$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
View map of Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Single
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Good location for the price

The location was great. We were able to walk to venues very easily. Only a short taxi ride to hotel from the airport. Train station was within walking distance from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver
Dec 25, 2010

Good Location For Touring Sydney.

The hotel was good for the price. Be careful of Cathy, not near as good as the other personnel in the hotel. The rest of the staff was agreeable and very helpful. The room was just fine for us. The facilites with the hotel were fine. Internet access was quite expensive, but there were internet cafe's very close and relatively inexpensive. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good resteraunts close by and a nice bar and snack place just across the street.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
olivejuice
Friends
los angeles, ca
Dec 18, 2010

Travelodge

great friendly staff , good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

subways were close and so was alot of good food

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Corona Del Mar, Ca.
Nov 30, 2010

Great central location

Great central location. Short walk( within 20 min's) to Royal Botanical Gardens, Opera House, Chinatown, etc....Catch local buses quickly to Bondi Beach or to Circular Quay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying a week or longer, get a weekly pass ( $Aus41) that allows you to catch local buses throughout most of Sydney, plus Manly ferry boat and local trains within city.

Back to menu Return to top