$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

The Menzies Sydney

4 stars
14 Carrington Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
63 reviews
Go ahead

Menzies is a very good hotel in all aspects. Only wifi was offered free half hr. Everyday,should be... See full review

  • Hillary Clinton buddy
  • Feb 27, 2014
Stopover with a cruise

Very convenient location to downtown and transportation. Very helpful staff. See full review

  • Marcus Americanus
  • Feb 3, 2013
Reasonably-priced four-star hotel in downtown Sydney

After almost 50 years, the Menzies still retains charm at its four-star location in downtown Sydney. From the glitzy lobby to its spare--albeit cozy--quarters, guests relish in the comforts of home near Sydney's best attractions. A short walk and travelers arrive at Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and the Royal Botanic Gardens. Fit for business and leisure travelers, the Menzies Sydney offers lively public areas and serene guest accommodations.

Highlights
  • Extensive business services
  • Five restaurants and bars
  • Central location near attractions and public transportation
Rooms

Standard rooms are decorated in blonde wood with blue accessories. Beds with sparkling white duvets and cozy bathrooms draw solo travelers and couples looking for simple comfort.  The hotel's 446 rooms and suites offer garden and city views, plus a work station with Internet access (fees apply).  Adjoining rooms are available for families.

Features

The signature Parkside restaurant has a memorable ambience, featuring dark wood, high ceilings and leather couches. The casual Carrington Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests may also visit an espresso bar, wine bar or lively sports bar serving light snacks, local brews and sweet treats.

 

The hotel has indoor heated pool where guest can swim laps, as well as a solarium and fitness center. This AAA, four-star hotel also offers parking and Internet access (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Wynyard Station (1 block)
  • Central Railway Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sydney Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
Attractions
  • The Rocks (.5 mi/. 8 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Star City Casino (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Sydney Harbour (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Business
  • 14 convention rooms
  • Secretarial services
  • Business center with a fax machine
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

The Menzies Sydney Rooms

1 Qn bed Std
Standard one Queen-size bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 adults. No Foldout Bed.
2 Db beds Sup Garden S
Superior 2 Double Beds Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts views over Wynyard Park. Up to 2 adults and 2 children. No ro
1 Kg bed Std
Standard Room with 1 kingsize bed. Choose comfort and space. Our standard King room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities with modern comfort and style. Up to 2 Adults. No foldout bed.
2 Db beds Std
Standard 2 Double size Beds. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what Novotel is all about. Located in the north wing of the hotel, it comes with all the usual facilities and features high ceilings. Up to 2 adults and 2 chi
1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
Superior 1 King Bed Park View. Enjoy work and quietness. Our superior room mixes modern décor, ergonomic comfort and high-end facilities. More spacious than a Standard room, it also boasts Wynyard park views. Up to 2 adults and 1 child.
1 Kg bed Std Garden S
Standard 1 King Bed Park View. Choose comfort and space. Our standard room is a great example of what The Menzies is all about. It comes with all the usual facilities, features a chic marble bathroom and offers pleasant views across Wynyard Park. Up to
2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with 2 Single Beds. Well appointed guest room with two single beds, located at the back of the hotel facing Wynyard Lane. Boasts marble bathroom with bath and shower. Suitable for single travellers sharing a room. Up to 2 Adults. No foldou

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Menzies Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

-33.8653 151.2067
Nearby airports
SYD, (SYD), 13.10, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.1 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.3 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.2 mi

Dining

CARRINGTON RESTAURANT
Join us for a sumptuous buffet breakfast every day in the heart of the Sydney CBD. Advantage Plus dining discount applies. Also available for corporate functions and groups. Please call to make a booking.
ONE FOUR RESTAURANT
One Four Restaurant presents modern Australian cuisine with an eclectic twist. Set in our ambient lobby this restaurant brings together vintage and modern interiors, with seasonal menus using fresh produce from Sydney and surrounding regions.
ONE FOUR ESPERSSO WINE BAR
The hotel's meeting place, where you can grab a quick coffee or unwind with a cocktail. Gourmet snacks served daily. The vibrant atmosphere makes the bar the perfect place for a relaxing after work drink or a place to simply enjoy the surroundings.
PIANO BAR
Unwind with a drink in our stylish Piano Bar while enjoying the relaxing sounds from our resident pianist. The intimate atmosphere is the ideal setting for a pre-dinner drink or after dinner nightcap. Pianist Thursday - Saturday, from 8pm til late.
SPORTERS BAR
Enjoy a delicious burger, pub style food and daily specials at Sporters Bar. With continuous screening of local and international televised sport we will ensure you won't miss any of the action.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for The Menzies Sydney

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richard Harlow
fort madison,iowa
Mar 24, 2014

this is a dump

this is a dump. hot,small,smelly,noisy,rooms. also hard to find this place....stay away at all cost. I would not suggest to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Annapolis, Maryland.
Jan 2, 2011

The Really Ugly!

The Menzies Sydney Hotel was aA huge disappointment. Avoid staying at this hotel if at all possible. Some of the following items were reasons why I feel it is important to recommend NOT staying at this hotel: 1. My imital request for a reservation was for a room with 2 beds (size didn't matter). upon check-in I was advised they didn't have a room available with 2 beds (I was traveling with my 21 year old son). I asked if a roll-away bed was available, and eventually they agreed to put one in the room. 2. Upon our return back to the hotel the same day, but later on that evening I decided to stop by the front desk to ask a question. It was at that time I was informed it was against hotel policy to put a second bed in our room due to the size of the room (fire hazard). So, I asked (again) to put us in a larger room with 2 beds. Evenutally, they did. 3. When we entered the "bigger" room, I smelt a horrible odor. I knew immediately it was mold. When I entered the bathroom I smelled the shower curtain and confirmed the smell indeed was coming from the molded shower curtain. 4. I contacted the front desk to demank a "clearner" room. Eventually, we got another room. I found "hair" on the bathroom floor. The room was dark due to poor lightening. The TV was less than 12 inches. The remote control for the TV was the worse I've ever seen (in poor condition). 5. The maid left a wet towel on my bed instead of taking it. 6. The fee for inroom WIFI is AUD 11 (close to USD12) for the first hour. But, if you go to the lobby, you get 30 mins ONLY of free WIFI. 7. Breakfast is AUD 30/person. The food was horrible! There is no cook to make fresh eggs, so I doubt the scramble eggs they put on the buffet were made fresh (they looked and tasted like powdered eggs). 8. Hotel had no information availabe for New Years Eve. I had to search myself although I asked the staff for assistance. 9. No Airport Link schedules were made available although the hotel is right across the street from the metro to the Airport. We ended missing the stop on the train because when I asked someone at the ticket window in the metro, he forgot to mention I needed to change trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

None. Expensive!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Annapolis, Maryland.
Jan 2, 2011

The Really Ugly!

The Menzies Sydney Hotel was aA huge disappointment. Avoid staying at this hotel if at all possible. Some of the following items were reasons why I feel it is important to recommend NOT staying at this hotel: 1. My imital request for a reservation was for a room with 2 beds (size didn't matter). upon check-in I was advised they didn't have a room available with 2 beds (I was traveling with my 21 year old son). I asked if a roll-away bed was available, and eventually they agreed to put one in the room. 2. Upon our return back to the hotel the same day, but later on that evening I decided to stop by the front desk to ask a question. It was at that time I was informed it was against hotel policy to put a second bed in our room due to the size of the room (fire hazard). So, I asked (again) to put us in a larger room with 2 beds. Evenutally, they did. 3. When we entered the "bigger" room, I smelt a horrible odor. I knew immediately it was mold. When I entered the bathroom I smelled the shower curtain and confirmed the smell indeed was coming from the molded shower curtain. 4. I contacted the front desk to demank a "clearner" room. Eventually, we got another room. I found "hair" on the bathroom floor. The room was dark due to poor lightening. The TV was less than 12 inches. The remote control for the TV was the worse I've ever seen (in poor condition). 5. The maid left a wet towel on my bed instead of taking it. 6. The fee for inroom WIFI is AUD 11 (close to USD12) for the first hour. But, if you go to the lobby, you get 30 mins ONLY of free WIFI. 7. Breakfast is AUD 30/person. The food was horrible! There is no cook to make fresh eggs, so I doubt the scramble eggs they put on the buffet were made fresh (they looked and tasted like powdered eggs). 8. Hotel had no information availabe for New Years Eve. I had to search myself although I asked the staff for assistance. 9. No Airport Link schedules were made available although the hotel is right across the street from the metro to the Airport. We ended missing the stop on the train because when I asked someone at the ticket window in the metro, he forgot to mention I needed to change trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

None. Expensive!

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa B G
Los Angeles
May 30, 2013

not 4 stars

This was not a good value and would never be a place I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cloud Sales
Business
Hong Kong
Jan 13, 2013

close but wanting

The Menzies is in the perfect location to a new visitor to Sydney. It is literally across the street from a nice train station and park that connects to the airport while still being in the middle of the city. The staff are pleasant though i didn't get the wake up call the last day. The hotel is quite old. By itself that is not negative but the impact is visible. WIFI is ridiculously expensive for any hotel in the world. That alone makes the hotel questionable as a choice for any business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel

I stayed one night. I was checked into a "superior" room.(Not even close) It was smoking. I asked for non-smoking. My next room was older and had dirty carpet, the tv remot didn't work, and the hair dryer died. After looking on line I paid $300 dollars and what fealt like a standard room was going for $170. The service was standard when they had time but the employees were too busy to help sufficiently. I was very disappointed and would not stay at this hotel chain again without extensive positive feedback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the Rocks there is a fantastic Wine tasting and Pairing bar/restaurant called Wine Odyssey Australia off of Argyle. Give it a try.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wilbar
Cardiff UK
Jan 20, 2013

Disappointing

Our room had not been cleaned properly when we checked in (sticky glass marks on at least 3 surfaces) so we went out for an hour to give them the opportunity to sort it out. On our return, nothing had been done so we were moved to a "better room" - I would hate to see worse. If I hadn't paid in advance for the room, I would have left. Two bottles on water were left on the bedside tables which I assumed were complimentary - had I drunk it, we would have been charged $8 per bottle! Don't mind paying over the odds, but this was a complete rip off and made us very wary of the charges for anything else. The rooms were last decorated in the 1980s and the furniture was way past its best. Find somewhere else to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Sydney harbour bridge walk -well worth it.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Oct 26, 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel

I stayed one night. I was checked into a "superior" room.(Not even close) It was smoking. I asked for non-smoking. My next room was older and had dirty carpet, the tv remot didn't work, and the hair dryer died. After looking on line I paid $300 dollars and what fealt like a standard room was going for $170. The service was standard when they had time but the employees were too busy to help sufficiently. I was very disappointed and would not stay at this hotel chain again without extensive positive feedback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the Rocks there is a fantastic Wine tasting and Pairing bar/restaurant called Wine Odyssey Australia off of Argyle. Give it a try.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Oct 17, 2010

The Menzies, Sydney

We stayed two nights at the Menzies at the end of a 10-day trip to Australia. The Menzies is well situated in Sydney, close to Darling Harbour and the Central Quay. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. However, the hotel needs updating. The lobby is deceptively up-to-date while the guest rooms are small and a bit tired-looking. The bathroom was tiny and poorly lit, with one bath towel per person (no hand towels). The hotel also seemed understaffed, with considerable waits on line at the front desk. The bellman doubled as the concierge and, although helpful, was not as well informed about restaurants, etc. nearby. We give the hotel 3.5 stars, compared with other hotels we have visited, and while the price was reasonable, we likely would stay elsewhere on our next visit to Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour is a 10-minute walk and contains many restaurants (all cuisines) as well as attractions, such as the Sydney Aquarium, the Wildlife Center, and the Maritime Museum.

Review of The Menzies Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, Mi
Jun 11, 2010

Good location but to cheap for the price

Room was small. No easy chair. Took 1/2 hour and second phone call to get a bucket of ice. TV was Small. Found food in hotel extremly expensive. Had just stayed in Christchurch at the Crown Plazza for about the same cost and had everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top