The Westin Sydney

5 stars
1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
127 reviews
Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any... See full review

  • HandsomeDave
  • Jul 29, 2014
Weekend getaway in Sydney

Superb location, beautiful hotel, helpful, knowledgeable staff. Everything was exceptional. My... See full review

  • Ryasday
  • Feb 10, 2014
Top-notch service at award-winning hotel with spa
At the Westin Sydney you are likely to encounter polished travelers and businesspeople shuffling between the grand lobby, tech-savvy conference facilities, gourmet eateries and the hotel's luxurious rooms. Winner of the 2009 Bentley Award and continuously listed on Condé Nast Traveler's Gold List, as well as Travel + Leisure's prestigious 500 List, The Westin delivers an oasis of sophistication in the heart of Sydney.
Highlights
  • Oversized rooms in the historic General Post Office or the new tower
  • Endota Day Spa
  • Business and conference centers equipped with cutting-edge technology
Rooms

Understated glam creates luxury in the hotel's 416 rooms and suites. Heritage Rooms, located in the historic General Post Office building, have tall ceilings with exterior and atrium views. Tower rooms have a soothing color palette and promise sweeping vistas of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows. All rooms offer Westin Signature Heavenly Beds wrapped in white duvets, BOSE sound system, flat screen TV, ergonomic desk chair, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms have rainforest shower and deep soaking tub.

Features

The Mosaic Restaurant serves locally-sourced seasonal cuisine with a Mediterranean twist. A breakfast buffet focuses on energizing superfoods while lunch serves casual staples. Sip wine or enjoy light snacks in the lobby bar and lounge or visit one of the 14 eateries and watering holes found on the lower level's GPO Restaurants and Bars.

 

A health club features an indoor lap pool, gym equipment and classes. The adjoining Endota Day Spa offers creative treatments like a yogurt cocoon or billabong footbath, plus traditional body and skincare treatments. Visit the Perry Ellis Hair salon for styling, cuts and hair color.  

 

Transportation
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Sydney Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/2 km) 
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1.2 mi/2km)
  • Circular Quay (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Rocks (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • High-tech meeting and event facilities
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy, print and fax capabilities
  • Translation services
  • Free Wi-Fi in business center and meeting rooms
Policies and fees
Photo ID is required upon check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Sydney Rooms

Superior
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

-33.8678 151.2076
Nearby airports
Sydney Airport, (SYD), 15.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuxuryBargins
Australia
Apr 1, 2013

Comfortable

I stayed here many years ago when they first opened, and the place have been kept well. Standard 5* accom with good amenities and comfortable bed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busy bee
Business
melbourne, australia
Mar 17, 2013

short weekend stay

Very Helpful staff, enjoyed my stay and would love to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abibouba
Paris, France
Mar 9, 2013

Fantastic location and amenities

Probably one of the best hotel in Sydney. The location is fantastic. Rooms are clean. Access to a professional fitness center and swimming pool. Price was good (special offer on ratestogo).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonah
Geelong
Mar 3, 2013

Wow

Going to be hard to stay anywhere else now. It is THAT good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Princesssssss
Melbounre
Feb 11, 2013

Perfect

Amazing!!!! I stayed in the modern tower and it was just beauiful. The rooms the bar the dining was just great. :))))))) Location...Everything was with in walking distance. Its a MUST 5*****

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Champers
Sydney, Australia
Feb 10, 2013

OK for a 5 star hotel

The room was not up to standard for a 5 star luxury hotel in a major city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hexagone
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 3, 2013

BEWARE OF THE TAXI SCAM RUN BY LUGGAGE PERSONNEL

This Westin in Sydney has a problem with the way taxis are handled by hotel staff. It is clear that there is a SCAM run by the staff (the supervisors in charge) at the baggage section when you ask them for a taxi. This happened TWICE during my 2 separate stay at this Westin in Sydney (I stayed there on 2 separate occasions in January). The first time I asked for a cab to go to the airport, I was offered (by the man in charge of the baggae section), a private car (parked separately just outside the hotel). I refused, and asked for a cab, so he called a cab (there was a long line of cabs available, the trip cost $50 as usual. The second time (on January 30, 2013 at 2:30 PM), I asked for a cab to go to the airport, the person who was in CHARGE of the baggage section AT THAT SPECIFIC time took my luggage to a cab (again parked separately outside the hotel, totally away from the taxi queue where tens of cabs were available). There was a 5 minutes conversation between this particular cab driver and the hotel employee: they seem to be friends or whatever). I was in a rush and did not pay attention or suspect anything. But at the airport, I was surprised that there was an additional $15 charge added to the fare for a total of $68 (usually it is $50). The driver told me that there was an additional booking fee because the cab was booked by the hotel (I never asked the hotel to book a cab: you can check the hotel records !). I asked him for a receipt, and he was ready with what looked like a pre-made receipt for $70 (more than I paid), which actually showed a trip FROM the airport to Sydney (and not from Sydney to the hotel). Because of time constraints, I did not pursue this further with the driver (it was a waste of time to argue about $15). And by the way, the Westin in Melbourne (which I stayed in during that visit offered an OUTSTANDING service), which makes me believe this problem is specific to the Westin in Sydney. I am confident that there is a kickbak scam going on between some cab drivers and your luggage personnel / supervisors in Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PENDOLINO

Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDog
Newcastle, NSW
Jan 29, 2013

Fantastic location

Such a great hotel. In the the best location. Close to Pitt st mall and circular quay. The in-room massage service is a nice, affordable service as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geoffery
Bungendore, NSW
Jan 11, 2013

Disapointing Experience

We have stayed at the Westin (Sydney) on a number of occasions and have also holidayed at the Westin Resort in Bali. Facilities and and staff were excellent. Our latest stay was however spoilt by the "disappearance" of a bottle of CK1 cologne from our bathroom. This was reported to House Services staff immediately (following a thorough search of our room and luggage - though confident as to where it had been left) who eventually contacted our room attendants to see if a breakage had occurred but was not reported. Staff advised Management that no breakage had happened. On check-out we left our contact details with Reception staff but are yet to receive a follow-up call. As trust is a matter of high importance to us when traveling, we will not be choosing to stay at the Westin in future and would recommend a review of customer service and security procedures within the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IvanL
Melbourne
Dec 30, 2012

A little bit cold...

I'm lucky to have travelled overseas a couple of times this year and stayed in some wonderfully good hotels - including Jumeirah and Intercontinental. I thought Westin Sydney would be just as good as these brand, but it wasn't. As a general statement, the Westin Sydney staff aren't happy. There's quite a long foyer as you enter from George Street and walk up to the lift area. During this walk, it's possible to walk past up to 8 or even 10 Westin Sydney staff members - and not one of them will look at you and say hello. In fact, some of the staff look away. I'm not looking to be 'gushed over' when I stay at a 5 star hotel, but it is nice when the staff have the self confidence to say hello as you walk past them. I feel Jumeirah have spolit me for every hotel I stay at now, their staff are wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top