$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

4 stars
View map of 90 William Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2011

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rishi
Business
London
Feb 16, 2014

Great location and breathtaking harbour side views

We had booked 2 rooms with harbour side views and requested early check in if possible. We got to hotel at 8 and were greeted very well by the reception staff. Although rooms were not ready, they promised to get them ready as soon as they could. We were given keys to gym so we could freshen ourselves after a long flight. We left to do some sightseeing and returned after 12. Rooms were not ready yet but within 15 mins or so we got the rooms. Rooms were next to each other on the 18th floor with breathtaking views. Rooms were large with nice bathroom and all amenities one would need eg. Kettle, iron, fridge etc. A short while later, there was a knock on the door and we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne as the trip was to celebrate my mums 70th birthday. Not sure how they got that information. We had a perfect stay there for 4 nights. We didn't have breakfast included but there are plenty of eateries nearby including a supermarket next door with a coffee shop. The breakfast in hotel was quite expensive. Wifi is free through the hotel which is great. There is no swimming pool or proper bar although the small restaurant on ground floor does serve some alcoholic drinks. Check out was brilliant as the concierge picked up our luggage and ordered us a cab to take us to the cruise port and loaded the car. When we got down, we were all set to go. Would highly recommend this hotel for its great location( easy walk to sydney harbour, shopping, darling harbour and less than 5 mins to kings cross area, also many restaurants nearby on Stanley street) and breathtaking harbour views on high floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley street had restaurants of various cuisines....loved the Thai, Italian and Indian

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashes Disaster
Business
Leicester, UK
Jan 10, 2014

Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Great location at a good price. We stayed here for the duration of the 5th Ashes test, the SCG is within walking distance as are Circular Quay, The Rocks, George St & the sightseeing Sydney bus stops right outside. Because our departure flight was late in the evening provision was made for us to shower etc before leaving. If pub culture is more your thing The Strand Hotel is straight across the road, great food, good selection of beers all at prices lower than the Sydney average. Wouldn't hesitate in staying here again or in recommending it to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Strand Hotel immediately opposite offers good food at very reasonable prices as well as a good selection of beers

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GMSwitzerland
Business
Switzerland
Jan 7, 2014

Five Nights During New Year's Eve 2013

They have a serious problem with their key system and just about every person has an issue with their key at some point. During our five night stay, my husband and I had to get our keys re-coded about five to six times. Upon asking the reception about the issue, they admitted that it was not just us, but a general problem that many guests have. I have seen multiple reviews stating this problem on various websites, so it seems to be a problem they have had for quite some time. The 25th floor restaurant has been permanently closed for a little more than six months, according to the reception. I do not think all of the booking websites have been updated with this information. They have a quaint gym, sauna, and steam room facility on the 24th floor, but the changing rooms and sauna are in need of a deep cleaning. The sauna is rather small and comfortably only fits 3 people (maybe 4 depending on seating arrangements), but when I was there (during the peak season), I was always the only one inside (went on 3 different days during different times of the day). The sauna did work well and got hot quickly. The rooms were clean and tidy, though the bathtub/shower area needed a bit of a re-do. The beds were soft and comfortable. The hotel is very close to hide park and the entrance to the botanical gardens. It is approximately a 1 km walk to the Kings Cross area, a 2 km walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House, and also a 2 km walk to Darling Harbour. It is within walking distance to places, but for those with a short stay in Sydney or a tight schedule, it may be better to stay closer to the Circular Quay area. We would have stayed closer, but we were there during NYE and this hotel was already a small fortune during our Dec 30 to Jan 4 stay), so it was the best option within the CBD area in terms of price and location. All in all, I rated it a 3 due to the ongoing problems with the key card, the lack of care to the steam room and changing room area, and a little miscommunication with the concierge. The morning of our flight home, we booked a taxi to take us to the airport later that afternoon. The man at the concierge that morning advised us that for an international flight during the time of the day that we were leaving would cost $35 to $45. Thirty minutes before our taxi was scheduled to arrive, the concierge told us that it would cost more than $50 to the international terminal and that it would be best to book a flat rate taxi for $50. I advised him of what the other staff member told me that morning and he said it was up to us if we wanted to take a regular taxi or a flat rate (which he could book for us), but that he was sure that it would be more than $50 if we did the regular meter taxi. I requested that he have a discussion with the staff because people should not be giving out different information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny Ali
Business
Pinner, Middx, UK
Nov 26, 2013

Great value

The executive double room on the 17th floor was extremely spacious and comfortable with a magnificent view over the park to the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House. The staff were always cheerful and very helpful. This hotel was a good base for our sightseeing trip and very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry's just across the road is great for coffee and breakfast

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tringster 1
Business
Romford, UK
Nov 10, 2013

Room with a view

Our 5 night stay at the Boulevard met and exceeded our expectations on a number of levels, whilst not quite there on others. After a long, tiring journey, were kept waiting far too long at check in, but this was made up by the unprompted offer of an upgraded harbour view room on the 16th floor. Wow, the view was splendid, exactly as shown on their advertising. We even saw a firework display from our room, amazing. The hotel is in a good location, nearby to Hyde Park and the Australian Museum, whilst enjoying good transport links via the Train and Bus services (be aware that should you arrive via the Airport Link train, Museum station doesn't have either lifts or escalators to reach street level, a problem if you have heavy luggage. Use the next station, St James, as it does have a lift). The restaurant, "The Vard", served a good variation of quality food, at a reasonable price and the service excellent. A Woolworth's convenience store is close by for any bits and bobs. On the downside, we had a "bug" issue in the room, that was not dealt with as quickly as it should have. Despite reporting it to reception in the morning, it still wasn't resolved (or even looked at!) on our return early evening. It did get resolved eventually, but the attitude of the reception staff was poor as they were insinuating that we'd not reported it. Frankly, I found that insulting. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay at the Boulevard and would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to tour the sites via the city tour buses, they stop right outside the hotel. You can board either the city tour or the Bondi Beach tours.

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Welsh Shaun
Business
North Wales
Oct 30, 2013

Our visit to Sydney.

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, and the view from the back of the hotel towards the opera house, was the best I've had in any hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the road to a very nice pub.

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dumpling
Business
Devon England
Oct 25, 2013

Good located hotel

Stayed on the 20th floor fantastic views of the city. 20 minutes walk from Darling Harbour. Short bus ride to Circular Quay. Helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heatherbell
Business
United Kingdom
Apr 14, 2013

Good hotel

A nice friendly hotel with very helpful staff and in a great location. Within walking distance of the city centre and bus stops right outside the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great breakfasts at a reasonable price visit Harry's Cafe right next door.

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Mom 2013
Business
South Carolina.
Apr 10, 2013

Good hotel to stay in

Good location. Walking distance to darling harbor. Many airlines crew stay here. Easy access to not high price restaurants and attractions. Rooms are big and comfortable. Staff are very friendly. Absolutely will recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling all
Business
Jefferson GA
Feb 11, 2013

Good location

Great location. The hop on off was right outside the hotel easy on and off. Very centrally located and a food value for the price. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top