$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
76 reviews
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to... See full review

  • CA Travels
  • Jun 7, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vips
UK, England
Jan 3, 2013

Great location!

The hotel is located a short walk from busy George Street and is ideal for those looking to be close to the city and those who may be travelling on a budget. Landmarks close by include Darling Harbour, Chinatown, the Town Hall and all major shops. While the room was a little small, it did include a kitchen area with all plates and cutlery, sink, microwave and a fridge. The bed was comfortable with little outside noise heard. The TV offering included most major digital channels and Fox Sports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown and Darling Harbour (Sea Aquarium, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life).

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Jun 8, 2011

Nice and Big

The hotel is good. I was really happy with the size of the room. The bathroom was okey, nothing problematic, not spacious. The overall services and facilities was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a free wifi in the coffee shop next to the museum subway station

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Good location for the price

The location was great. We were able to walk to venues very easily. Only a short taxi ride to hotel from the airport. Train station was within walking distance from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Good location for the price

The location was great. We were able to walk to venues very easily. Only a short taxi ride to hotel from the airport. Train station was within walking distance from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Dec 25, 2010

Good Location For Touring Sydney.

The hotel was good for the price. Be careful of Cathy, not near as good as the other personnel in the hotel. The rest of the staff was agreeable and very helpful. The room was just fine for us. The facilites with the hotel were fine. Internet access was quite expensive, but there were internet cafe's very close and relatively inexpensive. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good resteraunts close by and a nice bar and snack place just across the street.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Dec 25, 2010

Good Location For Touring Sydney.

The hotel was good for the price. Be careful of Cathy, not near as good as the other personnel in the hotel. The rest of the staff was agreeable and very helpful. The room was just fine for us. The facilites with the hotel were fine. Internet access was quite expensive, but there were internet cafe's very close and relatively inexpensive. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good resteraunts close by and a nice bar and snack place just across the street.

Back to menu Return to top