$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Exceptional service

As always Menzies offered great location and fantastic service! even remembered me from the last... See full review

  • Lovely.legs
  • Aug 16, 2014
Short break in Sydney

Had a great time at this hotel. 10 out of 10 for comfort, efficiency and position. Also good value... See full review

  • Happy journeyers
  • Apr 1, 2014
Reasonably-priced four-star hotel in downtown Sydney

After almost 50 years, the Menzies still retains charm at its four-star location in downtown Sydney. From the glitzy lobby to its spare--albeit cozy--quarters, guests relish in the comforts of home near Sydney's best attractions. A short walk and travelers arrive at Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Fit for business and leisure travelers, the Menzies Sydney offers lively public areas and serene guest accommodations.

Highlights
  • Extensive business services
  • Five restaurants and bars
  • Central location near attractions and public transportation
Rooms

Standard rooms are decorated in blonde wood with blue accessories. Beds with sparkling white duvets and cozy bathrooms draw solo travelers and couples looking for simple comfort.  The hotel's 446 rooms and suites offer garden and city views, plus a work station with Internet access (fees apply).  Adjoining rooms are available for families.

Features

The signature Parkside restaurant has a memorable ambience, featuring dark wood, high ceilings and leather couches. The casual Carrington Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests may also visit an espresso bar, wine bar or lively sports bar serving light snacks, local brews and sweet treats.

 

The hotel has indoor heated pool where guest can swim laps, as well as a solarium and fitness center. This AAA, four-star hotel also offers parking and Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sydney Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (.5 mi/. 8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Star City Casino (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Sydney Harbour (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Business
  • 14 convention rooms
  • Secretarial services
  • Business center with a fax machine
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8653 151.2067
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 13.10, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Menzies Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Menzies Sydney Rooms

1 Qn bed Std
Standard one Queen-size bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 adults. No Foldout Bed.
2 Db beds Sup Garden S
Superior 2 Double Beds Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts views over Wynyard Park. Up to 2 adults and 2 children. No ro
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 kingsize bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard King room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed.
2 Db beds Std
Standard 2 Double size Beds. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what Novotel is all about. Located in the north wing of the hotel, it comes with all the usual facilities and features high ceilings. Up to 2 adults and 2 chi
1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
Superior 1 King Bed Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts Wynyard park views. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
1 Kg bed Std Garden S
Standard 1 King Bed Park View. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities, features a chic marble bathroom and offers pleasant views across Wynyard Park. Up to
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 Single Beds. Well appointed guest room with two single beds, located at the back of the hotel facing Wynyard Lane. Boasts marble bathroom with bath and shower. Suitable for single travellers sharing a room. Up to 2 Adults. No foldou

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

CARRINGTON RESTAURANT
Join us for a sumptuous buffet breakfast every day in the heart of the Sydney CBD. Advantage Plus dining discount applies. Also available for corporate functions and groups. Please call to make a booking.
ONE FOUR RESTAURANT
One Four Restaurant presents modern Australian cuisine with an eclectic twist. Set in our ambient lobby this restaurant brings together vintage and modern interiors, with seasonal menus using fresh produce from Sydney and surrounding regions.
ONE FOUR ESPERSSO WINE BAR
The hotel's meeting place, where you can grab a quick coffee or unwind with a cocktail. Gourmet snacks served daily. The vibrant atmosphere makes the bar the perfect place for a relaxing after work drink or a place to simply enjoy the surroundings.
PIANO BAR
Unwind with a drink in our stylish Piano Bar while enjoying the relaxing sounds from our resident pianist. The intimate atmosphere is the ideal setting for a pre-dinner drink or after dinner nightcap. Pianist Thursday - Saturday, from 8pm til late.
SPORTERS BAR
Enjoy a delicious burger, pub style food and daily specials at Sporters Bar. With continuous screening of local and international televised sport we will ensure you won't miss any of the action.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr Galletas
Bunbury, Australia
Jan 27, 2013

An Excellent Stay in Sydney

I had to change my reservation more than once and the Menzies was more than accommodating! Location was perfect. We didn't have a car and was able to come directly from the airport using the train and the tram stopped directly in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the highlights of Sydney and the biggest compliment goes to the concierge, Andrew! He helped us in many ways including assisting us with a bellman to take a bag that needed to be shipped across Australia. A must stay in Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary Clinton buddy
New york
Feb 27, 2014

Go ahead

Menzies is a very good hotel in all aspects. Only wifi was offered free half hr. Everyday,should be more. Under Wyndham station, you find shopping, Woolworth,eateries and all.best spot to settle and unwind. Walking to harbor,and all fun things. Go ahead and book, Brian at the front desk was best. Fashionable area.they book your airport shuttle for you.store bags while you visit other places around.good people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a bus to anywhere.from here.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Texas
Dec 26, 2009

Excellent hotel

Elegant hotel in a very good location. Near Circular Quay, Opera House, Botanical Gardens, NSW Art Museum and almost anything you might need, shopping wise. Hotel staff is very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trevor
Not Provided
Dec 28, 2010

Dear HotelClub, My wife and I,

Dear HotelClub, My wife and I, with so many relatives in Sydney and at the time of the year when we stayed there, could not avail ourselves of the many services that we found were available to us. However, we found the bell boys very helpful and cooperative. The staff member who checked us in, was not entirely au fait with the voucher we had received from your organisation and, the queen bed (my wife and I dislike them immensely) was not made properly in the first couple of nights but, the young lady who was responsible was very slight. Wi-Fi is going to be the new revolution. To charge for it is silly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig
Not Provided
Dec 16, 2009

Not the most stunning hotel in

Not the most stunning hotel in the world but location wise (most important thing to me) was brilliant. Decent hotel room in the heart of Sydney for $150 per night is excellent value for money. Didnt like the shower though. Wouldnt be good for elderly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MICHAEL
Not Provided
Mar 27, 2010

Excellant location. We arrived

Excellant location. We arrived on late night flight and was so easy to get train to station and then just cross road to Hotel. Getting around Sydney by bus,train or ferry was all close by. Room was a good size and clean. Staff very friendly. A great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea
Not Provided
Jan 24, 2010

We were very happy with everything

We were very happy with everything and would like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammy
Not Provided
Jan 10, 2010

The hotel room was very good looking,

The hotel room was very good looking, the service was always friendly and helpful. Highly recommended hotel if you are wanting to do all the local things in Sydney like walk to the harbour bridge, catch a ferry to Taronga Zoo, see the opera house, shopping etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Dec 10, 2009

I had booked for a Triple Room

I had booked for a Triple Room as there were 3 of us and on arrival was advised that we had a King Size Bed Room,but was offered a 2 Double Bed Room, which I accepted. The only problem was that the two boys 15 and 16 years old are both very tall 6ft and 6ft 3in and their legs were hanging over the bed. The room was spacious, and when I mentioned it to the Front Desk (Julev - very friendly staff member) mentioned that he could try and shift us, but since we were all settled in, I thanked him and decline the move, he did mention that a section of the hotel was being refitted with new airconditioning. Our stay was very enjoyable and the staff were very friendly, in particular Julev and Luke at the Front Desk and the concierge staff. I would recommend all my friends to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 18, 2010

Great location and price. Nice

Great location and price. Nice rooms, clean and tidy but a little small. Very good indoor pool and spa area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiona
Not Provided
May 9, 2010

Very helpful and courteous staff.

Very helpful and courteous staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search