$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Exceptional service

As always Menzies offered great location and fantastic service! even remembered me from the last... See full review

  • Lovely.legs
  • Aug 16, 2014
Short break in Sydney

Had a great time at this hotel. 10 out of 10 for comfort, efficiency and position. Also good value... See full review

  • Happy journeyers
  • Apr 1, 2014
Reasonably-priced four-star hotel in downtown Sydney

After almost 50 years, the Menzies still retains charm at its four-star location in downtown Sydney. From the glitzy lobby to its spare--albeit cozy--quarters, guests relish in the comforts of home near Sydney's best attractions. A short walk and travelers arrive at Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Fit for business and leisure travelers, the Menzies Sydney offers lively public areas and serene guest accommodations.

Highlights
  • Extensive business services
  • Five restaurants and bars
  • Central location near attractions and public transportation
Rooms

Standard rooms are decorated in blonde wood with blue accessories. Beds with sparkling white duvets and cozy bathrooms draw solo travelers and couples looking for simple comfort.  The hotel's 446 rooms and suites offer garden and city views, plus a work station with Internet access (fees apply).  Adjoining rooms are available for families.

Features

The signature Parkside restaurant has a memorable ambience, featuring dark wood, high ceilings and leather couches. The casual Carrington Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests may also visit an espresso bar, wine bar or lively sports bar serving light snacks, local brews and sweet treats.

 

The hotel has indoor heated pool where guest can swim laps, as well as a solarium and fitness center. This AAA, four-star hotel also offers parking and Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sydney Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (.5 mi/. 8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Star City Casino (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Sydney Harbour (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Business
  • 14 convention rooms
  • Secretarial services
  • Business center with a fax machine
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8653 151.2067
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 13.10, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Menzies Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Menzies Sydney Rooms

1 Qn bed Std
Standard one Queen-size bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 adults. No Foldout Bed.
2 Db beds Sup Garden S
Superior 2 Double Beds Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts views over Wynyard Park. Up to 2 adults and 2 children. No ro
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 kingsize bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard King room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed.
2 Db beds Std
Standard 2 Double size Beds. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what Novotel is all about. Located in the north wing of the hotel, it comes with all the usual facilities and features high ceilings. Up to 2 adults and 2 chi
1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
Superior 1 King Bed Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts Wynyard park views. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
1 Kg bed Std Garden S
Standard 1 King Bed Park View. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities, features a chic marble bathroom and offers pleasant views across Wynyard Park. Up to
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 Single Beds. Well appointed guest room with two single beds, located at the back of the hotel facing Wynyard Lane. Boasts marble bathroom with bath and shower. Suitable for single travellers sharing a room. Up to 2 Adults. No foldou

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

CARRINGTON RESTAURANT
Join us for a sumptuous buffet breakfast every day in the heart of the Sydney CBD. Advantage Plus dining discount applies. Also available for corporate functions and groups. Please call to make a booking.
ONE FOUR RESTAURANT
One Four Restaurant presents modern Australian cuisine with an eclectic twist. Set in our ambient lobby this restaurant brings together vintage and modern interiors, with seasonal menus using fresh produce from Sydney and surrounding regions.
ONE FOUR ESPERSSO WINE BAR
The hotel's meeting place, where you can grab a quick coffee or unwind with a cocktail. Gourmet snacks served daily. The vibrant atmosphere makes the bar the perfect place for a relaxing after work drink or a place to simply enjoy the surroundings.
PIANO BAR
Unwind with a drink in our stylish Piano Bar while enjoying the relaxing sounds from our resident pianist. The intimate atmosphere is the ideal setting for a pre-dinner drink or after dinner nightcap. Pianist Thursday - Saturday, from 8pm til late.
SPORTERS BAR
Enjoy a delicious burger, pub style food and daily specials at Sporters Bar. With continuous screening of local and international televised sport we will ensure you won't miss any of the action.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr Galletas
Bunbury, Australia
Jan 27, 2013

An Excellent Stay in Sydney

I had to change my reservation more than once and the Menzies was more than accommodating! Location was perfect. We didn't have a car and was able to come directly from the airport using the train and the tram stopped directly in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the highlights of Sydney and the biggest compliment goes to the concierge, Andrew! He helped us in many ways including assisting us with a bellman to take a bag that needed to be shipped across Australia. A must stay in Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jan 29, 2010

its a beautifull hotel with the

its a beautifull hotel with the perfect location for the price you pay you excpect to have beautiful comfartable beds the beds were absolutly uncomfortable you get out of bed in the morning your back is hurting apart from that its nice and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn
Not Provided
Apr 24, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent

This hotel is in an excellent location being in the middle of the cbd and about 15 mins walk from the Quay and The Rocks. Also easily accessable from the airport as it is opposite wynyard station. We stayed in the north wing and while it was not luzurious, the room was a fair size, the bed was comfortable and it was clean. If you can get a room in this hotel at a reasonable price I would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil
Not Provided
Nov 30, 2009

This is an old hotel incompetently

This is an old hotel incompetently managed by Accor. Reception staff attitude is terrible. Parking is a real chore dealing with separate company poorly located. It has all the usual Accor problems. poor attitude, service and poor value for money on what could be a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 6, 2009

Overall a pretty good place to

Overall a pretty good place to stay. Quieter than some city accommodation, yet quite close to shopping, restaurants etc. Rooms reasonable size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 21, 2009

Dirty cups, dusty bathroom floor,

Dirty cups, dusty bathroom floor, mouldy tiles. Incorrect info given regarding parking - told we could stay in carpark from friday morning until 'whenever we left sydney on saturday' for $33. parking was 24 hours for $33, then extra charge for time stayed over that amount. Breakfast good, but seating ridiculous - 3 people sat at a table for 8. We (7 of us) had to walk through another room to find somewhere to sit - breakfast cold by the time we sat down to eat. Coffee machine at breakfast constantly breaking down and juice kept no where near the rest of the food. Credit card had to be swiped twice as they LOST the first one, no breakfast voucher given until asked for, no parking voucher given until asked for. Consierge was great - no faults with those boys at all. With the 2 rooms booked, there were 4 towels for 7 people. Our room (for three) had 2 tea bags, 4 sugars and 3 coffees, yet the mini bar was so full of alcohol I could barely fit my bottle of water in there to chill it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eileen
Not Provided
Mar 28, 2009

The bathroom had not been cleaned

The bathroom had not been cleaned upon arrival, which was a bit of a surprise...perhaps an oversight. When brought to their attention, it was rectified quickly. The next day there were cockroaches (2), another surprise. Not really worth the tariff but the location was very convenient and the staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter
Not Provided
Oct 11, 2010

This well situated hotel is a

This well situated hotel is a "grand old lady" with lovely reception rooms however rooms are needing some modernisation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 9, 2010

Check-in was slow because of i

Check-in was slow because of inadequately trained receptionist and check-out was also time-consuming. Rooms could do with refurbishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn
Not Provided
Jun 16, 2010

We had some difficulties with

We had some difficulties with our accommodation. We had an extra rollaway in our room which was not requested or required and had to have it removed. They accidentally cancelled our second room on our second stay and gave us an upgrade to a room where the phone did not work and could not be fixed. They offered us another room which we declined as we had unpacked for our three day stay. Our room cards did not work so they had to be redone. The rooms were quite ordinary and old for what we paid. I was disappointed. The location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Mar 18, 2010

Well located average hotel. There

Well located average hotel. There are better hotels nearby for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search