$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

4 stars
View map of 90 William Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location…centrally located!

The Sydney Boulevard Hotel is a really nice, centrally located hotel in the heart of... See full review

  • mjp240
  • Apr 4, 2014
Great location and breathtaking harbour side views

We had booked 2 rooms with harbour side views and requested early check in if possible. We got to... See full review

  • Rishi
  • Feb 16, 2014
Value hotel in Kings Cross with views of the skyline and harbor

Favored by business travelers keen on a Kings Cross address, the Bayview Boulevard Sydney offers comfortable quarters with skyline and harbor vistas from grand windows. A short stroll takes guests to Sydney film studios, the Domain and shopping along Oxford and Stanley Streets. Seasons Cafe serves buffet dishes all day and pre-function drinks. Guests enjoy a 24-hour business center, Internet kiosks, fitness center, espresso bar and a lobby café serving breakfast.

Highlights
  • 24-hour business services
  • Close proximity to central business district, shopping and nightlife
Rooms

The hotel's 271 simple rooms offer sand- and stone-colored interiors with stylish accent pillows. Guests enjoy views of the Sydney skyline and harbor from the large windows in guest rooms. Extras include air conditioning, voice mail, writing desk, TV and Wi-Fi (fees apply). 

Features

The lobby-level Seasons Café, adjacent to the Grand Ballroom, serves buffet breakfast daily in a bright dining room. It is the ideal Sydney restaurant for pre-function drinks, buffet lunches and buffet dinners.

Additional features include Internet kiosks, parking facilities (fees apply) and a 24th-floor fitness center with a steam room and sauna.

Transportation
  • St. James Railway Station (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Galeries Victoria Monorail Stop (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Sydney Airport (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
Attractions
  • Central Business District (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Darling Harbour (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Sydney Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Bondi Beach (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Manly Beach (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • Meeting and conference rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Sydney Boulevard Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Sydney Boulevard Hotel Rooms

Standard City King
FREE WIFI. Our City View rooms are located on the lower floors of the hotel with views of the city skyline. Consisting of 1 King Bed - 1 rollaway allowed, Sleeps 3. The amenities include In-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, individually A/C, Pay TV movies and refrigerator. Complimentary use of gymnasium, sauna & steam room.
Standard Habourside Twin
FREE WIFI. Our Standard Harbour Side rooms are located on the lower floors. They are comfortable rooms with partial views of Sydney Harbour. Consisting of 2 Double beds - 1 rollaway allowed, Sleeps 3. The amenities include In-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, individually A/C, Pay TV movies and refrigerator. Complimentary use of gymnasium, sauna & steam room.
Standard City Twin
FREE WIFI. Our City View rooms are located on the lower floors of the hotel with views of the city skyline. Consisting of 2 Double beds - 1 rollaway allowed, Sleeps 3. The amenities include In-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, individually A/C, Pay TV movies and refrigerator. Complimentary use of gymnasium, sauna & steam room.
Standard Habourside King
FREE WIFI. Our Standard Harbour Side rooms are located on the lower floors. They are comfortable rooms with partial views of Sydney Harbour. Consisting of 1 King bed - 1 rollaway allowed, Sleeps 3. The amenities include In-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, individually A/C, Pay TV movies and refrigerator. Complimentary use of gymnasium, sauna & steam room.
2. Emerald City View Room
FREE WiFi and daily Full Buffet Breakfast for two persons. Complimentary access to Gym, Sauna and Steam Room. Located on the high floors of the hotel with views of the city skyline. These rooms are designed with the business traveller in mind. No rollaways allowed. Sleeps 2.
Deluxe City King
These rooms have panoramic views of the city skyline. They are quite spacious with all the amenities you would expect from a deluxe hotel. consisting of 1 king bed. These include remote control TV, tea and coffee making facilities, individually controlled air conditioning, fully stocked mini bar, Pay TV movies, WIFI and complimentary access to the gym/sauna/steam room. 1 rollaway allowed. Sleeps 3.
Deluxe Harbour Twin
These rooms have sweeping views over Sydney Harbour. Spacious room with 2 Double Beds - 1 rollaway allowed. Sleeps 3. including all the amenities you would expect from a deluxe hotel. . These include remote control TV, tea and coffee making facilities, individually controlled air conditioning, refrigerator, Pay TV movies, and complimentary use to the gymnasium, sauna & steam room.
1. Emerald Harbour View Suite
FREE WiFi and daily Full Buffet Breakfast for two persons. Complimentary access to Gym, Sauna and Steam Room. Located on the top floors, it offers spectacular views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Stylish, striking dcor, on the upper floors. Main bedroom is adjoining with a lounge area and two separate bathroom with water jet bathtubs.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.6 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.2 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.6 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.6 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Customs House: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.9 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1 mi
  • Government House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.1 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.2 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.4 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.4 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sydney Boulevard Hotel features a variety of quality meeting rooms and function venues in Sydney to cater to your every need. From the Pillarless Grand Ballroom to the Boardrooms with natural light and open sun deck - these function venues in Sydney are the ideal place for meetings and events of any size. Located on the 25th Floor of the Hotel, the unique setting and relaxed venue--Twenty Five--offers spectacular panoramic views of Sydney Harbour and the city skyline and is the perfect wedding and private event venue.

Dining

The Vard Restaurant
The Vard Restaurant offering tapas- and sharing style menu, with a range of boutique beers as well as an extensive wine list. Modern Australian cuisine. Situated adjacent to the hotel lobby.
Stanley Street
Only 2 minute walk from hotel - over 30 restaurants

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wjuergen
Poway, California
Oct 20, 2012

Perfect for Sydney Explorations

This is a true four star-hotel with all the creature comfort in the rooms you can expect and at reasonable cost. We went back for a second stay after our month-long journey through eastern Australia. What we liked best was also its location. Many of Sydney's best-known sites are in walking distance (Royal Botanic Gardens, Opera House, Manly Ferry, The Rocks, etc#, and a stop of the city's hop-on hop-off tour busses is right in front. The only negatives were an incompetent and mostly absent concierge #No big problem, as the reception staff is very knowledgable and helpful#, and the fact that the restaurant was closed most of the time #Also not very important; there are many nice eateries in easy walking distance).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GMSwitzerland
Business
Switzerland
Jan 7, 2014

Five Nights During New Year's Eve 2013

They have a serious problem with their key system and just about every person has an issue with their key at some point. During our five night stay, my husband and I had to get our keys re-coded about five to six times. Upon asking the reception about the issue, they admitted that it was not just us, but a general problem that many guests have. I have seen multiple reviews stating this problem on various websites, so it seems to be a problem they have had for quite some time. The 25th floor restaurant has been permanently closed for a little more than six months, according to the reception. I do not think all of the booking websites have been updated with this information. They have a quaint gym, sauna, and steam room facility on the 24th floor, but the changing rooms and sauna are in need of a deep cleaning. The sauna is rather small and comfortably only fits 3 people (maybe 4 depending on seating arrangements), but when I was there (during the peak season), I was always the only one inside (went on 3 different days during different times of the day). The sauna did work well and got hot quickly. The rooms were clean and tidy, though the bathtub/shower area needed a bit of a re-do. The beds were soft and comfortable. The hotel is very close to hide park and the entrance to the botanical gardens. It is approximately a 1 km walk to the Kings Cross area, a 2 km walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House, and also a 2 km walk to Darling Harbour. It is within walking distance to places, but for those with a short stay in Sydney or a tight schedule, it may be better to stay closer to the Circular Quay area. We would have stayed closer, but we were there during NYE and this hotel was already a small fortune during our Dec 30 to Jan 4 stay), so it was the best option within the CBD area in terms of price and location. All in all, I rated it a 3 due to the ongoing problems with the key card, the lack of care to the steam room and changing room area, and a little miscommunication with the concierge. The morning of our flight home, we booked a taxi to take us to the airport later that afternoon. The man at the concierge that morning advised us that for an international flight during the time of the day that we were leaving would cost $35 to $45. Thirty minutes before our taxi was scheduled to arrive, the concierge told us that it would cost more than $50 to the international terminal and that it would be best to book a flat rate taxi for $50. I advised him of what the other staff member told me that morning and he said it was up to us if we wanted to take a regular taxi or a flat rate (which he could book for us), but that he was sure that it would be more than $50 if we did the regular meter taxi. I requested that he have a discussion with the staff because people should not be giving out different information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
czjana
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Good value

The Bayview Boulevard hotel is in a good location and had a great value in comparison to the hotels around it. It was nice and clean with great city views. The cons was that it was a bit of a walk to public transport, which was fine unless you walked around the city all day on foot and then wanted to get back to your hotel quickly. Breakfast was expensive and we missed choice of veggies or fruits as well as selection of hot drinks (for extra except for coffee) Overall a good hotel, would stay again if this was the best deal I could find and by a significantly more than some other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night life of King's Cross was really close to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phikl
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2010

Nice hotel for the money

Upon check in, we were told the room was not ready, but it would be room 812. We went out and about the city, and a rude clerk told us we were in a room on the 3rd floor facing traffic. I explained I had paid for a harbor view room, she did not really care. Went up to the 3rd floor room, no luggage there. Went to the concierge in the lobby to find out my luggage was in room 812. God only knows who could have went through it. Reluctantly, the rude front desk person, reassigned me to the correct room. Room was very nice, clean and the concierge was very helpful getting cabs and with our luggage....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford Street had alot of nice shops and was an enjoyable walk. Also a short walk to the downtown shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 13....13
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 12, 2014

Great location

Staff were awesome and very helpful. Location is close to convenience store. Walking distance to circular quay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street at strand pub...cheap eats

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
George B.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Was good until

The room was okay until we looked up and saw a cockroach on the wall. We slept with the lights on all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Made it to the opera house in 30 min walk one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikey C
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

first Visit to Sydney

To be honest i couldn't find fault with the hotel it served it's purpose, but I was very disappointed to learn that no shuttle bus service was available from the airport to the hotel, even though e - bookers advertising for the hotel stated that there was! Having flown from Ireland, the last thing i wanted to do was walk up and down the concourse looking for the shuttle bus. I had to resort to a taxi and was charged an extortionate price. (Aust dollars 54). When leaving the hotel for the airport to meet a 09.25 flight, the concierge stated that the shuttle bus service was unreliable and I would be better off getting a taxi. At least he only charged me Aust dollars 36! Shame really, because i only picked the hotel for this service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dakshina M.
Business
Regina
Apr 6, 2015

Pleasure

Old looking rooms. Bathrooms need upgrading. TV channels and size very disappointing. Not worth the money paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashes Disaster
Business
Leicester, UK
Jan 10, 2014

Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Great location at a good price. We stayed here for the duration of the 5th Ashes test, the SCG is within walking distance as are Circular Quay, The Rocks, George St & the sightseeing Sydney bus stops right outside. Because our departure flight was late in the evening provision was made for us to shower etc before leaving. If pub culture is more your thing The Strand Hotel is straight across the road, great food, good selection of beers all at prices lower than the Sydney average. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again or in recommending it to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strand Hotel immediately opposite offers good food at very reasonable prices as well as a good selection of beers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScanMan81
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 6, 2014

great location for botanical gardens, opera house, harbor

Great location within walking distance to downtown, the botanical gardens, Sydney opera house/bridge, Sydney harbor and oxford street clubs. Rooms are good size. However, if you haven't been to Australia before, realize you must use your room key to turn on power to the room and take the room key out when you leave kills all the power as well. This means your air conditioner, phone chargers etc....will not be powered. becomes difficult when you have multiple people staying in one room and needing multiple keys. Fitness center was small but worked ok. Has steam room and sauna. Weight room lacks equipment but has a great view from the top floor. free water. There are a few restaurants and coffee shops in the lobby. Grocery store access the street as well as several rental car locations. Shuttles available to and from the airport for $14 aud but must be paid in cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbor, Sydney Bridge, Sydney Botanical gardens, Oxford street clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alad
Business
Wiltshire, UK
Mar 24, 2014

Situated in between all the main areas but beware hilly walks

The hotel is fairly well situated to explore all of the centre of Sydney being around 10 minutes walk of 3 train stations. However, if you find walking difficult, you should be aware that it is situated in a lower level than most of the rest of the city, which we found surprisingly hilly. This means that in every direction the walk was up hill and to both Kings X and Oxford St, very steep. Having said that there are buses that stop outside, but train was our much preferred transport. The hotel is of a good standard and our room on the 6th floor was spacious, with a king sized bed and a decent view of the harbour bridge in the distance. The staff were helpful and courteous and our room was cleaned well daily. They used to have a highly recommended restaurant on the 25th floor but that has now closed and in its place is a very small bistro bar on the ground floor. We ate there one night and had a very pleasant meal but wouldn't want to eat there every night. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend if you want access to all of the city, but if only staying a few days and just wanting to do the tourist things, you may be better staying a little closer to the harbours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying a week it's worth getting the weekly travel pass to take advantage of Sydney's excellent transport system. Available from the kiosk by the hotel for A$63 it includes all trains, buses and ferries and even included a 2 hour train journey to the Blue Mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top