$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

5 stars
30 Pitt Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
98 reviews
vacation stay

Excellent hotel. Near the harbour and easy walk to the Opera house and Sydney Harbour Bridge.... See full review

  • BCR1792
  • Feb 16, 2014
Superb in every way

I have stayed here before - 3 years ago - and was keen to stay at the Marriott Circular Quay once... See full review

  • DENIS COMPTON
  • Jan 13, 2014
Ease and comfort overlooking Sydney?s majestic Harbour

The Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay makes arriving in Sydney a breeze. Guest quarters are steps from the Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the bustling Rocks district. Most rooms offer brilliant views of the harbour and twinkling city lights. Complete your day with a massage at the day spa or take a dip in the hotel's indoor pool before retreating to Marriott's signature bedding. Valet parking is also on offer for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Amazing location in the heart of Sydney
  • Some rooms have views of the city and harbour
  • Three food and beverage outlets and 24-hour room service
Rooms

The hotel's 563 rooms and suites afford all of the necessary comforts. Guests choose between a king or two double beds with 300-thread count linens and fluffy duvets. Color schemes promise hints of the tropics, with bright pinks, red highlights and emerald walls. The newly renovated room product offers the latest in-room technology with flat-screen televisions, high speed Internet access, iPod docking stations, efficient workspace, air conditioning, newspaper delivery, 24-hour room service and mini-fridge. Splurge on a room with a Harbour Bridge or Opera House view.

Features

The colorful, multi-tiered lobby houses Macquarie Lounge, a coffee house where globetrotting guests sip coffee and tea. Icons Brasserie, a modern Australian restaurant serving three meals a day and known for their seafood buffet is also located in the buzzing lobby. Customs House Bar has been serving drinks, lunch and dinner for the past 162 years. This pub draws locals who crowd the outdoor area for pints with a Harbour view. The hotel's Level 4 Health Club houses a gym, full day spa, indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Transportation
  • CityRail and buses stop at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
  • Sydney Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Sydney International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Sydney Royal Botanical Gardens (1 block)
  • The Rocks (1 block)
  • Sydney Opera House (1 block)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Harbour Bridge (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 18 meeting rooms with 15,177 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
  • Fax and printing  capabilities (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet and Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8629 151.2095
Area served
Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney, (SYD), 13.00, KM, N;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.5 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.2 mi

Dining

Icons Brasserie
Be tempted by our fresh-from-the-market seafood buffet, or order a delectable a la carte option from our Sydney restaurant's appealing menu.
Customs House Bar
This renowned 162-year-old pub is a local favorite for catching up over a pint or a bite, known for its relaxing outdoor bar scenic views
Macquarie Lounge
Sip on coffee or cocktails and enjoy entertainment in our gorgeously designed lobby lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flying steve
pompano beach, florida, u.s.a.
Sep 29, 2009

supurb location...

without question,this was a great place to stay. the location got you where you'd want to go in syd- ney...either by foot, ferry, or taxi, quickly, and reasonably. we stayed two weekends, and during the five weekdays in between, rented a car to tour the blue mountains and hunter valley wine region. even find- ing our way back into the city, and back to the marriott was simple. you could even see it from the harbour bridge... in my pre-trip research, i'd read some reviews on this property, and others in sydney. while most were good, and emphasized the great location, there were a few nit-picking negatives...slow elevators, indifferent service, and such. we found none of these. in fact, the concierge helped us several times...even solving one fairly serious problem...a misplaced passport. the only review-complaint of substance...that the fee to use the internet was a bit high...was easily overcome by visiting a popular fast-food chain just around the corner. in fact, that restaurant offered free internet at all its locations...throughout australia. as for the marriott's internet charge...one place we stayed in the hunter valley...charged almost TWICE that amount!!! so much for unreasonable... during our two stays, we had direct contact not only with the concierge, but with staff from housekeeping, maintenance, bell and front people, and front desk staff...all were perfect. they did so much to facilitate everything we needed, and wanted to do, and did so in a friendly way, quickly, and efficiently. there were zero defects. as for value...this marriott was at the top of everyplace we stayed on this trip...beating out even some moderate chain 'motels' we stayed in while out on 'drive-a-bout.' when, not if, i return to australia, i'll look to the sydney harbor marriott as my first choice...and probably not bother to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it's a short walk to almost everything you'll need.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom dan
Detroit Michigan
Nov 7, 2009

awesome location

this hotel was awesome. There were 22 of us that stayed there. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It's close to everything. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go with no worries. Definately worth the price. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked good. There isn't alot to do for kids but we were busy most of the time so it really didn't matter to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Nov 6, 2009

Wonderful location

Great location. Easy access for shopping and a walking distance to the opera. Hotel restaurant is located in the back and is not easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DENIS COMPTON
WIRRAL, UK
Jan 13, 2014

Superb in every way

I have stayed here before - 3 years ago - and was keen to stay at the Marriott Circular Quay once again. I was not disappointed. The location is perfect for tourism - so much is within walking distance. The rooms are great and the staff very helpful. We enjoyed the pool and gym and the first-class service in the Exec Lounge. Thanks - I will be back for sure. John Parr

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Rocks. The Garrison Museum is also a must - it gives great insight into the penal colony's foundation and history.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom dan
Detroit Michigan
Nov 7, 2009

awesome location

this hotel was awesome. There were 22 of us that stayed there. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It's close to everything. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go with no worries. Definately worth the price. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked good. There isn't alot to do for kids but we were busy most of the time so it really didn't matter to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 29, 2008

A greate experience

The location is one of the best in Sydney. It's one of the closest hotels to the Harbor Bridge and Opera House. The transportation is extremely convenient. It is located at the Circular Quay, this is the hub station for the Ferries, this alone would make your travel experience much more pleasant (I am sure you will ride the ferries a lot during your stay in Sydney). The train station is a few minutes walk (you can take train to airport and many other places). Buses are everywhere. The room is very clean, I chose 2 double-beds to accommodate two of us and my daughter (child).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Novato, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Great view and centrally locatred

This hotel has a superb location within walking distance of the many sites we wanted to see: Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, Harbor Bridge, the Rocks and Circular Quay for lots of restaurants and the train/subway station was nearby as well. It was great to wake up every morning and look at the gorgeous view of the Opera House - we could have spent hours watching the ferries pull in and out of Circular Quay. Great hotel, great stay, great location! We normally wouldn't have stayed at this hotel but thanks to the great discounted price from ORBITZ we were able to afford it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was worth it to pay a little more for a great location - we stayed at a different hotel in Sydney earlier in our trip -- it was a great hotel but much farther from most of the attractions. If you can afford it, pay a little more and save yourselves some time to enjoy this beautiful city.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky, USA
May 26, 2011

What a stay!

I traveled with 3 friends and myself, all girls from America in their 20's. We felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. The concierge became our best friend. He helped us with travel tips and helped us book flights and the whale watching boat tour. The rates were affordable and it was nice and close to the Harbor so we didn't have to spend money using the train all the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harbor was a very short walk so you don't have to bother with the train. There is plenty to do at the Harbor, you could easily spend 3 days in Circular Quay without getting bored.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton
Oct 4, 2008

Great Sydney Location

Centrally located Marriott Hotel with everything you'd expect from Marriott. Stylish room, wonderful sheets & pillows. Great view of the Opera House. Easy walk to shopping, 30 min bus ride to Bondi Beach, 5 min to Opera House. Lots of restaurants. Hotel breakfast buffet was excellent & people couldn't be more friendly. Lobby bar made a great martini for a reasonable price. Seafood dinner buffet had a fantastic assortment of food, for a lot less $$ than area restaurants of similar quality. Fitness center actually had enough free weight equipment to have a good workout. Concierge was fantastic in helping plan our stay. Taxi to the airport: 29. AD, about 20 minutes. Nearby Ocean room restaurant: overlooks opera house. Fantastic tasting menu for 90 AD, well worth the price. Best meal I had down under. A few more bucks, but was well worth it for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you'd want from department store to Couture. Watch out for the duty free shops. Same merchandise (not the boutiques) from Polo etc. at lower prices 2 blocks away at the downtown shopping. Opera House: small theater tickets @29.00 7PM for performances not sold out- little theater box office at the opera house.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, Michigan
Nov 9, 2009

Excellent location and services

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location could not have been better and the atmosphere was top notch. If I were to ever visit Sydney again, this is the hotel I would definitely stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Right outside the hotel, take bus 555 (free transportation) to the Petty Market. Great place to buy souveniers and very reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top