$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlbertoMC
Monterrey
Jan 16, 2013

Wonderful for its price

Everything was great, location, rooms, price, and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flying steve
Business
pompano beach, florida, u.s.a.
Sep 29, 2009

supurb location...

without question,this was a great place to stay. the location got you where you'd want to go in syd- ney...either by foot, ferry, or taxi, quickly, and reasonably. we stayed two weekends, and during the five weekdays in between, rented a car to tour the blue mountains and hunter valley wine region. even find- ing our way back into the city, and back to the marriott was simple. you could even see it from the harbour bridge... in my pre-trip research, i'd read some reviews on this property, and others in sydney. while most were good, and emphasized the great location, there were a few nit-picking negatives...slow elevators, indifferent service, and such. we found none of these. in fact, the concierge helped us several times...even solving one fairly serious problem...a misplaced passport. the only review-complaint of substance...that the fee to use the internet was a bit high...was easily overcome by visiting a popular fast-food chain just around the corner. in fact, that restaurant offered free internet at all its locations...throughout australia. as for the marriott's internet charge...one place we stayed in the hunter valley...charged almost TWICE that amount!!! so much for unreasonable... during our two stays, we had direct contact not only with the concierge, but with staff from housekeeping, maintenance, bell and front people, and front desk staff...all were perfect. they did so much to facilitate everything we needed, and wanted to do, and did so in a friendly way, quickly, and efficiently. there were zero defects. as for value...this marriott was at the top of everyplace we stayed on this trip...beating out even some moderate chain 'motels' we stayed in while out on 'drive-a-bout.' when, not if, i return to australia, i'll look to the sydney harbor marriott as my first choice...and probably not bother to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

it's a short walk to almost everything you'll need.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 23, 2009

great location near circular quay

We have stayed here a number of times before, and chose it again for the great location. Rooms are reasonably nice, bathrooms quite small, and both could use updating. We paid more in order to have use of the "Executive Lounge", which provides a decent breakfast buffet, wifi, and evening drinks/canapes, which were all very nice, although we noted that compared to past stays, the food offerings in the lounge were much diminished in variety and quantity--Marriott is obviously trying to economize, although they have increased the fees for the lounge access. Staff members were generally pleasant. We would stay here again, as long as we can find a reasonable rate at the time (this hotel's regular rates tend to be high for what is offered, in our opinion).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 26, 2009

Sydney Harbour Marriott

An extraordinary location, in an extraordinary city but the hotel is ordinary with ordinary service and less than helpful, or friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 17, 2009

Nice hotel

Great location, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hol
Business
Fairfax Va
Aug 6, 2009

sydney harbor Marriott 28 Aug 2009

Very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Novato, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Great view and centrally locatred

This hotel has a superb location within walking distance of the many sites we wanted to see: Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, Harbor Bridge, the Rocks and Circular Quay for lots of restaurants and the train/subway station was nearby as well. It was great to wake up every morning and look at the gorgeous view of the Opera House - we could have spent hours watching the ferries pull in and out of Circular Quay. Great hotel, great stay, great location! We normally wouldn't have stayed at this hotel but thanks to the great discounted price from ORBITZ we were able to afford it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was worth it to pay a little more for a great location - we stayed at a different hotel in Sydney earlier in our trip -- it was a great hotel but much farther from most of the attractions. If you can afford it, pay a little more and save yourselves some time to enjoy this beautiful city.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boone, nc
May 25, 2009

Family vacation

Very helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 29, 2008

A greate experience

The location is one of the best in Sydney. It's one of the closest hotels to the Harbor Bridge and Opera House. The transportation is extremely convenient. It is located at the Circular Quay, this is the hub station for the Ferries, this alone would make your travel experience much more pleasant (I am sure you will ride the ferries a lot during your stay in Sydney). The train station is a few minutes walk (you can take train to airport and many other places). Buses are everywhere. The room is very clean, I chose 2 double-beds to accommodate two of us and my daughter (child).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton
Oct 4, 2008

Great Sydney Location

Centrally located Marriott Hotel with everything you'd expect from Marriott. Stylish room, wonderful sheets & pillows. Great view of the Opera House. Easy walk to shopping, 30 min bus ride to Bondi Beach, 5 min to Opera House. Lots of restaurants. Hotel breakfast buffet was excellent & people couldn't be more friendly. Lobby bar made a great martini for a reasonable price. Seafood dinner buffet had a fantastic assortment of food, for a lot less $$ than area restaurants of similar quality. Fitness center actually had enough free weight equipment to have a good workout. Concierge was fantastic in helping plan our stay. Taxi to the airport: 29. AD, about 20 minutes. Nearby Ocean room restaurant: overlooks opera house. Fantastic tasting menu for 90 AD, well worth the price. Best meal I had down under. A few more bucks, but was well worth it for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you'd want from department store to Couture. Watch out for the duty free shops. Same merchandise (not the boutiques) from Polo etc. at lower prices 2 blocks away at the downtown shopping. Opera House: small theater tickets @29.00 7PM for performances not sold out- little theater box office at the opera house.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen HB
Business
New York, NY
Mar 29, 2008

well located

The Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay in Sydney Harbor is well located, and we were glad that we selected it given how convenient it was to all the sites of central Sydney. The room was standard and a little tight, but nicely appointed. We were three. The beds were full size, so better for one person, but very comfortable nevertheless. We did not have a view of the harbor, only of buildings nearby, and it was very expensive we thought to have what we assume was the basic room. The bathroom was modern and up-to-date. The pool was nice, but small, and there was a big terrace area where one could sit outside just off from the pool, exercise and spa area - but very concrete style. The lobby with restaurants, etc, was nice and always with an air of activity. We did not go to the restaurants in the hotel, but found many along the harborfront and in the area around the hotel. Sydney was a great city to visit, so, again, the hotel was well located to take in all the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top