Travelodge Sydney

3 stars
View map of Wentworth Avenue and Goulburn Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2010

Hotel Overview

3.5/5

Overall score

84%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8
Simplicity appeals to business and leisure travelers at downtown hotel

Travelodge Sydney is perfect for families and business people looking for a home away from home. Kitchenettes and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price make this downtown hotel an attractive choice. The hotel is located within walking distance to Sydney Harbour, the Rocks district, Chinatown and Hyde Park, making it easy for guests to explore the Harbour City's finest attractions without needing a car. Vibrant rooms look out across Sydney's skyline and a friendly staff offer sightseeing recommendations for your stay.

Highlights
  • Budget prices
  • Rooms with kitchenettes
  • Central downtown location
Rooms

The hotel's 406 bright rooms are simple, spacious and comfortable. Each room has a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator, plus complimentary tea and coffee station. Rooms also include a work table, telephone with voicemail and air-conditioning. Connecting rooms are available for families.

Features

Travelodge Sydney's central location and comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price draw a variety of guests. Enjoy close proximity to Sydney's major attractions and a friendly staff.

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge (fees apply) and provides an Internet kiosk in the foyer (fees apply). Conference facilities are also available.  

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (12 mi/19 km)
  • Shuttle to and from airport (fees apply)
  • Central Station (15 minute walk)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium & Wildlife Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6 mi/10 km)
Policies and fees
  • Free Wi-Fi access is only up to 100mbs data per 24 hours, per room. Over 100mbs, additional data is available at $9.95 for the remainder of the 24 hours, for up to 4 devices per room.
  • Parking is available at a rate of $25 AUD per 24 hours based on single entry only.
  • A photo ID of the registered guest is required and the hotel will maintain a copy on file.
  • A deposit on a credit card will be required on arrival.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Travelodge Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Kitchenette with microwave, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.
Executive Room
Kitchenette with microwave, WiFi access, guaranteed high floor, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, flat screen LCD TV, Foxtel, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

-33.8785 151.2107
Area served
SYDNEY
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith - SYD
Area description
Travelodge Sydney Hotel on the edge of the City and CBD offers you the perfect position to explore. Superb Sydney restaurants, theatres, lively nightclubs and a great range of shops from designer stores to funky boutiques are within easy walking distance from Travelodge Sydney. Please note that the car parking facilities is available at a rate of AUD$25.00 per 24 hours based on single entry only

Nearby points of interest

  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.8 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.8 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.9 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.9 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Customs House: 1.1 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Sydney

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JonesG
Business
Doonan, QLD
Mar 6, 2014

Not a place for couples

This was a case of pushing single beds together. They say that booking through anywhere but 'this hotele' you cannot be guaranteed double bed rooms, especially search engine customers etc are always relegated in their thoughts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cando one
Business
North Coast , NSW
Feb 25, 2014

convenient location

check in was efficient, room was ready on arrival, one of 3 lifts was out of order just like about 2 months ago at our previous stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

check out local news

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller 647
Business
Sorrento, Australia
Feb 23, 2014

Great Location

Good service. Prompt check in. Easy walk to city centre, Darling Harbor and World Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustJoeOrlando
Business
Orlando, FL USA
Feb 17, 2014

Environment focus = discomfort

Great hotel. Clean and the staff is great. Few towels available in room without a request. Master power switch was turned off daily resulting in a hot room upon return. AC was locked down and the room bordered on uncomfortably warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

LGBT nightlife just around the corner on Oxford.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jas The Traveler
Business
San Francisco, California
Jan 15, 2014

Cockroach in bathroom - We wanted to leave and they wouldn't give refund

Came back to the hotel at 10pm to find a cockroach in the bathroom. We were on the 15th floor. My friend killed it. We were thoroughly disgusted. We called the front desk and asked for a refund and were planning to leave the hotel. The on site night manager was highly incompetent. He sent someone to the room, the guy looked at the cockroach, went to get a towel, came back and cleaned up the cockroach and said everything OK now? We called onsite manager again and he said he did not know if he could authorize a refund and said he could change rooms and I could speak to the manager in the morning...we changed rooms and had a bad nights sleep wondering if there was any more cockroaches in the new room. Spoke to the assistant manager and manager in the morning and asked for a refund they said no. They said cockroaches are common in Australia and it's not as big of a deal as I'm making it... I asked them to do anything to remedy the situation and make me happy. They offered 10% discount on the next stay and free breakfast the next stay. I continued to ask for a refund and they said no. They ended with 15% discount on the next stay and free breakfast on the next stay. That did not make me happy. We left and will never go back. If they simply gave me a refund and an apology I wouldn't be writing this review. In speaking with staff they said they find cockroaches in rooms about 1x or 2x a year. Travelers beware. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good breakfast cafe nearby - ask concierge for name of cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 25, 2013

Great location

Quiet, clean, perfect location, good price. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
adrian miami
Business
miami
Mar 26, 2013

check out spoiled my whole trip! NEVER AGAIN THIS PLACE

first of all i have to say sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world, so 125 us a night on the net for this place was a steal.unfortunately that is what they do in this hotel afterwards when they invent movies and other items on the bill you never watched and consumed. i cant talk about it because i reported this case to the ministry of tourism and the federal police. they charged my card and told me i would get it back, haha of course not. be careful in this place ! location: nicely located between not so nice central station and really much much nicer museumstation. room itself was nice and had even a nice view. unfortunately the place is so ungenerous with housekeepers that really even toiling to death cant clean efficiently neither rooms nor hallways. not a nice working atmosphere for the girls that have to listen to guests complaining. internet of course not free, and they change sheets every 3rd day. stingy people and certainly a hotel to be avoided. i complained about lacking cleanliness and at least they tried to clean my room.funny, in front it stopped and the hallways were dierty as before.they nickel and dime you for everything ! not good at all! really not good if you just go tfor once in a lifetime. they will ruin your trip! pay a little bit more and get a nicer hiotel with real service and clean rooms. if it is for 3 days for business trips it surely is nicer than all the other 120 to 150 us s available if...yes if they would not steal at check out. will never ever come back. leaves a bad after taste. really have fun in that fantastic city which is sydney nonetheless ! cheers mates :()

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

go to darling harbour and have a gorgeous sea food meal but check prices before !!! fantastic panorama at unnormal prices :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Bug
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 25, 2013

Great value for the location

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the room to be spacious and clean, and the location to be exceptional - minutes to Central Station or Museum Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A transportation card is available that works on all buses, ferries, and trains (city and the grey lines). It's worth the investment if you plan to explore much of the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
polarbear69
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 13, 2013

great for a travelodge

breakfast was a poor value....the microwave and refer and sink in room was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

friday is bear night at the oxford hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanghaimarkus
Business
Shanghai
Feb 4, 2013

All good

Hotel okay. You get what you pay. Clean, good location. Comfort as a hostel. Bathroom small but clean and sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top