$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
76 reviews
Good value for money

Excellent location (very close to Hyde Park). Good breakfast (members eat 2 for 1). Internet is not... See full review

  • Octa
  • Jun 22, 2014
Location, Value and Nice

Travelodge is a good hotel. No complaints here. The room was comfortable. The location is close to... See full review

  • CA Travels
  • Jun 7, 2014
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 29, 2011

The room was very nice and the

The room was very nice and the location wasn't too bad. It was nice and peaceful and the breakfast was lovely. I would stay here again with no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael from Melbourne
Melbourne
Sep 6, 2012

Efficient, friendly and central location

This hotel is just a block from Hyde Park and the CBD beyond. Walk the other way to Riley, Crown and Bourke streets for brilliant cafes and restaurants. Skip Oxford St until it goes beyond Bourke St. The hotel staff are young, friendly and helpful - I needed a boarding pass printed. The room was clean and quiet with a good view from the thirteenth floor. I have stayed here several times and recommend it as an excellent choice at competitive prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk around the domain taking in the Art Gallery of NSW, the Opera House and the Botanical Gardens. Look for the Andrew Boy Charlton swimming pool. Excellent cafe with great views.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pilbara
Perth W/Aust
May 27, 2012

Great convenient Hotel

Very courteous, helpful staff and clean room. Easy access to bus, train and walking distance to all places. Very impressed, will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of good hotel meals around the area, especially the 3 monkeys hotel, good food and reasonably priced

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eternity
New York, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Last minute booking

Hotel is okay, nothing too lavish or great. I got it pretty expensive last minute but Sydney is overall expensive, so it was ok given the central location. However, if you are going for 3-4 days stay and want to walk and see Sydney, try staying closer to Circular Quay or Darling Harbor. This is still a good location but walking back can feel non-trivial when you are walking whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try booking the airport shuttle (needs to be done before 24 hrs) instead of taking the train to Airport - can save a couple of bucks.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAgirl2
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 12, 2012

Nothing special

The room rates were actually a bit expensive for what I got, but it was the weekend of the Mardi Gras parade in Sydney, so I suppose all hotels were priced a little higher. There's nothing special at this hotel. No in-room wi-fi or room service, but the kitchenette area was ok. I probably would not choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swagman
Antioch, CA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great location

Good central location. Bus and subway nearby and run often. Plenty of places to eat in the area. Hotel's restaurant open for breakfast only; it's expensive, too. Overall, I'd say this hotel is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alexander's on the park bistro is a five minute walk from the hotel. They serve breakfast and lunch. Food was very good and reasonably priced. A real bonus here is free wifi, not easy to find in Sydney. If you need the Internet, this is a better option than the hotel's rental computers that were horribly slow and cost six dollars per hour; they spent half the time loading the pages. Very frustrating.

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCKTravelers
Michigan, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Sydney Travelodge

The location was fine, but the room was very, very small. The air conditioner did not work properly and things were broken (hook on bathroom door, shelf in the refrigerator) . The staff was great about giving us directions but overall it was just a so-so hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigTraveler8
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 10, 2012

3 night stay

I went to Sydney for my first time and was looking for an inexpensive place to stay but close to everything. The hotel was in the less expensive part of town but still a good area and accessible to the city. I walk a lot so it wasn't a problem for me to walk 15 minutes to the main downtown area or Darling Market (probably 25-30 min to walk to the Opera House). The room was basic, clean enough for me since I was barely in there except to sleep. Bathroom was clean but beds were a little hard. Good enough for the price considering other places I could have stayed. The 1 downfall was NO INTERNET in rooms! That was very tough to handle since I wanted to look up things to do while in town. I had to either go to the lobby internet kiosks or go somewhere else with internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to bars

Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCNY
New York, NY, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Not Worth the Price

I thought that by staying with an international chain we'd be avoiding disappointment, but not so much. Our "king" sized bed was just two twin beds pushed together, and the shower didn't have a real door, just a curtain, but no squeegee or anything to clear up the sodden floor. Location was close in to town, but felt a bit sketchy and deserted at night. I'd definitely look elsewhere for a stay in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skooter
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Dec 31, 2011

Great location, reasonable price, but that's all

If you want a hotel for < $200 in the Sydney CBD area, this is a good place. If you want comfort, clean bathrooms, and access to wireless internet, don't stay here. I have never criticized a hotel for its elevators before, but I hated the elevators at this hotel. There was a 'security' card-swipe system, but it was balky, so if someone called the elevator to an upper floor before I got the card reader to work, I had to go up to that floor (how is that secure?). Even on the way down, which did not require a card swipe, if someone called the elevator in the seconds it took me to hit the button for the lobby, I was taken to an upper floor. I spent a lot of time traveling involuntarily in that elevator to upper floors. I could use the stairs for travel between upper floors, but not from the lobby because access was blocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dchap96418
Kandahar, AFG
Dec 23, 2011

Business basic, good location

Travelodge Sydney is not a resort. It offers good hotels services - clean rooms, excellent staff. But it has no gym, swimming pool or onsite recreation. What it does have is a excellent location for site seeing all of Sydney at an affordable price - something that is rare in Sydney. The hotel is one block south of Hyde park and has easy access to the Hop on/Hop off bus and the Sydney rail and bus system. We used all of these and found getting around town was a breeze. The rooms are clean and well maintained. They have sinks, refrigerators and safes - surprising at the price. The staff are very responsive and helpful. We used them for transportation questions, directions and advice on things to see. In every case they were knowledgeable and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel to the vacationing traveler who is on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney has free bus service in the downtown area that runs every ten minutes to all the major sites - circular quay to Chinatown. It's stops just a block west of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top