$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
View map of 14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LINJEL
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Very Nice Stay

Stayed one night after a cruise. Room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Very convenient to the Rocks and business district. Free shuttle ran just around the corner from the hotel and subway to airport was just across the street. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are expensive. Free shuttle is just around the corner and subway is just across the street.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian John
Business
Ontario
Feb 5, 2012

Two Day Visit to Sidney

Good location and opportunities around this hotel for good restaurants & food courts. Circular Quay nearby and many good shops on the way to the Quay However, the rooms were very small and needed some TLC. Cost vs Value -- below par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants at Circular Quay -- excellent position to view the Sidney Harbour Bridge and Ferries coming in and out of the harbour.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blazer
Business
South Bend, IN
Dec 20, 2011

Great Location

It's hard to beat this location. The Wynyard train station and market is across the street. George street is 1 block East. Ciccular Quay and the Rocks are only 4 to 5 blocks North..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Open Water Diver
Business
Denver Co
Sep 27, 2011

Menzies, Sydney, Australia

They have the best beds I have every slept on. I meant to find out what they were made out of and by who so that I could buy one at home. I will have to contact them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joji
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Hotel in Auckland Airport

It so close to the International Termainal that after I missed a flight to Sydney, I was able to catch the next one. The Breakfast was expensive and no option for coffe & toast, or light breakfast. Only Buffet. When you're not that hungry, you don't want to spend $35 for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ontario
May 3, 2011

location, location, location!!

we stayed at the Menzies for a total of 5 nights and were delighted with the easy access to everywhere. There is a direct airport link to Wynyard station which opens directly across the road.There was a slight misunderstanding - [...] that breakfast was included - this was not the case so make sure as it can be pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 27, 2011

Great location, awesome breakfast

Overview: Just ok for the price. Walking distance to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay (Opera House). Really nice full breakfast buffet. Problems: We had a little issue with a bug in our room on our last night and the night manager took care of it personally. He also compensated us fairly for the experience. Pros: -Great Location -Nice included breakfast -Good staff Cons: -Pricey compared to alternatives in the area -Costly internet options, however 30 mins/15mB of free wifi in lobby every 24 hours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Max Brennans chocolate shop right around the corner. Its amazing!!!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, Maryland.
Jan 2, 2011

The Really Ugly!

The Menzies Sydney Hotel was aA huge disappointment. Avoid staying at this hotel if at all possible. Some of the following items were reasons why I feel it is important to recommend NOT staying at this hotel: 1. My imital request for a reservation was for a room with 2 beds (size didn't matter). upon check-in I was advised they didn't have a room available with 2 beds (I was traveling with my 21 year old son). I asked if a roll-away bed was available, and eventually they agreed to put one in the room. 2. Upon our return back to the hotel the same day, but later on that evening I decided to stop by the front desk to ask a question. It was at that time I was informed it was against hotel policy to put a second bed in our room due to the size of the room (fire hazard). So, I asked (again) to put us in a larger room with 2 beds. Evenutally, they did. 3. When we entered the "bigger" room, I smelt a horrible odor. I knew immediately it was mold. When I entered the bathroom I smelled the shower curtain and confirmed the smell indeed was coming from the molded shower curtain. 4. I contacted the front desk to demank a "clearner" room. Eventually, we got another room. I found "hair" on the bathroom floor. The room was dark due to poor lightening. The TV was less than 12 inches. The remote control for the TV was the worse I've ever seen (in poor condition). 5. The maid left a wet towel on my bed instead of taking it. 6. The fee for inroom WIFI is AUD 11 (close to USD12) for the first hour. But, if you go to the lobby, you get 30 mins ONLY of free WIFI. 7. Breakfast is AUD 30/person. The food was horrible! There is no cook to make fresh eggs, so I doubt the scramble eggs they put on the buffet were made fresh (they looked and tasted like powdered eggs). 8. Hotel had no information availabe for New Years Eve. I had to search myself although I asked the staff for assistance. 9. No Airport Link schedules were made available although the hotel is right across the street from the metro to the Airport. We ended missing the stop on the train because when I asked someone at the ticket window in the metro, he forgot to mention I needed to change trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

None. Expensive!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookline, MA
Nov 6, 2010

The Menzies Sydney

The hotel is in a perfect and quiet location, yet centrally located with old European gracious charm. I used it to catch up on jet lag sleep before moving on to Macquarie University for a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to George Street shopping and to Sydney Opera House and Circular Quay,which connects to many points on Sydney Harbor.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 17, 2010

The Menzies, Sydney

We stayed two nights at the Menzies at the end of a 10-day trip to Australia. The Menzies is well situated in Sydney, close to Darling Harbour and the Central Quay. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. However, the hotel needs updating. The lobby is deceptively up-to-date while the guest rooms are small and a bit tired-looking. The bathroom was tiny and poorly lit, with one bath towel per person (no hand towels). The hotel also seemed understaffed, with considerable waits on line at the front desk. The bellman doubled as the concierge and, although helpful, was not as well informed about restaurants, etc. nearby. We give the hotel 3.5 stars, compared with other hotels we have visited, and while the price was reasonable, we likely would stay elsewhere on our next visit to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour is a 10-minute walk and contains many restaurants (all cuisines) as well as attractions, such as the Sydney Aquarium, the Wildlife Center, and the Maritime Museum.

Back to menu Return to top