$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
76 reviews
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to... See full review

  • CA Travels
  • Jun 7, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mark
Not Provided
Aug 25, 2011

Nice large clean room with friendly

Nice large clean room with friendly helpful staff. Well located close to darling harbour and other sydney attractions. Would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
adrian miami
Business
miami
Mar 26, 2013

check out spoiled my whole trip! NEVER AGAIN THIS PLACE

first of all i have to say sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world, so 125 us a night on the net for this place was a steal.unfortunately that is what they do in this hotel afterwards when they invent movies and other items on the bill you never watched and consumed. i cant talk about it because i reported this case to the ministry of tourism and the federal police. they charged my card and told me i would get it back, haha of course not. be careful in this place ! location: nicely located between not so nice central station and really much much nicer museumstation. room itself was nice and had even a nice view. unfortunately the place is so ungenerous with housekeepers that really even toiling to death cant clean efficiently neither rooms nor hallways. not a nice working atmosphere for the girls that have to listen to guests complaining. internet of course not free, and they change sheets every 3rd day. stingy people and certainly a hotel to be avoided. i complained about lacking cleanliness and at least they tried to clean my room.funny, in front it stopped and the hallways were dierty as before.they nickel and dime you for everything ! not good at all! really not good if you just go tfor once in a lifetime. they will ruin your trip! pay a little bit more and get a nicer hiotel with real service and clean rooms. if it is for 3 days for business trips it surely is nicer than all the other 120 to 150 us s available if...yes if they would not steal at check out. will never ever come back. leaves a bad after taste. really have fun in that fantastic city which is sydney nonetheless ! cheers mates :()

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

go to darling harbour and have a gorgeous sea food meal but check prices before !!! fantastic panorama at unnormal prices :)

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCKTravelers
Michigan, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Sydney Travelodge

The location was fine, but the room was very, very small. The air conditioner did not work properly and things were broken (hook on bathroom door, shelf in the refrigerator) . The staff was great about giving us directions but overall it was just a so-so hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAgirl2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Nothing special

The room rates were actually a bit expensive for what I got, but it was the weekend of the Mardi Gras parade in Sydney, so I suppose all hotels were priced a little higher. There's nothing special at this hotel. No in-room wi-fi or room service, but the kitchenette area was ok. I probably would not choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JonesG
Doonan, QLD
Mar 6, 2014

Not a place for couples

This was a case of pushing single beds together. They say that booking through anywhere but 'this hotele' you cannot be guaranteed double bed rooms, especially search engine customers etc are always relegated in their thoughts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notahappycamper
Sydney
Jun 22, 2014

Not an enjoyable stay!!

While the location is good, it is very over priced. Staff were incredibly rude. Not helpful at all. I moved to Sydney so I stayed here until I found an apartment to live in. If i was on a holiday I would have left. I asked a very rude lady at reception how much would it be to extend for 1 night (only reason being I found an apartment but couldn't move in till the next day and didn't want to drag 4 suitcases around the city.) She told me $190 dollars for one night. Went online and it was $90 HUGE difference, Not happy at all, very disappointed in there staff at reception. For the price you pay you would expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jas The Traveler
San Francisco, California
Jan 15, 2014

Cockroach in bathroom - We wanted to leave and they wouldn't give refund

Came back to the hotel at 10pm to find a cockroach in the bathroom. We were on the 15th floor. My friend killed it. We were thoroughly disgusted. We called the front desk and asked for a refund and were planning to leave the hotel. The on site night manager was highly incompetent. He sent someone to the room, the guy looked at the cockroach, went to get a towel, came back and cleaned up the cockroach and said everything OK now? We called onsite manager again and he said he did not know if he could authorize a refund and said he could change rooms and I could speak to the manager in the morning...we changed rooms and had a bad nights sleep wondering if there was any more cockroaches in the new room. Spoke to the assistant manager and manager in the morning and asked for a refund they said no. They said cockroaches are common in Australia and it's not as big of a deal as I'm making it... I asked them to do anything to remedy the situation and make me happy. They offered 10% discount on the next stay and free breakfast the next stay. I continued to ask for a refund and they said no. They ended with 15% discount on the next stay and free breakfast on the next stay. That did not make me happy. We left and will never go back. If they simply gave me a refund and an apology I wouldn't be writing this review. In speaking with staff they said they find cockroaches in rooms about 1x or 2x a year. Travelers beware. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast cafe nearby - ask concierge for name of cafe.

Back to menu Return to top