$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
View map of Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 29, 2011

The room was very nice and the

The room was very nice and the location wasn't too bad. It was nice and peaceful and the breakfast was lovely. I would stay here again with no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Dec 25, 2010

Good Location For Touring Sydney.

The hotel was good for the price. Be careful of Cathy, not near as good as the other personnel in the hotel. The rest of the staff was agreeable and very helpful. The room was just fine for us. The facilites with the hotel were fine. Internet access was quite expensive, but there were internet cafe's very close and relatively inexpensive. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good resteraunts close by and a nice bar and snack place just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
olivejuice
Business
los angeles, ca
Dec 18, 2010

Travelodge

great friendly staff , good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

subways were close and so was alot of good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona Del Mar, Ca.
Nov 30, 2010

Great central location

Great central location. Short walk( within 20 min's) to Royal Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Chinatown, etc....Catch local buses quickly to Bondi Beach or to Circular Quay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying a week or longer, get a weekly pass ( $Aus41) that allows you to catch local buses throughout most of Sydney, plus Manly ferry boat and local trains within city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
schmu1
Business
Santa Clara, CA
Nov 17, 2010

Good location, clean & simple room

Good location, within really close walking distance to Crown St (Surrey Hills). The room had 3 single beds in it which we weren't expecting, but since we were only staying one night it didn't bother us. The room was a typical business travel type of room - clean with all the basic stuff you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Nov 14, 2010

great location, nice room!

i'd read about long checkin times and the possibility that i could only get a twin bed. when i arrived at 2pm, i not only got a double bed but i also asked for a room far from the elevator and was happily given one. the kitchenette was next to the door and i had a long hall to my bathroom and bedroom. this made it quieter than most rooms. the bed was comfortable but they didn't have extra pillows available in the room. i thought that odd. bathroom was small and the floor rug got soaked from the short shower curtain. there was a table and chairs in the room. they were wooden so not super comfortable but it was nice to have the space for breakfast and sorting out my maps for the next day's activities. really though, i have no complaints. i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

world square is 3 short blocks away and there's a supermarket there where you can stock up on breakfast items and save big $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL (duh!)
May 30, 2010

Great location, nice staff

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Central Station (15 minutes), if you want to take the train to the airport (AUD $15 one way) or around the country. There is also a convenient, efficient shuttle back to the airport (AUD $12 one way) that can be booked and paid for at the lobby. It picks you up right at the hotel at half-hour intervals during the peak times.My room (2/3 of the way to the top, on the end, with a nice view looking down Wentworth Ave.) was clean, quiet, and all-around pleasant. The TV station choice was rather limited, but I wasn't in Sydney to watch the tube!The staff members are friendly and helpful. That goes a long way toward making up for the fact that there are often long lines at the front desk (and elevators), due to the many large tour groups that stay at the hotel. On the other hand, people arriving on early-morning flights (which includes most everyone coming from North America) are welcome to store their luggage free of charge and come back when their rooms are ready. The hotel also seems to be popular with festive Australians visiting Sydney, which means that you don't feel as though you are only rubbing shoulders with "foreigners" like yourself.There are numerous dining options within 10 minutes of the hotel on foot, even if there are not any right at the hotel itself. (The front desk does sell snacks and drinks.) Sydney rivals Seattle and Alaska when it comes to the number of coffee shops. There is one on almost every corner--in addition to a couple in the middle of every block. That's the impression I got, in any event!It is not too long a walk north through Hyde Park (5 minutes) to Macquarie Street (15 minutes), the Botanic Gardens (20-25 minutes), and the Opera House (25-30 minutes). There are trains and buses (the 555 is free), too, but I wanted to get my exercise. Chinatown is about 15 minutes to the northwest. The shopping and gay bars and clubs on Oxford Street are only a 5-10-minute walk away. Surry Hills is directly to the south (it starts across the street, and the local police station is a block away), and it is really a charming neighborhood/suburb. Great Lebanese, Turkish, and Greek food along Cleveland Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crown Hotel at the corner of Goulburn & Elizabeth has a nice traditional-style pub with a good draft beer selection, reasonably priced lunch specials, and an interesting assortment of mostly local customers (from blue-collar workers to older gentlemen and ladies to yuppie couples). As in many such places, a lot of people are watching and betting on horse and other races on the TV. In this place, it doesn't get obnoxious or overbearing, though. Laid-back and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
May 26, 2010

GOOD LOCATION

The location was good, but the bed was hard and the pillow flat. We stayed 6 days and the bed was made each day but the sheet were never changed the whole time we were there. It was quiet and had a fridge and microwave which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a free bus that goes around the main core of the city ( sydney)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swiss in Canada
Business
BC, Canada
Mar 29, 2010

Great value!

Best value in downtown Sydney! Altough breakfast is not included and very expensive. Location is very close to subway station and Hyde Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top