$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
63 reviews
Go ahead

Menzies is a very good hotel in all aspects. Only wifi was offered free half hr. Everyday,should be... See full review

  • Hillary Clinton buddy
  • Feb 27, 2014
Stopover with a cruise

Very convenient location to downtown and transportation. Very helpful staff. See full review

  • Marcus Americanus
  • Feb 3, 2013
Reasonably-priced four-star hotel in downtown Sydney

After almost 50 years, the Menzies still retains charm at its four-star location in downtown Sydney. From the glitzy lobby to its spare--albeit cozy--quarters, guests relish in the comforts of home near Sydney's best attractions. A short walk and travelers arrive at Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Fit for business and leisure travelers, the Menzies Sydney offers lively public areas and serene guest accommodations.

Highlights
  • Extensive business services
  • Five restaurants and bars
  • Central location near attractions and public transportation
Rooms

Standard rooms are decorated in blonde wood with blue accessories. Beds with sparkling white duvets and cozy bathrooms draw solo travelers and couples looking for simple comfort.  The hotel's 446 rooms and suites offer garden and city views, plus a work station with Internet access (fees apply).  Adjoining rooms are available for families.

Features

The signature Parkside restaurant has a memorable ambience, featuring dark wood, high ceilings and leather couches. The casual Carrington Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests may also visit an espresso bar, wine bar or lively sports bar serving light snacks, local brews and sweet treats.

 

The hotel has indoor heated pool where guest can swim laps, as well as a solarium and fitness center. This AAA, four-star hotel also offers parking and Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sydney Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (.5 mi/. 8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Star City Casino (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Sydney Harbour (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Business
  • 14 convention rooms
  • Secretarial services
  • Business center with a fax machine
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8653 151.2067
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 13.10, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Menzies Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Menzies Sydney Rooms

1 Qn bed Std
Standard one Queen-size bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 adults. No Foldout Bed.
2 Db beds Sup Garden S
Superior 2 Double Beds Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts views over Wynyard Park. Up to 2 adults and 2 children. No ro
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 kingsize bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard King room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed.
2 Db beds Std
Standard 2 Double size Beds. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what Novotel is all about. Located in the north wing of the hotel, it comes with all the usual facilities and features high ceilings. Up to 2 adults and 2 chi
1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
Superior 1 King Bed Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts Wynyard park views. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
1 Kg bed Std Garden S
Standard 1 King Bed Park View. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities, features a chic marble bathroom and offers pleasant views across Wynyard Park. Up to
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 Single Beds. Well appointed guest room with two single beds, located at the back of the hotel facing Wynyard Lane. Boasts marble bathroom with bath and shower. Suitable for single travellers sharing a room. Up to 2 Adults. No foldou

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

CARRINGTON RESTAURANT
Join us for a sumptuous buffet breakfast every day in the heart of the Sydney CBD. Advantage Plus dining discount applies. Also available for corporate functions and groups. Please call to make a booking.
ONE FOUR RESTAURANT
One Four Restaurant presents modern Australian cuisine with an eclectic twist. Set in our ambient lobby this restaurant brings together vintage and modern interiors, with seasonal menus using fresh produce from Sydney and surrounding regions.
ONE FOUR ESPERSSO WINE BAR
The hotel's meeting place, where you can grab a quick coffee or unwind with a cocktail. Gourmet snacks served daily. The vibrant atmosphere makes the bar the perfect place for a relaxing after work drink or a place to simply enjoy the surroundings.
PIANO BAR
Unwind with a drink in our stylish Piano Bar while enjoying the relaxing sounds from our resident pianist. The intimate atmosphere is the ideal setting for a pre-dinner drink or after dinner nightcap. Pianist Thursday - Saturday, from 8pm til late.
SPORTERS BAR
Enjoy a delicious burger, pub style food and daily specials at Sporters Bar. With continuous screening of local and international televised sport we will ensure you won't miss any of the action.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcus Americanus
MSP
Feb 3, 2013

Stopover with a cruise

Very convenient location to downtown and transportation. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sr Galletas
Bunbury, Australia
Jan 27, 2013

An Excellent Stay in Sydney

I had to change my reservation more than once and the Menzies was more than accommodating! Location was perfect. We didn't have a car and was able to come directly from the airport using the train and the tram stopped directly in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to all of the highlights of Sydney and the biggest compliment goes to the concierge, Andrew! He helped us in many ways including assisting us with a bellman to take a bag that needed to be shipped across Australia. A must stay in Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wilbar
Cardiff UK
Jan 20, 2013

Disappointing

Our room had not been cleaned properly when we checked in (sticky glass marks on at least 3 surfaces) so we went out for an hour to give them the opportunity to sort it out. On our return, nothing had been done so we were moved to a "better room" - I would hate to see worse. If I hadn't paid in advance for the room, I would have left. Two bottles on water were left on the bedside tables which I assumed were complimentary - had I drunk it, we would have been charged $8 per bottle! Don't mind paying over the odds, but this was a complete rip off and made us very wary of the charges for anything else. The rooms were last decorated in the 1980s and the furniture was way past its best. Find somewhere else to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Sydney harbour bridge walk -well worth it.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cloud Sales
Business
Hong Kong
Jan 13, 2013

close but wanting

The Menzies is in the perfect location to a new visitor to Sydney. It is literally across the street from a nice train station and park that connects to the airport while still being in the middle of the city. The staff are pleasant though i didn't get the wake up call the last day. The hotel is quite old. By itself that is not negative but the impact is visible. WIFI is ridiculously expensive for any hotel in the world. That alone makes the hotel questionable as a choice for any business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
none
England
Jun 3, 2012

good value

We had previously stayed at this hotel & had a classier room, the room this time was a bit shabby & in need of a re-furb, but it was large & comfortable although very little wardrobe space. It was not the room as advertised on-line. The staff were very helpful & room service meals were excellent. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ash29
New York, NY, USA
Feb 27, 2012

quick trip to sydney

i was in sydney for only a few days, never been before, so i wanted somewhere close to the main attractions of the city. the hotel itself is in a business district, but it's all within alking distance to the main sights, like the opera house and darling harbor. the room was a little small but perfect for a single traveller, the bathroom was a little awkwardly placed but not a big issue. the room was very clean. i didn't go to the pool or any of the bars or restaurants. the staff was very helpful when i needed to get train timetables. there is free internet in the lobby for 30 min and the price in your room is very high, but this seems very typical for australia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LINJEL
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Very Nice Stay

Stayed one night after a cruise. Room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Very convenient to the Rocks and business district. Free shuttle ran just around the corner from the hotel and subway to airport was just across the street. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis are expensive. Free shuttle is just around the corner and subway is just across the street.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canadian John
Ontario
Feb 5, 2012

Two Day Visit to Sidney

Good location and opportunities around this hotel for good restaurants & food courts. Circular Quay nearby and many good shops on the way to the Quay However, the rooms were very small and needed some TLC. Cost vs Value -- below par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants at Circular Quay -- excellent position to view the Sidney Harbour Bridge and Ferries coming in and out of the harbour.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blazer
South Bend, IN
Dec 20, 2011

Great Location

It's hard to beat this location. The Wynyard train station and market is across the street. George street is 1 block East. Ciccular Quay and the Rocks are only 4 to 5 blocks North..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Open Water Diver
Denver Co
Sep 27, 2011

Menzies, Sydney, Australia

They have the best beds I have every slept on. I meant to find out what they were made out of and by who so that I could buy one at home. I will have to contact them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Open Water Diver
Denver Co
Sep 27, 2011

Menzies, Sydney, Australia

They have the best beds I have every slept on. I meant to find out what they were made out of and by who so that I could buy one at home. I will have to contact them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top