$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Westin Sydney

5 stars
View map of 1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gowie
Sydney
Oct 22, 2012

Anniversary

Fantastic hotel, one of the best accomodation quality in Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junpio
Business
san jose ,ca
Jan 25, 2010

the westin sydney

efficient and friendly service from the time of arrival to check out. staff makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

may go around the vicinity without difficulty. parks nearby and street performers are on pitt street which is just aroiund the corner. a walking distance to opera house. restaurants/ expensive and moderately priced are all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYcouple
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2010

Fantastic stay!

we always stay in nice hotels and that was not our first time at Westin chain, but this one - wow! beyond expectations! we stayed there over New year for 4 days and ofcourse it was overpriced but......where do I start? fantastic veiws!! (we had a room on 19th floor) customer service is AMAZING! Conicege downstairs - oh my god! A+++ fantastic! Booked a tour and restaurant for us! very very happy! will DEF recommend!!!!!! they have food court downstairs and lounge upstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

within half block on George - IVY - must go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thumbs Up on Tour
Business
Oregon
Dec 21, 2009

Simply Amazing

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Great staff and location; gorgeous hotel and rooms; and topped off with superior restaurants inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney Traveler
Business
Lansing MI
Nov 30, 2009

City Escape

Stayed at the Westin on our way in and out of Sydney. The hotel is in the middle of the business district. There is plenty of retail shopping nearby. It wasn't easy finding a place for dinner - mostly suited to breakfast and lunch crowds in this area. The bellmen were quick and efficient. Check in went well also.Our 2 disappointments were:1) We had booked this hotel for one night on our arrival in Sydney with a different carrier [...]. We were given a beautiful city and clock tower view. When we came back on the 26th with [...] - we were given a room with a view of the roof of the neighboring building. The hotel was not very full but it was obvious we were given a lesser quality room due to booking with an outside carrier.2) At 5:30 am when we tried to make a phone call - our phone access was denied. When I called the desk I was told there was no way to turn this back on in our room. We had already received the statement for the room under our door so guessing they "closed" our account. They had our payment for this room for over 3 weeks and we couldn't make a phone call! I was livid. The hotel manager said I could come downstairs and make a call from another phone (at 5:30 am I wasn't ready to go downstairs). He also offered to reduce the overseas charges by 50% (making the call only $5 a minute - no thank you!) or if I wanted to give them my calling card they would place the call and transfer it back to us. They did TRY to make us happy but it didn't meet my expectations for a hotel of this caliber. I wonder if ALL guests are treated this way or only those booking with [...]? We didn't have this issue on the 16th when we were there.I was very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not easy finding dining for dinner close to the hotel. Many options for breakfast or lunch but dinner was a walk to Darling Harbor or towards the Rocks District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfh
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 29, 2009

A great choice in the heart of Sydney

For a top-class hotel in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Westin Sydney is an excellent choice. At the intersection of Martin Place and George St., you are just steps away from world-class shopping and restaurants. The City Recital Hall is literally only steps away, and the CityRail Wynyard and Martin Place stations are each only a couple of minutes walk away. During the business week the lobby and the adjoining 1 Martin Place center were bustling with well-dressed business customers. This made for an attractive setting whether your purpose was business or leisure. The staff at the Westin were unfailingly helpful and courterous. The room (in the Tower section) was spectacular, with glass and blonde wood, very comfortable as well. The health club was particularly good, with excercise machines, massages, and a lap pool. I was able to use their facilities to clean up after my arrival before my room became available. Only complaint: the buffet breakfast was good quality but expensive at $42. I recommend getting this as part of your hotel rate if possible. If not, find a nearby cafe that serves breakfast. Some suggestions: The MOS Cafe at the Museum of Sydney near Circular Quay serves breakfast all day in a nice setting. Or, during the business week, the Cafe Angel around the corner from the City Recital Hall serves a less fancy but far more authentic breakfast special with eggs, bacon, toast and coffee for about AU$10. And there is also a cafe in the 1 Martin Place center adjoining the hotel lobby that has bread items and such plus coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are visiting Sydney, and have the time and budget for a top-class restaurant, try the Aria Restaurant overlooking the Sydney Opera House at 1 Macquarie Street. This is only 1 train stop away (Wynyard to Circular Quay), or a short taxi ride. The view of the opera house and harbour is unparalleled, and the food and service match the setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diverej
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 19, 2009

Killer location in Sydney!

The Westin Sydney is located in the perfect place to walk just about anywhere in town. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. I have nothing but good things to say about my stay there and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zo
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 7, 2009

great

We really loved the Westin. The bathroom looked so clean and the staffs were nice. I definitely would like to go back to the Westin again. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. One problem was the rate was kind of too high. Wished it would be more of a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty near by, It's really fun to just walk around and see new things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top