$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Exceptional service

As always Menzies offered great location and fantastic service! even remembered me from the last... See full review

  • Lovely.legs
  • Aug 16, 2014
Short break in Sydney

Had a great time at this hotel. 10 out of 10 for comfort, efficiency and position. Also good value... See full review

  • Happy journeyers
  • Apr 1, 2014
Reasonably-priced four-star hotel in downtown Sydney

After almost 50 years, the Menzies still retains charm at its four-star location in downtown Sydney. From the glitzy lobby to its spare--albeit cozy--quarters, guests relish in the comforts of home near Sydney's best attractions. A short walk and travelers arrive at Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Fit for business and leisure travelers, the Menzies Sydney offers lively public areas and serene guest accommodations.

Highlights
  • Extensive business services
  • Five restaurants and bars
  • Central location near attractions and public transportation
Rooms

Standard rooms are decorated in blonde wood with blue accessories. Beds with sparkling white duvets and cozy bathrooms draw solo travelers and couples looking for simple comfort.  The hotel's 446 rooms and suites offer garden and city views, plus a work station with Internet access (fees apply).  Adjoining rooms are available for families.

Features

The signature Parkside restaurant has a memorable ambience, featuring dark wood, high ceilings and leather couches. The casual Carrington Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests may also visit an espresso bar, wine bar or lively sports bar serving light snacks, local brews and sweet treats.

 

The hotel has indoor heated pool where guest can swim laps, as well as a solarium and fitness center. This AAA, four-star hotel also offers parking and Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sydney Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (.5 mi/. 8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Star City Casino (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Sydney Harbour (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Business
  • 14 convention rooms
  • Secretarial services
  • Business center with a fax machine
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8653 151.2067
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 13.10, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Menzies Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Menzies Sydney Rooms

2 Db beds Sup Garden S
Superior Room 2 Double Beds Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts views over Wynyard Park. Up to 2 adults and 2 children.
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room 1 King Bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard King room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed.
1 Qn bed Std
Standard Room 1 Queen Bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 adults. No Foldout Bed.
2 Db beds Std
Standard Room 2 Double Beds. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what Novotel is all about. Located in the north wing of the hotel, it comes with all the usual facilities and features high ceilings. Up to 2 adults and 2 chi
1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
Superior Room 1 King Bed Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts Wynyard park views. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room 2 Single Beds. Well appointed guest room with two single beds, located at the back of the hotel facing Wynyard Lane. Boasts marble bathroom with bath and shower. Suitable for single travellers sharing a room. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed
1 Kg bed Std Garden S
Standard Room 1 King Bed Park View. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities, features a chic marble bathroom and offers pleasant views across Wynyard Park. U

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

CARRINGTON RESTAURANT
Join us for a sumptuous buffet breakfast every day in the heart of the Sydney CBD. Advantage Plus dining discount applies. Also available for corporate functions and groups. Please call to make a booking.
ONE FOUR RESTAURANT
One Four Restaurant presents modern Australian cuisine with an eclectic twist. Set in our ambient lobby this restaurant brings together vintage and modern interiors, with seasonal menus using fresh produce from Sydney and surrounding regions.
ONE FOUR ESPERSSO WINE BAR
The hotel's meeting place, where you can grab a quick coffee or unwind with a cocktail. Gourmet snacks served daily. The vibrant atmosphere makes the bar the perfect place for a relaxing after work drink or a place to simply enjoy the surroundings.
PIANO BAR
Unwind with a drink in our stylish Piano Bar while enjoying the relaxing sounds from our resident pianist. The intimate atmosphere is the ideal setting for a pre-dinner drink or after dinner nightcap. Pianist Thursday - Saturday, from 8pm til late.
SPORTERS BAR
Enjoy a delicious burger, pub style food and daily specials at Sporters Bar. With continuous screening of local and international televised sport we will ensure you won't miss any of the action.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 297
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzy11
Melbourne
Aug 11, 2014

Average hotel in great location

Great location - close to Wynyard Train Station and bus services and a short walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks. My only complaint would be that the room and bathroom weren't cleaned, or bed linen changed, during my 4 day stay (could see same stains on furniture that were there on arrival). There were also opened products in the mini bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stanman
melbourne
Jul 1, 2014

well serviced hotel

well serviced, good location, friendly staff, overall excellent presentation. only gripe I had was the silly way I had to use on my ipad and their wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My own person
Brisbane, Queensland
Mar 27, 2014

Fantasitc location - so close to the harbour

I will definitely be staying at The Menzies again. The room could do with an update but otherwise it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maccy Jeanne
Macclesfield South Australia
Mar 19, 2014

Love the old charm of it, but..........

I stayed over for two nights, Sunday and Monday. I loved that the hotel is old and it seems to embrace that without being worn out. Room was good and comfortable bed. I know I was a bit lazy and should have gone out for dinner etc, but this was convenient. Sunday night you were so very understaffed. Surely knowing that Sydney was being inundated with (what I heard) 16,000 women and you had a lot of them stay with you, wouldn't you have put more staff on. The tall girl was literally run off her feet. Service for breakfast the next day was terrible. This is all down in your restaurant on the ground floor. I was shown a table but no menu and then when I did get one didn't get served for a very long time even though the couple of staff weren't really run off their feet. One girl in particular, Emily, had particular delight in looking after tables she chose and completely ignoring others, mine included. I read a lot of the charming reviews before I went over and thought I would get much better than that. Being across the road from the railway station is an absolute bonus coming in from the airport, and also being within walking distance of The Rocks, Circular Quay and Wharf 4 where I went to see a play, is great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bar at the end of Wharf 4 in the Theatre District. The walk is excellent, the sights old buildings married in with new ones, The Opera House, all that, just loved it. Walking back after the show at about 8.30 p.m. a single woman, I went a different way and not once did I feel threatened or scared, and it was St Patricks Day!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tex1
Australia
Feb 27, 2014

Hotel Stay

Generally a good place to stay. Central to town and most activities. I thought it sad that a major hotel would close it's only bar at 10 PM. They even set the clock fast and closed 10 minutes before the stated time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliKate
California, USA
Feb 3, 2014

Shop til you drop

A fantastic Location by Wynyard Station, with tons of shopping very close by! Walking distance t many key tourist points including Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, QVB, etc. A great location to head out for a run and see many of the sights every day. Internet was very expensive and inconsistent in keeping a connection, but at least they had it at all. The room looked clean at first glance, but vents, under furniture and the ceiling of the bath were not. There were not very many plugs to charge items. I had to unplug lamps to charge my mobile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

QVB, Westfield, Pitt Street Mall, The Strand and lots more are just a few quick block a way! Check them all out and enjoy the fabulous stores! Also, Wynyard Station is directly across the street and there is lots of food and shopping there for a quick shopping run.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doug BT
Eastbourne, England
Jan 9, 2014

Generally very good

I graded the staff as ordinary but this was really an average of only 2 for room cleaning and 4 for the concierge. The hotel is very well located and I enjoyed stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jillian's Junkets
Brisbane, Australia
Dec 28, 2013

Jillian

Had a lovely stay here - the location doesn't get much better; the food [considering a refurbishment of one of the two kitchens is underway] is very good; the room may be a bit tired but we were upgraded into an enormous room with views of Wynyard Park and all effort was made by the hotel to make sure the rooms were clean, well serviced and comfortable. The only down side is a very very slow internet access for in-room, media room and front desk. The management really does need to get in an IT company to upgrade their system. Other than that, no problems with The Menzies at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty much all of the CBD from Circular Quay to Queen Victoria Building is an easy stroll, but if you feel the need, the 555 bus which is free and runs along George Street is perfect for those who want to get on and off at will and just enjoy the attractions, dinning or shopping

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JennH
WA
Jul 30, 2013

Average stay

Very average and tired looking hotel. The bed is comfortable though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
remlap
Redcliffe, Queensland
Jul 7, 2013

Great location!

Across the road from Wynyard Rail, and therefore within easy access fro Sydney Airport's Air Train, with good staff, and in the centre of "downtown", The Menzies is a convenient place to stay. A touch expensive, but worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Cloudy Bay Fish Company for a top class fish meal, and some good tasting wine! An easy two to three block walk along George Street then to the Westfield Shopping Centre on Pitt Street Mall (fifth floor). A little hard to find, but well worth the effort!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search