$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

The Westin Sydney

5 stars
1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any... See full review

  • HandsomeDave
  • Jul 29, 2014
very nice

everything was very upscale and pleasant. the room was spacious and luxurious. See full review

  • vladimirk
  • Jan 5, 2014
Experience an energising retreat in the centre of the city, surrounded by Sydney's most enticing fashion retailers and restaurants. We're also located only minutes from the Sydney Opera House, Darling Harbour, NSW Art Gallery, and Sydney Harbour. Feel well cared for with In-Room Spa treatments, well nourished by Mosaic Restaurant, and quietly reenergised with afternoon tea in The Lobby Bar, Lounge & Room. Stay in balance with our Health Club or follow a RunWESTIN™ map around our stunning city. We offer 416 guest rooms and suites: the General Post Office building houses our beautiful Heritage Rooms, while our Tower Rooms offer chic, contemporary design. Enjoy our signature Westin Heavenly® Bed and Heavenly® Bath for restorative comfort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Sydney Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

Mosaic
A relaxed and open setting meets upscale details in this innovative and inviting venue, where delectable breakfasts, lunches, and dinners feature modern Australian cuisine, always creatively prepared with a refined touch and attention to detail.
The Bar, Lounge and Room
These venues provide a chic, relaxed atmosphere that is perfect for enjoying drinks, light meals, or afternoon tea. Savour the social atmosphere of The Bar and Lounge, or escape to The Room—a distinctively stylish, cosy, and modern space.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Utah savy traveler
Utah
Jun 14, 2012

Good all around choice

Great location (convenient to the Airport Link train) and walking distance to everything else. Very friendly staff (Australians are just friendly). Great bed -- just as advertised-- and wonderful breakfast (try to get a bed and breakfast rate). A little expensive but Sydney is an expensive city. Not sure one could do better anywhere else. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junpio
Business
san jose ,ca
Jan 25, 2010

the westin sydney

efficient and friendly service from the time of arrival to check out. staff makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

may go around the vicinity without difficulty. parks nearby and street performers are on pitt street which is just aroiund the corner. a walking distance to opera house. restaurants/ expensive and moderately priced are all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYcouple
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2010

Fantastic stay!

we always stay in nice hotels and that was not our first time at Westin chain, but this one - wow! beyond expectations! we stayed there over New year for 4 days and ofcourse it was overpriced but......where do I start? fantastic veiws!! (we had a room on 19th floor) customer service is AMAZING! Conicege downstairs - oh my god! A+++ fantastic! Booked a tour and restaurant for us! very very happy! will DEF recommend!!!!!! they have food court downstairs and lounge upstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

within half block on George - IVY - must go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thumbs Up on Tour
Business
Oregon
Dec 21, 2009

Simply Amazing

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Great staff and location; gorgeous hotel and rooms; and topped off with superior restaurants inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney Traveler
Business
Lansing MI
Nov 30, 2009

City Escape

Stayed at the Westin on our way in and out of Sydney. The hotel is in the middle of the business district. There is plenty of retail shopping nearby. It wasn't easy finding a place for dinner - mostly suited to breakfast and lunch crowds in this area. The bellmen were quick and efficient. Check in went well also.Our 2 disappointments were:1) We had booked this hotel for one night on our arrival in Sydney with a different carrier [...]. We were given a beautiful city and clock tower view. When we came back on the 26th with [...] - we were given a room with a view of the roof of the neighboring building. The hotel was not very full but it was obvious we were given a lesser quality room due to booking with an outside carrier.2) At 5:30 am when we tried to make a phone call - our phone access was denied. When I called the desk I was told there was no way to turn this back on in our room. We had already received the statement for the room under our door so guessing they "closed" our account. They had our payment for this room for over 3 weeks and we couldn't make a phone call! I was livid. The hotel manager said I could come downstairs and make a call from another phone (at 5:30 am I wasn't ready to go downstairs). He also offered to reduce the overseas charges by 50% (making the call only $5 a minute - no thank you!) or if I wanted to give them my calling card they would place the call and transfer it back to us. They did TRY to make us happy but it didn't meet my expectations for a hotel of this caliber. I wonder if ALL guests are treated this way or only those booking with [...]? We didn't have this issue on the 16th when we were there.I was very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not easy finding dining for dinner close to the hotel. Many options for breakfast or lunch but dinner was a walk to Darling Harbor or towards the Rocks District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cfh
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 29, 2009

A great choice in the heart of Sydney

For a top-class hotel in the heart of the Sydney Central Business District, the Westin Sydney is an excellent choice. At the intersection of Martin Place and George St., you are just steps away from world-class shopping and restaurants. The City Recital Hall is literally only steps away, and the CityRail Wynyard and Martin Place stations are each only a couple of minutes walk away. During the business week the lobby and the adjoining 1 Martin Place center were bustling with well-dressed business customers. This made for an attractive setting whether your purpose was business or leisure. The staff at the Westin were unfailingly helpful and courterous. The room (in the Tower section) was spectacular, with glass and blonde wood, very comfortable as well. The health club was particularly good, with excercise machines, massages, and a lap pool. I was able to use their facilities to clean up after my arrival before my room became available. Only complaint: the buffet breakfast was good quality but expensive at $42. I recommend getting this as part of your hotel rate if possible. If not, find a nearby cafe that serves breakfast. Some suggestions: The MOS Cafe at the Museum of Sydney near Circular Quay serves breakfast all day in a nice setting. Or, during the business week, the Cafe Angel around the corner from the City Recital Hall serves a less fancy but far more authentic breakfast special with eggs, bacon, toast and coffee for about AU$10. And there is also a cafe in the 1 Martin Place center adjoining the hotel lobby that has bread items and such plus coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are visiting Sydney, and have the time and budget for a top-class restaurant, try the Aria Restaurant overlooking the Sydney Opera House at 1 Macquarie Street. This is only 1 train stop away (Wynyard to Circular Quay), or a short taxi ride. The view of the opera house and harbour is unparalleled, and the food and service match the setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diverej
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 19, 2009

Killer location in Sydney!

The Westin Sydney is located in the perfect place to walk just about anywhere in town. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. I have nothing but good things to say about my stay there and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zo
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 7, 2009

great

We really loved the Westin. The bathroom looked so clean and the staffs were nice. I definitely would like to go back to the Westin again. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. One problem was the rate was kind of too high. Wished it would be more of a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is pretty near by, It's really fun to just walk around and see new things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top