$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Westin Sydney

5 stars
1 Martin Place, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any... See full review

  • HandsomeDave
  • Jul 29, 2014
very nice

everything was very upscale and pleasant. the room was spacious and luxurious. See full review

  • vladimirk
  • Jan 5, 2014
Top-notch service at award-winning hotel with spa
At the Westin Sydney you are likely to encounter polished travelers and businesspeople shuffling between the grand lobby, tech-savvy conference facilities, gourmet eateries and the hotel's luxurious rooms. Winner of the 2009 Bentley Award and continuously listed on Conde Nast Traveler's Gold List, as well as Travel + Leisure's prestigious 500 List, The Westin delivers an oasis of sophistication in the heart of Sydney.
Highlights
  • Oversized rooms in the historic General Post Office or the new tower
  • Endota Day Spa
  • Business and conference centers equipped with cutting-edge technology
Rooms

Understated glam creates luxury in the hotel's 416 rooms and suites. Heritage Rooms, located in the historic General Post Office building, have tall ceilings with exterior and atrium views. Tower rooms have a soothing color palette and promise sweeping vistas of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows. All rooms offer Westin Signature Heavenly Beds wrapped in white duvets, BOSE sound system, flat screen TV, ergonomic desk chair, refrigerator and high-speed Internet (fees apply). Bathrooms have rainforest shower and deep soaking tub.

Features

The Mosaic Restaurant serves locally-sourced seasonal cuisine with a Mediterranean twist. A breakfast buffet focuses on energizing superfoods while lunch serves casual staples. Sip wine or enjoy light snacks in the lobby bar and lounge or visit one of the 14 eateries and watering holes found on the lower level's GPO Restaurants and Bars.

 

A health club features an indoor lap pool, gym equipment and classes. The adjoining Endota Day Spa offers creative treatments like a yogurt cocoon or billabong footbath, plus traditional body and skincare treatments. Visit the Perry Ellis Hair salon for styling, cuts and hair color.  

 

Transportation
  • Airport shuttle (fees apply)
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Sydney Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (1.2 mi/2 km) 
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1.2 mi/2km)
  • Circular Quay (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Rocks (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • High-tech meeting and event facilities
  • 24-hour business center with computers, copy, print and fax capabilities
  • Translation services
  • Free Wi-Fi in business center and meeting rooms
Policies and Fees
  • A valid credit card is required upon check-in for pre-authorization ($100 AUD per day) to cover incidental charges. Cash deposits are not accepted.
  • Photo ID is required upon check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

The Westin Sydney Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.3 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.4 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Customs House: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.9 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.2 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.9 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.1 mi

Dining

The Bar, Lounge and Room
These venues provide a chic, relaxed atmosphere that is perfect for enjoying drinks, light meals, or afternoon tea. Savour the social atmosphere of The Bar and Lounge, or escape to The Room—a distinctively stylish, cosy, and modern space.
Mosaic
A relaxed and open setting meets upscale details in this innovative and inviting venue, where delectable breakfasts, lunches, and dinners feature modern Australian cuisine, always creatively prepared with a refined touch and attention to detail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gowie
Sydney
Oct 22, 2012

Anniversary

Fantastic hotel, one of the best accomodation quality in Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EMgl
Business
Chicago
Sep 19, 2011

Impressive

lovely hotel on the heart of CBD. Walk to everything. Expensive but competitive. Room was lovely but those prefering privacy might want to take a look

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diverej
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 19, 2009

Killer location in Sydney!

The Westin Sydney is located in the perfect place to walk just about anywhere in town. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. I have nothing but good things to say about my stay there and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A1308
Business
miami
Aug 6, 2011

Westin

All excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ivy club it's amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junpio
Business
san jose ,ca
Jan 25, 2010

the westin sydney

efficient and friendly service from the time of arrival to check out. staff makes you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

may go around the vicinity without difficulty. parks nearby and street performers are on pitt street which is just aroiund the corner. a walking distance to opera house. restaurants/ expensive and moderately priced are all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PH74
Business
Annecy, France
Sep 18, 2011

excellent holidays in Sydney

5 nights. Excellent location near Circular quay. Excellent bed (but Sofitel seems to better) Two thumbs up for Breakfast Excellent choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HandsomeDave
Business
Melbourne, AUS
Jul 29, 2014

Great Spot to See Sydney!

Our stay was incredible. The staff were as helpful as can be, and the location doesn't get any better! Great location from which to see all the main sites!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in Hong Kong
Business
Hong Kong
Jan 11, 2012

Location Location and a few other good things as well

We love the old world charm of the old post office and the location is hard to beat. center of everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful , also very cosmo from all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk to the Opera House, the ferries, the Rock, and many of the parks. Hard to beat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coddo
Business
Perth, WA
Oct 8, 2013

Heart of the City

Can't beat the location of the Westin Sydney. A short walk away from all the major sights with easy access to buses, trains and ferries. Room was light, bright and spacious. Very easy train access to the airport via Wynyard Station. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Bar at the End of the Wharf, found on Hickson, Rd at the end of pier 4. Fantastic location for dinner with the back drop of the Sydney Harbour Bridge a stones throw away. Great staff, reasonably priced delicious light meals and not too busy. Can't get any better place to spend an evening!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glen p
Business
san diego
Jun 1, 2014

this place needs a better address

hotel was good but location is tricky for cars. Only one street access and it's one way. Downtown if you miss it, you'll take 40 minutes to get back to the hotel. The address makes it confusing as it puts you in a plaza instead of on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking around downtown works but a car is difficult. address is 1 martin place which is the middle of a no car plaza. address should be on Pitt Street, the only was a car can get to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney Traveler
Business
Lansing MI
Nov 30, 2009

City Escape

Stayed at the Westin on our way in and out of Sydney. The hotel is in the middle of the business district. There is plenty of retail shopping nearby. It wasn't easy finding a place for dinner - mostly suited to breakfast and lunch crowds in this area. The bellmen were quick and efficient. Check in went well also.Our 2 disappointments were:1) We had booked this hotel for one night on our arrival in Sydney with a different carrier [...]. We were given a beautiful city and clock tower view. When we came back on the 26th with [...] - we were given a room with a view of the roof of the neighboring building. The hotel was not very full but it was obvious we were given a lesser quality room due to booking with an outside carrier.2) At 5:30 am when we tried to make a phone call - our phone access was denied. When I called the desk I was told there was no way to turn this back on in our room. We had already received the statement for the room under our door so guessing they "closed" our account. They had our payment for this room for over 3 weeks and we couldn't make a phone call! I was livid. The hotel manager said I could come downstairs and make a call from another phone (at 5:30 am I wasn't ready to go downstairs). He also offered to reduce the overseas charges by 50% (making the call only $5 a minute - no thank you!) or if I wanted to give them my calling card they would place the call and transfer it back to us. They did TRY to make us happy but it didn't meet my expectations for a hotel of this caliber. I wonder if ALL guests are treated this way or only those booking with [...]? We didn't have this issue on the 16th when we were there.I was very disappointed to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Not easy finding dining for dinner close to the hotel. Many options for breakfast or lunch but dinner was a walk to Darling Harbor or towards the Rocks District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top