars

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aussie Student's Mom
Long Grove, Iowa
May 6, 2014

Not so free Wifi

Being an international traveler without phone service I was careful to only book hotels that advertised wifi, since that was my only way to communicate with family. I was sorely disappointed when I found out they didn't provide wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and only for 15 minutes a day. There was an option of paying exorbitant rates for in room wifi, but I wouldn't have been at the Travelodge if money were no object. Buyer beware. On the plus side, there was a very reasonably priced airport shuttle that picked up at the door. Cheaper than the train and much easier!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCNY
New York, NY, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Not Worth the Price

I thought that by staying with an international chain we'd be avoiding disappointment, but not so much. Our "king" sized bed was just two twin beds pushed together, and the shower didn't have a real door, just a curtain, but no squeegee or anything to clear up the sodden floor. Location was close in to town, but felt a bit sketchy and deserted at night. I'd definitely look elsewhere for a stay in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ausstruck Annie
San Bruno, CA
Nov 8, 2009

Travel Lodge Sydney

At check-in, my husband & I were given a Standard Room with 2 twin beds. We went back down to the lobby to complain as we had pre-paid for an Executive Room with a queen-size bed before leaving the U.S. A registration staff said they were out of rooms with queen-size beds, so my husband & I said we will go to another hotel. The staff then searched their computer & found a room for us. She then said that we should have booked the room w/queen bed through their hotel's website. ??? Water kept leaking out of the shower & into the bathroom floor because there was no footbase to hold the receding water. Towels were not changed daily by the cleaning staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Jet Restaurant at Queen Victoria Building in Sydney serves really good pasta, meat & chicken dishes. My husband & I are very picky eaters. We enjoyed the main dishes at Jet so much that we had dinner there twice during our stay in Sydney. You can also there for just tea, coffee &/or dessert. Service is fast, efficient & very good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search