$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
View map of 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Feb 1, 2010

Awesome location!

Taxis are expensive in Sydney. This is an ideal location for taking the train from the airport. It is also within a few blocks of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. I felt safe walking alone at night. It would have been nice to have more hotel staff to help with luggage etc. Also, there is a charge for internet use...silly. Otherwise, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Great location, awesome breakfast

Overview: Just ok for the price. Walking distance to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay (Opera House). Really nice full breakfast buffet. Problems: We had a little issue with a bug in our room on our last night and the night manager took care of it personally. He also compensated us fairly for the experience. Pros: -Great Location -Nice included breakfast -Good staff Cons: -Pricey compared to alternatives in the area -Costly internet options, however 30 mins/15mB of free wifi in lobby every 24 hours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max Brennans chocolate shop right around the corner. Its amazing!!!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dylbert
Business
Clare, Ireland
Nov 12, 2014

Sydney stopover

Great centrally located hotel in the heart of Sydney. There is a train station and bus stop just opposite the front door, also plenty of popular attractions within a ten minute walk of here. Very attractive lobby on arrival efficient service and well maintained rooms, would stay again when in Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To Opera house and harbour bridge and ferries

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter F.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

convenient location

Hotel was conveniently located right above Wynyard station. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary Clinton buddy
Business
New york
Feb 27, 2014

Go ahead

Menzies is a very good hotel in all aspects. Only wifi was offered free half hr. Everyday,should be more. Under Wyndham station, you find shopping, Woolworth,eateries and all.best spot to settle and unwind. Walking to harbor,and all fun things. Go ahead and book, Brian at the front desk was best. Fashionable area.they book your airport shuttle for you.store bags while you visit other places around.good people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a bus to anywhere.from here.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr Galletas
Business
Bunbury, Australia
Jan 27, 2013

An Excellent Stay in Sydney

I had to change my reservation more than once and the Menzies was more than accommodating! Location was perfect. We didn't have a car and was able to come directly from the airport using the train and the tram stopped directly in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the highlights of Sydney and the biggest compliment goes to the concierge, Andrew! He helped us in many ways including assisting us with a bellman to take a bag that needed to be shipped across Australia. A must stay in Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2008

Good location

The Menzies was located right outside the train stop from the airport and it was within walking distance of Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The hotel was nice except for all of the smokers crowding the entry. This worked very well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Aug 8, 2008

Great Location. Good Value

The Menzies is one of the old-charm hotels located in the heart of the city. This used to be the best hotel in Sydney but as time goes by some upgrades are obviously needed. Overall, very friendly staff, unbeatable location--a 15 minute walk from Sydney Opera House--and a good value for money make this hotel a great find in such a busy and expensive Metropolis as Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is half way between the Opera House and the Aquarium.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Batavia
May 25, 2008

great location

The Menzies is centrally located within walking distance of most of the sights. The rail station was just across the street (underground) so transportation to and from the airport is quick and easy. The hotel is clean, the room was relatively large and the bathroom was nice. My room faced the interior courtyard so there was nothing to look at except walls but the location and price made this a hotel I would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't like walking the buses are convenient.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Open Water Diver
Business
Denver Co
Sep 27, 2011

Menzies, Sydney, Australia

They have the best beds I have every slept on. I meant to find out what they were made out of and by who so that I could buy one at home. I will have to contact them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top