Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
Nice hotel with good price

First time staying this hotel during my visit to Sydney. Close to train station and the room is... See full review

  • Vincent Wai
  • Sep 14, 2014
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skooter
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Dec 31, 2011

Great location, reasonable price, but that's all

If you want a hotel for < $200 in the Sydney CBD area, this is a good place. If you want comfort, clean bathrooms, and access to wireless internet, don't stay here. I have never criticized a hotel for its elevators before, but I hated the elevators at this hotel. There was a 'security' card-swipe system, but it was balky, so if someone called the elevator to an upper floor before I got the card reader to work, I had to go up to that floor (how is that secure?). Even on the way down, which did not require a card swipe, if someone called the elevator in the seconds it took me to hit the button for the lobby, I was taken to an upper floor. I spent a lot of time traveling involuntarily in that elevator to upper floors. I could use the stairs for travel between upper floors, but not from the lobby because access was blocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dchap96418
Kandahar, AFG
Dec 23, 2011

Business basic, good location

Travelodge Sydney is not a resort. It offers good hotels services - clean rooms, excellent staff. But it has no gym, swimming pool or onsite recreation. What it does have is a excellent location for site seeing all of Sydney at an affordable price - something that is rare in Sydney. The hotel is one block south of Hyde park and has easy access to the Hop on/Hop off bus and the Sydney rail and bus system. We used all of these and found getting around town was a breeze. The rooms are clean and well maintained. They have sinks, refrigerators and safes - surprising at the price. The staff are very responsive and helpful. We used them for transportation questions, directions and advice on things to see. In every case they were knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to the vacationing traveler who is on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney has free bus service in the downtown area that runs every ten minutes to all the major sites - circular quay to Chinatown. It's stops just a block west of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CKboiUSA
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Okay hotel

CHECK IN: Flights from North America arrive early and when I got to the hotel, the rooms arent ready yet. I had to wait at the lobby for 1 hour, very tired from a 14 hour flight. ROOM: The room is clean with good amenities like a fridge, safe, microwave , plates and silverware. The bathroom stinks with a scent of mold. The shower curtain has some mold at the bottom. There are moths. Tired from a 14 hour flight, the first thing I did was shower. The bad smell, and moth insects disappointed me greatly. I reported it but they didnt fix it. The bed is nasty, hard and could feel the springs in my back. I like the location because is is near everything inculding the subway stations ( either at Museum station or central station).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Jun 8, 2011

Nice and Big

The hotel is good. I was really happy with the size of the room. The bathroom was okey, nothing problematic, not spacious. The overall services and facilities was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a free wifi in the coffee shop next to the museum subway station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colleyville TX
Mar 24, 2011

Decent location and price, not so clean

Location was convenient for accessing transportation and tourist sites. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was acceptable. Room left a lot to be desired. On check-in there was a musty smell in the room which never went away, there was hair and dust on the bathroom floor behind the door which stayed there all during my 4-day stay, the shelf under the closet where I put my shoes and socks was so full of dust and lint that it surely had not been cleaned in months, all the faucets dripped and I could not turn them enough to stop the drip, and after two days of rain the drain area under the kitchenette sink had a bad smell. No hand towels provided. I would tell a friend about this hotel and my experience there and let them make up their own mind concerning cleanliness expectations but could not recommend it without qualification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in Sydney several days, consider the MultiPass ticket for all train, bus and ferry transportation. It's a lot more convenient and cheaper than individual tickets if you plan to use public transport a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Picton, Ontario, Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Good location for the price

The location was great. We were able to walk to venues very easily. Only a short taxi ride to hotel from the airport. Train station was within walking distance from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 4, 2011

A great deal if you know how to work it.

This was my first trip to Sydney, and I have to say I had an amazing time. What made it even more amazing, though, was knowing I saved money by staying at this Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue and Goulbourn St. I was able to reserve my room for a reasonable $100 (ish) a night. The room was quite spacious and the twin beds were pushed together to create a king. The workers at the front desk were very helpful and gave great advice for traveling around. A great proximity to Elizabeth Street free shuttle to Circular Quay and other notable locations around Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Sydney is an expensive city to dine out in, so a suggestion especially great for this hotel is to buy groceries! Included in my room were a microwave and fridge, so I saved a lot by eating breakfast in my room and packing a lunch. The grocery store is an easy five minute walk and is a worthy endeavor for any length stay. The dining options in-house are limited and an expensive $18 (AU) per meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Dec 25, 2010

Good Location For Touring Sydney.

The hotel was good for the price. Be careful of Cathy, not near as good as the other personnel in the hotel. The rest of the staff was agreeable and very helpful. The room was just fine for us. The facilites with the hotel were fine. Internet access was quite expensive, but there were internet cafe's very close and relatively inexpensive. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good resteraunts close by and a nice bar and snack place just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
olivejuice
los angeles, ca
Dec 18, 2010

Travelodge

great friendly staff , good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

subways were close and so was alot of good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coventry
Dec 4, 2010

Very Good location, very good value

I havent been to Sydney for 5 years, so I wanted a central hotel and this was perfect location. It is walking distance from Museum station (which is on the same line as the airports) and you can walk to Central station and all locations in the CBD from here. Room was good, clean, no probs. The bathroom is slightly strange - more of a shower room, but very usable. There is a bag storage area by reception should you need to store backs before/after checkout. My only wish was you could check in earlier. 2 - 3pm is too late when you've been on several planes for a day or so and you arrive early morning. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top