$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Nov 23, 2009

Sydney Marriott

Great location and a good deal [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cynthri
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Jan 30, 2010

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circula

The hotel service was wonderful. Location couldn't get better. Food in the executive lounge was wonderful. All transportation necessary to see the sites was Sydney were within a two minute walk. Hotel was safe and secure. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen HB
Business
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2008

well located

The Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay in Sydney Harbor is well located, and we were glad that we selected it given how convenient it was to all the sites of central Sydney. The room was standard and a little tight, but nicely appointed. We were three. The beds were full size, so better for one person, but very comfortable nevertheless. We did not have a view of the harbor, only of buildings nearby, and it was very expensive we thought to have what we assume was the basic room. The bathroom was modern and up-to-date. The pool was nice, but small, and there was a big terrace area where one could sit outside just off from the pool, exercise and spa area - but very concrete style. The lobby with restaurants, etc, was nice and always with an air of activity. We did not go to the restaurants in the hotel, but found many along the harborfront and in the area around the hotel. Sydney was a great city to visit, so, again, the hotel was well located to take in all the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perth, WA
Jan 16, 2010

Five star location!

Can't beat the location. Harbour, ferries, train, Opera House, Botanical Gardens, Bridge Climb, The Rocks and shopping all within a few minutes walk (or less!). The staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TennTraveler
Business
Knoxville TN
Oct 25, 2009

A great stay in Sydney

We spent three nights in Sydney. The hotel is very convenient to the Quay and is close to all sights and attractions. This is a standard Marriott hotel - good but not outstanding personal service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana and Ken
Business
Oklahoma City
May 16, 2011

Couldn't be nicer!

Easy walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, The Rocks, The Harbor Bridge and great restaurants and shopping. Also, a short block to trains, ferries and bus system. The room was large, with 2 queen beds, large bathroom, extra large flat panel TV. Great view of downtown for the price we paid. After flying all night, they let us check in early morning which was a huge blessing - and didn't charge us any more. All the staff, from the front desk, concierge, cleaning staff and bell men were all very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the eating places in the office building on Alfred, near Pitt during the day for less expensive breakfast and lunches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 3, 2010

Decent hotel in a premium location

This trip was combination business and personal.- Room was older/outdated, but they had ads in the elevators promoting their upcoming renovations (good idea!)- For the price (average ~$310/night), I expected something better having stayed at a Hilton in Adelaide (which was cheaper and had much nicer amenities). Overall, however, the price was reasonable given other hotel options in the area.- They have a pretty sweet executive lounge on the 30th floor (pretty good views of the Harbor Bridge and the Opera House) to which I somehow got access (some kind of promotion Marriott was running). This was invaluable as they have free snacks in the evening (you could make a nice appetizer or even a meal out of it if you weren't too hungry) as well as beer, wine, soft drinks, tea/coffee. Breakfast here was also quite decent, and considering the prices in Sydney, this saved us a lot of money. Also, free wi-fi here (otherwise AUD $20/day).- The lobby staff were very friendly and recommended several good options for dining and touristing around. [...] was particularly friendly and helpful.- Location is quite nice, as it's close to the harbor and the Opera House.Bottom line: if you have gold or better status with Marriott, this is a good deal. Otherwise, might want to check out other hotels in the area if you want better amenities (until they go through their renovations anyway).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Australian Hotel for their pizzas (kangaroo was our favorite), beer (a large selection of local/regional brews), and dessert (the banana/chocolate/nuts pizza is very good). Metro Pub (I think that's the name) is good for people-watching (they're on the second floor of a corner building on a pretty busy street two blocks away from the hotel), and having a few beers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peripatetic Peg
Business
Edina, MN
Jul 23, 2010

Sydney Marriott Harbour review

The room was very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, unbeatable location. The one concern I had involved one of the bellman, who tried to direct me to an apparently unlicensed cab driver, at a higher than usual rate to the airport. The bellman said that the driver would take me to the airport for the same price as the other cabs. When I asked what that price was, he said $55. Knowing that the rate was higher than what I had paid coming in to the Marriott, I declined. I ended up paying $33 plus tip. I assume the bellman had worked out a deal to get a kickback from the cab driver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Oct 28, 2009

Good hotel, excellent location but...

On arrival we were impressed by the elegant lobby and friendly staff. Unfortunately we were given a room which looked nice as we stepped through the door but closer examination revealed tired old furnishings, a shabby carpet and, worst of all, a significant amount of mold around the shower. To the hotel's great credit they reacted immediately and professionally to our complaint. Within a few minutes the bellman returned and moved us to another room which was identical in initial appearance except that everything was immaculate. The following day we received a letter of apology and a nice bottle of wine - all was forgiven. If it hadn't been for the poor initial room assignment we would have given this hotel a very high rating for a 4 star property. We have no hesitation recommending it and would like to stay there again ourselves. The location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The custom House on Circular Quay is home to two good restaurants. An informal bistro on the ground floor and the more formal "Cafe Sydney" which is more up-market and has a great view of the bridge and harbour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tazzie
Business
denver co
Feb 18, 2010

Great location

Great location and they let us check in early. So nice after a 15 hour flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top