$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

5 stars
View map of 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Japan
Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture, Japan
Dec 28, 2011

Nice newly renovated hotel

Very nice staff, great location, good view and hotel room was like brand new since recently remolded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky, USA
May 26, 2011

What a stay!

I traveled with 3 friends and myself, all girls from America in their 20's. We felt very safe and comfortable at this hotel. The concierge became our best friend. He helped us with travel tips and helped us book flights and the whale watching boat tour. The rates were affordable and it was nice and close to the Harbor so we didn't have to spend money using the train all the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harbor was a very short walk so you don't have to bother with the train. There is plenty to do at the Harbor, you could easily spend 3 days in Circular Quay without getting bored.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana and Ken
Business
Oklahoma City
May 16, 2011

Couldn't be nicer!

Easy walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, The Rocks, The Harbor Bridge and great restaurants and shopping. Also, a short block to trains, ferries and bus system. The room was large, with 2 queen beds, large bathroom, extra large flat panel TV. Great view of downtown for the price we paid. After flying all night, they let us check in early morning which was a huge blessing - and didn't charge us any more. All the staff, from the front desk, concierge, cleaning staff and bell men were all very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the eating places in the office building on Alfred, near Pitt during the day for less expensive breakfast and lunches.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 16, 2011

Great Location, Excellent Hotel

Modern high-rise hotel well located to take advantage of all that Sydney has to offer. Nice touch was an early arrivals lounge with coffee, snacks, shower, internet access and TV for those arriving before room was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walking distance to railroad station, Circular Quay, Opera House and Botanic Gardens.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Second Visit
Business
Texas
Nov 24, 2010

a bit tired

Bell Captain knew our luggage missed us at the airport and were waiting for delivery so we could change and go to the Opera House for a show @ 7:30 pm. When luggage was delivered to the hotel we were informed at 6:45 pm ours would be up in 7-10 minutes. When my husband left 15 minutes later to go to the Opera House to get the Will Call tickets, our bags were sitting in the lobby. It took another 10 minutes and a phone call to get our luggage. EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE, esp. since they knew we were waiting on a time crunch. Our room was very warm, even when the thermostat was set at 10*C. Had to make that call as well. Hair dryer affixed to the wall of the bathroom didn't work. We were told to look for one in 'a drawer'. Seems like they could fix the bath one, or leave a note of where to find the back up one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Wolfies on the opposite side of the waterfront from the Opera House. Wonderful food and service.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale Florida
Nov 21, 2010

Very Expensive Hotel, very Bad T.V.

It was an ok room but the daily rate was a lot higher than I wanted to pay. The TV was an old cathodray TV. I this day and age should be an LED or LCD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Opera House and Sydney Brigde

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Nov 3, 2010

Decent hotel in a premium location

This trip was combination business and personal.- Room was older/outdated, but they had ads in the elevators promoting their upcoming renovations (good idea!)- For the price (average ~$310/night), I expected something better having stayed at a Hilton in Adelaide (which was cheaper and had much nicer amenities). Overall, however, the price was reasonable given other hotel options in the area.- They have a pretty sweet executive lounge on the 30th floor (pretty good views of the Harbor Bridge and the Opera House) to which I somehow got access (some kind of promotion Marriott was running). This was invaluable as they have free snacks in the evening (you could make a nice appetizer or even a meal out of it if you weren't too hungry) as well as beer, wine, soft drinks, tea/coffee. Breakfast here was also quite decent, and considering the prices in Sydney, this saved us a lot of money. Also, free wi-fi here (otherwise AUD $20/day).- The lobby staff were very friendly and recommended several good options for dining and touristing around. [...] was particularly friendly and helpful.- Location is quite nice, as it's close to the harbor and the Opera House.Bottom line: if you have gold or better status with Marriott, this is a good deal. Otherwise, might want to check out other hotels in the area if you want better amenities (until they go through their renovations anyway).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Australian Hotel for their pizzas (kangaroo was our favorite), beer (a large selection of local/regional brews), and dessert (the banana/chocolate/nuts pizza is very good). Metro Pub (I think that's the name) is good for people-watching (they're on the second floor of a corner building on a pretty busy street two blocks away from the hotel), and having a few beers.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boulderbob
Business
Boulder, CO
Sep 28, 2010

Great Location & Accomodations

This hotel is just a few blocks from Circular Quay which is where you can take a ferry to Manly or the Taronga Zoo. The CBD is also an easy walk of about 8 blocks away. The in-room facility to make coffee or tea was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On Saturday and Sunday make sure you check out the Rocks Markets which is a 3 block walk from the hotel. Many great bargains are to be found there.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 5, 2010

Underwhelming, but great location

Unremarkable in every way. I expected much more, but having said that it was not by any means a bad experience -- just underwhelming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Australian Travel Rookie
Business
Atlanta, Georgia USA !!!
Jul 30, 2010

Great experience !!!!!

They are the best thing in Australia that I experienced !!! Great Amerian customer Service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner from Circular Quay Train Station.

Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peripatetic Peg
Business
Edina, MN
Jul 23, 2010

Sydney Marriott Harbour review

The room was very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, unbeatable location. The one concern I had involved one of the bellman, who tried to direct me to an apparently unlicensed cab driver, at a higher than usual rate to the airport. The bellman said that the driver would take me to the airport for the same price as the other cabs. When I asked what that price was, he said $55. Knowing that the rate was higher than what I had paid coming in to the Marriott, I declined. I ended up paying $33 plus tip. I assume the bellman had worked out a deal to get a kickback from the cab driver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top