$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Westin Sydney

5 stars
1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any... See full review

  • HandsomeDave
  • Jul 29, 2014
very nice

everything was very upscale and pleasant. the room was spacious and luxurious. See full review

  • vladimirk
  • Jan 5, 2014
Top-notch service at award-winning hotel with spa
At the Westin Sydney you are likely to encounter polished travelers and businesspeople shuffling between the grand lobby, tech-savvy conference facilities, gourmet eateries and the hotel's luxurious rooms. Winner of the 2009 Bentley Award and continuously listed on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, as well as Travel + Leisure's prestigious 500 List, The Westin delivers an oasis of sophistication in the heart of Sydney.
Highlights
  • Oversized rooms in the historic General Post Office or the new tower
  • Endota Day Spa
  • Business and conference centers equipped with cutting-edge technology
Rooms

Understated glam creates luxury in the hotel's 416 rooms and suites. Heritage Rooms, located in the historic General Post Office building, have tall ceilings with exterior and atrium views. Tower rooms have a soothing color palette and promise sweeping vistas of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows. All rooms offer Westin Signature Heavenly Beds wrapped in white duvets, BOSE sound system, flat screen TV, ergonomic desk chair, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms have rainforest shower and deep soaking tub.

Features

The Mosaic Restaurant serves locally-sourced seasonal cuisine with a Mediterranean twist. A breakfast buffet focuses on energizing superfoods while lunch serves casual staples. Sip wine or enjoy light snacks in the lobby bar and lounge or visit one of the 14 eateries and watering holes found on the lower level's GPO Restaurants and Bars.

 

A health club features an indoor lap pool, gym equipment and classes. The adjoining Endota Day Spa offers creative treatments like a yogurt cocoon or billabong footbath, plus traditional body and skincare treatments. Visit the Perry Ellis Hair salon for styling, cuts and hair color.  

 

Transportation
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Sydney Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/2 km) 
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1.2 mi/2km)
  • Circular Quay (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Rocks (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • High-tech meeting and event facilities
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy, print and fax capabilities
  • Translation services
  • Free Wi-Fi in business center and meeting rooms
Policies and Fees
  • A valid credit card is required upon check-in for pre-authorization ($100 AUD per day) to cover incidental charges. Cash deposits are not accepted.
  • Photo ID is required upon check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Sydney Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

The Bar, Lounge and Room
These venues provide a chic, relaxed atmosphere that is perfect for enjoying drinks, light meals, or afternoon tea. Savour the social atmosphere of The Bar and Lounge, or escape to The Room—a distinctively stylish, cosy, and modern space.
Mosaic
A relaxed and open setting meets upscale details in this innovative and inviting venue, where delectable breakfasts, lunches, and dinners feature modern Australian cuisine, always creatively prepared with a refined touch and attention to detail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfh
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 29, 2009

A great choice in the heart of Sydney

For a top-class hotel in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Westin Sydney is an excellent choice. At the intersection of Martin Place and George St., you are just steps away from world-class shopping and restaurants. The City Recital Hall is literally only steps away, and the CityRail Wynyard and Martin Place stations are each only a couple of minutes walk away. During the business week the lobby and the adjoining 1 Martin Place center were bustling with well-dressed business customers. This made for an attractive setting whether your purpose was business or leisure. The staff at the Westin were unfailingly helpful and courterous. The room (in the Tower section) was spectacular, with glass and blonde wood, very comfortable as well. The health club was particularly good, with excercise machines, massages, and a lap pool. I was able to use their facilities to clean up after my arrival before my room became available. Only complaint: the buffet breakfast was good quality but expensive at $42. I recommend getting this as part of your hotel rate if possible. If not, find a nearby cafe that serves breakfast. Some suggestions: The MOS Cafe at the Museum of Sydney near Circular Quay serves breakfast all day in a nice setting. Or, during the business week, the Cafe Angel around the corner from the City Recital Hall serves a less fancy but far more authentic breakfast special with eggs, bacon, toast and coffee for about AU$10. And there is also a cafe in the 1 Martin Place center adjoining the hotel lobby that has bread items and such plus coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are visiting Sydney, and have the time and budget for a top-class restaurant, try the Aria Restaurant overlooking the Sydney Opera House at 1 Macquarie Street. This is only 1 train stop away (Wynyard to Circular Quay), or a short taxi ride. The view of the opera house and harbour is unparalleled, and the food and service match the setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony Azucar
Business
Shanghai China
Apr 17, 2010

Not the Best!

The Pool and Workout area are very difficult to get to as they are in the old part of the hotel! Parking is 50 dollars a day which is ridiculous even for a city as for the location and the rooms I upgraded to the Executive level and my girlfriend and I were both very disappointed with the breakfast buffet and evening snack selection as I am a Starwood preferred guest and this was one of the worse executive lounges I ever visited! So to recap very nice place and centrally located but way overpriced for what you actually receive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zo
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 7, 2009

great

We really loved the Westin. The bathroom looked so clean and the staffs were nice. I definitely would like to go back to the Westin again. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. One problem was the rate was kind of too high. Wished it would be more of a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty near by, It's really fun to just walk around and see new things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Messimel
Business
Seattle washington
Jul 11, 2014

Family getaway

Our stay was comfortable and what you would expect from a westin hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vladimirk
Business
menlo park, ca
Jan 5, 2014

a little disppointed.

the hotel and people were great but the food was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Permanent Platinum
Business
Newport Beach
Nov 9, 2012

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible!!!

After arriving from a 16 hour flight from the US, our room wasn't ready, despite having arrange for early arrival. Ana at the front desk was particularly unhelpful, and lied to us, suggesting we had the "best room in the house" despite that not being the case. When Demitri (the manager) got involved it only got worse, as he said if he provided a day room to change and shower he would be unable to move us to the suite we had booked. I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE, AND IN FACT CANCELLED A STAY FOR LATER THIS SAME MONTH, STAY AWAY!!! This is how they treat their VIPs, imagine someone walking in without status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hexagone
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 3, 2013

BEWARE OF THE TAXI SCAM RUN BY LUGGAGE PERSONNEL

This Westin in Sydney has a problem with the way taxis are handled by hotel staff. It is clear that there is a SCAM run by the staff (the supervisors in charge) at the baggage section when you ask them for a taxi. This happened TWICE during my 2 separate stay at this Westin in Sydney (I stayed there on 2 separate occasions in January). The first time I asked for a cab to go to the airport, I was offered (by the man in charge of the baggae section), a private car (parked separately just outside the hotel). I refused, and asked for a cab, so he called a cab (there was a long line of cabs available, the trip cost $50 as usual. The second time (on January 30, 2013 at 2:30 PM), I asked for a cab to go to the airport, the person who was in CHARGE of the baggage section AT THAT SPECIFIC time took my luggage to a cab (again parked separately outside the hotel, totally away from the taxi queue where tens of cabs were available). There was a 5 minutes conversation between this particular cab driver and the hotel employee: they seem to be friends or whatever). I was in a rush and did not pay attention or suspect anything. But at the airport, I was surprised that there was an additional $15 charge added to the fare for a total of $68 (usually it is $50). The driver told me that there was an additional booking fee because the cab was booked by the hotel (I never asked the hotel to book a cab: you can check the hotel records !). I asked him for a receipt, and he was ready with what looked like a pre-made receipt for $70 (more than I paid), which actually showed a trip FROM the airport to Sydney (and not from Sydney to the hotel). Because of time constraints, I did not pursue this further with the driver (it was a waste of time to argue about $15). And by the way, the Westin in Melbourne (which I stayed in during that visit offered an OUTSTANDING service), which makes me believe this problem is specific to the Westin in Sydney. I am confident that there is a kickbak scam going on between some cab drivers and your luggage personnel / supervisors in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PENDOLINO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top