$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

The Westin Sydney

5 stars
1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any... See full review

  • HandsomeDave
  • Jul 29, 2014
very nice

everything was very upscale and pleasant. the room was spacious and luxurious. See full review

  • vladimirk
  • Jan 5, 2014
Top-notch service at award-winning hotel with spa
At the Westin Sydney you are likely to encounter polished travelers and businesspeople shuffling between the grand lobby, tech-savvy conference facilities, gourmet eateries and the hotel's luxurious rooms. Winner of the 2009 Bentley Award and continuously listed on Condé Nast Traveler's Gold List, as well as Travel + Leisure's prestigious 500 List, The Westin delivers an oasis of sophistication in the heart of Sydney.
Highlights
  • Oversized rooms in the historic General Post Office or the new tower
  • Endota Day Spa
  • Business and conference centers equipped with cutting-edge technology
Rooms

Understated glam creates luxury in the hotel's 416 rooms and suites. Heritage Rooms, located in the historic General Post Office building, have tall ceilings with exterior and atrium views. Tower rooms have a soothing color palette and promise sweeping vistas of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows. All rooms offer Westin Signature Heavenly Beds wrapped in white duvets, BOSE sound system, flat screen TV, ergonomic desk chair, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms have rainforest shower and deep soaking tub.

Features

The Mosaic Restaurant serves locally-sourced seasonal cuisine with a Mediterranean twist. A breakfast buffet focuses on energizing superfoods while lunch serves casual staples. Sip wine or enjoy light snacks in the lobby bar and lounge or visit one of the 14 eateries and watering holes found on the lower level's GPO Restaurants and Bars.

 

A health club features an indoor lap pool, gym equipment and classes. The adjoining Endota Day Spa offers creative treatments like a yogurt cocoon or billabong footbath, plus traditional body and skincare treatments. Visit the Perry Ellis Hair salon for styling, cuts and hair color.  

 

Transportation
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Sydney Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/2 km) 
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1.2 mi/2km)
  • Circular Quay (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Rocks (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • High-tech meeting and event facilities
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy, print and fax capabilities
  • Translation services
  • Free Wi-Fi in business center and meeting rooms
Policies and fees
Photo ID is required upon check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8678 151.2076
Nearby airports
Sydney Airport, (SYD), 15.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Sydney Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Utah savy traveler
Utah
Jun 14, 2012

Good all around choice

Great location (convenient to the Airport Link train) and walking distance to everything else. Very friendly staff (Australians are just friendly). Great bed -- just as advertised-- and wonderful breakfast (try to get a bed and breakfast rate). A little expensive but Sydney is an expensive city. Not sure one could do better anywhere else. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junpio
san jose ,ca
Jan 25, 2010

the westin sydney

efficient and friendly service from the time of arrival to check out. staff makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

may go around the vicinity without difficulty. parks nearby and street performers are on pitt street which is just aroiund the corner. a walking distance to opera house. restaurants/ expensive and moderately priced are all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYcouple
New York
Jan 15, 2010

Fantastic stay!

we always stay in nice hotels and that was not our first time at Westin chain, but this one - wow! beyond expectations! we stayed there over New year for 4 days and ofcourse it was overpriced but......where do I start? fantastic veiws!! (we had a room on 19th floor) customer service is AMAZING! Conicege downstairs - oh my god! A+++ fantastic! Booked a tour and restaurant for us! very very happy! will DEF recommend!!!!!! they have food court downstairs and lounge upstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

within half block on George - IVY - must go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thumbs Up on Tour
Oregon
Dec 21, 2009

Simply Amazing

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Great staff and location; gorgeous hotel and rooms; and topped off with superior restaurants inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney Traveler
Lansing MI
Nov 30, 2009

City Escape

Stayed at the Westin on our way in and out of Sydney. The hotel is in the middle of the business district. There is plenty of retail shopping nearby. It wasn't easy finding a place for dinner - mostly suited to breakfast and lunch crowds in this area. The bellmen were quick and efficient. Check in went well also.Our 2 disappointments were:1) We had booked this hotel for one night on our arrival in Sydney with a different carrier [...]. We were given a beautiful city and clock tower view. When we came back on the 26th with [...] - we were given a room with a view of the roof of the neighboring building. The hotel was not very full but it was obvious we were given a lesser quality room due to booking with an outside carrier.2) At 5:30 am when we tried to make a phone call - our phone access was denied. When I called the desk I was told there was no way to turn this back on in our room. We had already received the statement for the room under our door so guessing they "closed" our account. They had our payment for this room for over 3 weeks and we couldn't make a phone call! I was livid. The hotel manager said I could come downstairs and make a call from another phone (at 5:30 am I wasn't ready to go downstairs). He also offered to reduce the overseas charges by 50% (making the call only $5 a minute - no thank you!) or if I wanted to give them my calling card they would place the call and transfer it back to us. They did TRY to make us happy but it didn't meet my expectations for a hotel of this caliber. I wonder if ALL guests are treated this way or only those booking with [...]? We didn't have this issue on the 16th when we were there.I was very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not easy finding dining for dinner close to the hotel. Many options for breakfast or lunch but dinner was a walk to Darling Harbor or towards the Rocks District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfh
San Jose, CA
Nov 29, 2009

A great choice in the heart of Sydney

For a top-class hotel in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Westin Sydney is an excellent choice. At the intersection of Martin Place and George St., you are just steps away from world-class shopping and restaurants. The City Recital Hall is literally only steps away, and the CityRail Wynyard and Martin Place stations are each only a couple of minutes walk away. During the business week the lobby and the adjoining 1 Martin Place center were bustling with well-dressed business customers. This made for an attractive setting whether your purpose was business or leisure. The staff at the Westin were unfailingly helpful and courterous. The room (in the Tower section) was spectacular, with glass and blonde wood, very comfortable as well. The health club was particularly good, with excercise machines, massages, and a lap pool. I was able to use their facilities to clean up after my arrival before my room became available. Only complaint: the buffet breakfast was good quality but expensive at $42. I recommend getting this as part of your hotel rate if possible. If not, find a nearby cafe that serves breakfast. Some suggestions: The MOS Cafe at the Museum of Sydney near Circular Quay serves breakfast all day in a nice setting. Or, during the business week, the Cafe Angel around the corner from the City Recital Hall serves a less fancy but far more authentic breakfast special with eggs, bacon, toast and coffee for about AU$10. And there is also a cafe in the 1 Martin Place center adjoining the hotel lobby that has bread items and such plus coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are visiting Sydney, and have the time and budget for a top-class restaurant, try the Aria Restaurant overlooking the Sydney Opera House at 1 Macquarie Street. This is only 1 train stop away (Wynyard to Circular Quay), or a short taxi ride. The view of the opera house and harbour is unparalleled, and the food and service match the setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diverej
Honolulu, HI
Oct 19, 2009

Killer location in Sydney!

The Westin Sydney is located in the perfect place to walk just about anywhere in town. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. I have nothing but good things to say about my stay there and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zo
Honolulu, HI
Oct 7, 2009

great

We really loved the Westin. The bathroom looked so clean and the staffs were nice. I definitely would like to go back to the Westin again. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. One problem was the rate was kind of too high. Wished it would be more of a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty near by, It's really fun to just walk around and see new things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search