$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

5 stars
30 Pitt Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
great location

First time in Sydney. It was in the prefect location. Close to The Rocks, Sydney harbor and metro.... See full review

  • travel0100
  • Sep 1, 2014
vacation stay

Excellent hotel. Near the harbour and easy walk to the Opera house and Sydney Harbour Bridge.... See full review

  • BCR1792
  • Feb 16, 2014
Ease and comfort overlooking Sydney?s majestic Harbour

The Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay makes arriving in Sydney a breeze. Guest quarters are steps from the Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House and the bustling Rocks district. Most rooms offer brilliant views of the harbour and twinkling city lights. Complete your day with a massage at the day spa or take a dip in the hotel's indoor pool before retreating to Marriott's signature bedding. Valet parking is also on offer for added convenience.

Highlights
  • Amazing location in the heart of Sydney
  • Some rooms have views of the city and harbour
  • Three food and beverage outlets and 24-hour room service
Rooms

The hotel's 563 rooms and suites afford all of the necessary comforts. Guests choose between a king or two double beds with 300-thread count linens and fluffy duvets. Color schemes promise hints of the tropics, with bright pinks, red highlights and emerald walls. The newly renovated room product offers the latest in-room technology with flat-screen televisions, high speed Internet access, iPod docking stations, efficient workspace, air conditioning, newspaper delivery, 24-hour room service and mini-fridge. Splurge on a room with a Harbour Bridge or Opera House view.

Features

The colorful, multi-tiered lobby houses Macquarie Lounge, a coffee house where globetrotting guests sip coffee and tea. Icons Brasserie, a modern Australian restaurant serving three meals a day and known for their seafood buffet is also located in the buzzing lobby. Customs House Bar has been serving drinks, lunch and dinner for the past 162 years. This pub draws locals who crowd the outdoor area for pints with a Harbour view. The hotel's Level 4 Health Club houses a gym, full day spa, indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Transportation
  • CityRail and buses stop at Circular Quay
  • Ferries depart from Circular Quay
  • Sydney Convention Center (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Sydney International Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
Attractions
  • Sydney Royal Botanical Gardens (1 block)
  • The Rocks (1 block)
  • Sydney Opera House (1 block)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sydney Harbour Bridge (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • 18 meeting rooms with 15,177 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
  • Fax and printing  capabilities (fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet and Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8629 151.2095
Area served
Sydney
Nearby airports
Sydney, (SYD), 13.00, KM, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Customs House: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Government House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.6 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.9 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.5 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • University of Sydney: 2.1 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 2.2 mi

Dining

Icons Brasserie
Be tempted by our fresh-from-the-market seafood buffet, or order a delectable a la carte option from our Sydney restaurant's appealing menu.
Customs House Bar
This renowned 162-year-old pub is a local favorite for catching up over a pint or a bite, known for its relaxing outdoor bar scenic views
Macquarie Lounge
Sip on coffee or cocktails and enjoy entertainment in our gorgeously designed lobby lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Aug 26, 2009

Sydney Harbour Marriott

An extraordinary location, in an extraordinary city but the hotel is ordinary with ordinary service and less than helpful, or friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Second Visit
Texas
Nov 24, 2010

a bit tired

Bell Captain knew our luggage missed us at the airport and were waiting for delivery so we could change and go to the Opera House for a show @ 7:30 pm. When luggage was delivered to the hotel we were informed at 6:45 pm ours would be up in 7-10 minutes. When my husband left 15 minutes later to go to the Opera House to get the Will Call tickets, our bags were sitting in the lobby. It took another 10 minutes and a phone call to get our luggage. EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE, esp. since they knew we were waiting on a time crunch. Our room was very warm, even when the thermostat was set at 10*C. Had to make that call as well. Hair dryer affixed to the wall of the bathroom didn't work. We were told to look for one in 'a drawer'. Seems like they could fix the bath one, or leave a note of where to find the back up one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Wolfies on the opposite side of the waterfront from the Opera House. Wonderful food and service.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uraheep
Rapid City, SD
Jan 31, 2010

Staff was great

Close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale Florida
Nov 21, 2010

Very Expensive Hotel, very Bad T.V.

It was an ok room but the daily rate was a lot higher than I wanted to pay. The TV was an old cathodray TV. I this day and age should be an LED or LCD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Opera House and Sydney Brigde

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling AD
St Louis, MO
Aug 1, 2011

Sydney Harbour Marriott

Great location but we did not have a view of the Harbour from the hotel. Good room for adults but there was no bathtub for the kids--did not know you had to request that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to the famous Sydney landmarks. Good spot if you are being a true tourist.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 5, 2010

Underwhelming, but great location

Unremarkable in every way. I expected much more, but having said that it was not by any means a bad experience -- just underwhelming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Nov 3, 2010

Decent hotel in a premium location

This trip was combination business and personal.- Room was older/outdated, but they had ads in the elevators promoting their upcoming renovations (good idea!)- For the price (average ~$310/night), I expected something better having stayed at a Hilton in Adelaide (which was cheaper and had much nicer amenities). Overall, however, the price was reasonable given other hotel options in the area.- They have a pretty sweet executive lounge on the 30th floor (pretty good views of the Harbor Bridge and the Opera House) to which I somehow got access (some kind of promotion Marriott was running). This was invaluable as they have free snacks in the evening (you could make a nice appetizer or even a meal out of it if you weren't too hungry) as well as beer, wine, soft drinks, tea/coffee. Breakfast here was also quite decent, and considering the prices in Sydney, this saved us a lot of money. Also, free wi-fi here (otherwise AUD $20/day).- The lobby staff were very friendly and recommended several good options for dining and touristing around. [...] was particularly friendly and helpful.- Location is quite nice, as it's close to the harbor and the Opera House.Bottom line: if you have gold or better status with Marriott, this is a good deal. Otherwise, might want to check out other hotels in the area if you want better amenities (until they go through their renovations anyway).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Australian Hotel for their pizzas (kangaroo was our favorite), beer (a large selection of local/regional brews), and dessert (the banana/chocolate/nuts pizza is very good). Metro Pub (I think that's the name) is good for people-watching (they're on the second floor of a corner building on a pretty busy street two blocks away from the hotel), and having a few beers.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
misschris
Central coast of Calif.
Feb 17, 2013

great hotel

This hotel was located perfectly for our time in Sydney. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the rooms were very modern and comfortable. The only thing I would have needed was an outdoor pool and an ice machine on our floor. We had to call down for ice delivery every night. All in all, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zia Pena Italian food

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joly
London, UK
Jan 10, 2012

Hotel Review

Good value having booked online very central and lots of space in family room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Manley beach on ferry and eat at the Kiosk on Shelleys beach

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnson City, TN USA
Dec 9, 2009

Location impossible to improve upon!

This hotel is pretty much what you expect from a Marriott - nice rooms, clean, etc., but the thing that sets this one apart is its location! Situated less than a block from Circular Quay, you can get anywhere in minutes on foot or by train or bus - and I mean anywhere. Buy a transit pass for however long you will be visiting, and you will be zipping around like a native. We didn't dine at the hotel or use fitness or pool facilities, so I have no comments on them, but if I return to Sydney on business OR pleasure, I'm heading back to the Harbour Marriott. Do not confuse this location with the other Marriott, which is quite off the beaten path in my opinion. The Concierge is excellent, so use him/her! Don't pay extra for the Opera House view - you'll be seeing it plenty anyway. I had only one complaint, and that is two days out of five I returned to the room to find it had not been made up yet. When I called they immediately sent a tag team, but it was a bit inconvenient for the few minutes they were there. But that was only a mild problem, and it would not stop me from returning. Viewers can ignore my Amenities and Dining ratings, as we used none. But the survey requires and answer...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A transit pass is a must, and there is a transit kiosk a shot walk from the Marriott. If you tell them how long your visit will be, where you prefer to go, they will suggest the package that fits. I paid approximately $45 for a week, and I wore it out on the trains, ferries, and buses. Great value, and everyone is really helpful.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search