$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
59 reviews
Perfect Location

Location was central to everything. The hotel was spotless with high end amenities and modern... See full review

  • DarleneF
  • Jun 7, 2014
Loved it!

From check in to check out, I was thrilled with the staff, room and accessibility to everything I... See full review

  • Elin758
  • Mar 26, 2014
Award-winning luxury with Swiss panache
Swissotel Sydney wins global acclaim for delivering luxury in the heart of Sydney’s shopping and business district. Nestled above a department store, this five-star hotel offers solace from the bustling city centre. Darling Harbour, the historic Rocks neighborhood, Sydney Opera House and the Botanic Gardens can be reached on foot a few blocks from the hotel. Meeting space is available for international business travelers and families appreciate themed, kid-friendly accommodations. The hotel also offers fine dining with views of the Sydney skyline.
Highlights
  • Central location makes it easy for guests to walk to major attractions
  • Whimsical kid-friendly rooms
  • Swiss chocolate fondue at Jpb Restaurant 
Rooms
The hotel’s 359 contemporary rooms and suites offer city views and are handsomely furnished with textured carpets, loveseats and couches in autumn hues. Beds are outfitted with mountains of pillows and fine linens. Bathrooms feature full-size tubs and separate showers. A modest workstation offers high-speed Internet access (fees apply). The kid’s room is a must for families, featuring colorful bedding, kid-sized chairs and table, toys, age-appropriate DVDs, plus chocolate and milk in the mini-fridge.
Features
Amrita Spa gets the kinks out of jet-lagged muscles with decadent spa treatments. All guests have access to the outdoor heated pool, sauna and fitness center. Head to Crossroads Bar after a day of sightseeing for cocktails and sunsets or high tea and afternoon snacks. Fine-dining, Jpb Restaurant, offers skyline views and serves modern Australian cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily (no dinner on Sunday). Sample grilled barramundi, cheese plates or Swiss chocolate fondues. On-site parking is also available for an added fee.
Transportation
  • Town Hall station (2 blocks)
  • City Centre station (1 block)
  • Sydney International Airport (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Rocks (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Conference center with 10 meeting rooms
  • Business center with fax and printing capabilities
  • high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi (fees apply)
Policies and Fees
  • Wi-Fi access fee is $24.95 AUD per day.
  • Valet parking fee with unlimited entries and exits is $60 AUD per day.
  • Self parking is $45 AUD per entry.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8708 151.2071
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Swissotel Sydney has long been the choice of discerning travellers, where they can find the warmth of Australian hospitality mixed with an International flavour. This deluxe five star hotel is located above one of Australia's most iconic department stores, centrally positioned amongst Sydney's prime tourist, shopping and entertainment districts, including Pitt Street Mall and Queen Victoria Building. Plus, it is only a short stroll to Darling Harbour, which features the Sydney Aquarium and Cockle Bay Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Swissotel Sydney Rooms

Swiss Executive Club Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, on the top floors with panoramic city views, inclusive of access to the Swiss Executive Club Lounge, kick-start your morning with a gourmet hot breakfast and from early evening relax with pre-dinner drinks and canapes. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.
Swiss 1 Bedroom Suite
One King with separate lounge room, two Plasma televisions, DVD and CD player, espresso coffee machine, ergonomic work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with full-size bathtub and separate shower.
Swiss Executive Club Suite
One King with separate lounge room, two Plasma televisions, DVD and CD player, inclusive of access to the Swiss Executive Club Lounge, kick-start your morning with a gourmet hot breakfast and from early evening relax with pre-dinner drinks and canapes.
Classic Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, with city views with a functional work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with fullsize bathtub and separate shower. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.
Swiss Advantage Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, with panoramic views of the city skyline, espresso coffee machine, ergonomic work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with full-size bathtub and separate shower tones. It is spacious and comfortable room with functional work area including high speed broadband internet access, feathered pillows upon request, luxurious en suite with marble vanity, full-size bathtub with a separate shower stall. These rooms offer panoramic views of the city skyline. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.
Signature Skyline Room
Signature Skyline Rooms are located on the top floors of the hotel and provide a spacious and stylish accommodation alternative with magnificent views stretching from the citys CBD to the Blue Mountains. Featuring a Nespresso coffee machine, complimentary internet, interactive entertainment centre with 40" LED TV and a bluetooth music/alarm system, these newly built rooms provide a new level of luxury designed to suit the high end business and leisure traveller alike. Enjoy access to the Executive Club lounge which includes gourmet buffet breakfast, wireless internet, a selection of newspapers, tea, coffee and cold beverages during the day, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks and evening canaps.
Signature Skyline Balcony Room
Renovated to showcase the glamour and playfulness of Sydney, the Signature Skyline Balcony Room features modern design complimented by a light and airy atmosphere. A private balcony with views over Sydneys skyline, complimentary internet and a newly built bathroom featuring rainwater shower and Pruovel amenities are the perfect accompaniment to this room. With access to the Executive Club Lounge and complimentary internet, these 38 sqm rooms are located on the top floors of the hotel.
Signature Skyline Suite
Located on the top floor of the hotel, sophisticated luxury awaits all who enter this 53 sqm suite, from the separate lounge and dining area, free standing bath and walk in wardrobe. Thoughtfully designed, these newly built suites offer one King bed with 300 count Frette linen, twin basin ensuite, rain water shower, two interactive entertainment centers with 40" LED TVs along with complimentary internet. Enjoy access to the Executive Club lounge which includes gourmet buffet breakfast, wireless internet, a selection of newspapers, tea, coffee and cold beverages during the day, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks and evening canapes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.3 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.9 mi

Dining

Crossroads Bar
Crossroads Bar is located on level 8. The lush surroundings are the ideal place to relax over high tea or a few drinks. The Crossroads Bar is also an ideal meeting place to catch up with colleagues or friends.
Just Pure Bistro Restaurant
Just Pure Bistro Restaurant is located on Level 8. It features modern Australian cuisine complemented by fine wine from the restaurant's extensive wine and loft cellar. Catering for the needs of corporate clients and leisure guests, the Just Pure Bistro menu is designed to deliver a satisfying experience by combining excellent variety, fresh taste and exceptional service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Swissotel Sydney's conference and event facilities include nine function rooms, located on the eighth and ninth floors. The Blaxland Ballroom is a heritage listed column-free Ballroom that is well suited for any event; whether it is a conference for up to 210 delegates or a gala dinner for 300 guests. The Blaxland Ballroom's unique warm timber features, tapestry panel surroundings and art deco touches create an intimacy perfect for any event. The Oak Room, located adjacent to the Blaxland Ballroom, has the ability to accommodate a workshop for up to 24 delegates or an annual AGM meeting of 40 shareholders.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pjcphd
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2012

Expensive amenities, otherwise great experience

The Sydney Swissotel gives guests a five-star experience; the staff respond quickly to any requests, the room was spotless, and almost could be described as spacious. All in all, a fantastic hotel experience. The one big drawback was the cost of amenities. Does it really cost $25 to connect to the Internet for 24 hours? Honestly? Is that necessary? I enjoyed the full breakfast one morning; while good, it was certainly not worth the $35, especially when one can walk out the door, around the corner and find great food at any number of places in the surrounding shopping mecca.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find amazing food and snacks by heading to the underground shopping area and its many food courts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Dec 5, 2009

A 4 star operated as a 2 star hotel

My expectations for a hotel of this caliber is simply that everything should run smoothly with no hassles. I would say that I was disappointed. Having stayed a week created the opportunity for more problems. Hassle 1 - you arrive at the hotel on the first floor and the lobby is on floor 8 - that's okay. But when you leave your luggage and 45 minutes after checking in and being in the room and no luggage has arrived is a problem. It should have been deposited in the room during the check-in process. Having to make a call to get your luggage is not acceptable. Hassle 2 - When I travel for pleasure (as this trip was) - I also travel with a computer and stay in touch with the office. For this I need good access to the internet. The internet in the room at $25 a day is over-priced. I chose the 7 day plan and paid $100. I had difficulty getting the computer set up with the internet modem in the room. No one at the hotel seems to know anything about the computer system. Instead they have you dial 59. This puts you in touch with the internet modem company. They try to diagnosis the problem from India, the Philippines or somewhere (they informed me that they could not divulge the country that they were in). They informed me that I did not have wi-fi in the room (which I discovered later that I did but it was a weak signal)and that I needed to make a direct connection to the modem. Which I did. Nothing seemed to work. I eventually examined the plug to the wall and discovered it was ajar. That fixed the problem. I also had that problem again and figured the cleaning staff was the likely culprits. After that the internet connection functioned well. I later tried to use the I-phone (wi-fi) connection on the 8th floor (where there is supposed to be one). I had no luck. I was informed several times that I needed to purchase an internet card. At other times I was told that this was not needed since I had purchased a room plan. I eventually had a friendly staff member give me a code that supposely would permit me to use the system. The i-phone recognized the wi-fi connection but was never able to connect. I also learned that the system in the room and the system on the 8th floor are different. This makes no sense. Once having discovered that I had a weak wi-fi signal in the room, I tried to connect using it. Again no luck. I called 59 again and after 10 minutes was informed that in order to use the I-phone - I would need to purchase an additional internet plan since it is a separate device. They have to be kidding! I proceeded to Starbucks and used the I-phone there. The internet system at the hotel needs to be improved and a single system should be in place. Hassle 3 - the room is small but not a major problem for one person. Having arrived, I looked for a suitcase stand. There was none. Had to call. They informed me that there was one in the closet. I informed them that there was not. Rooms should be inspected before people check in. They proceeded to deliver the stand. I next looked to find a spot to plug the hot water pot in so that I could make tea and coffee. There was no place to plug it in except on the lower wall and set the pot on a foot stool. This is bad planning. Hassle 4 - The hotel lacks a concierge. There should be a staffed concierge desk on the 8th floor. Instead the concierge activities are performed by the staff on the first floor - but neither duty is done in an acceptable manner. Hassle 5 - On two nights of my stay there were guest running between rooms on the floor and slamming the doors (not permitting the doors to close automatically) between 11:15 and 12:15 at night. This is not good. People are trying to sleep. Hassle 6 - Not a hassle but food prices tend to be high at the hotel and you probably will need to check out some modest priced restaurants on Pitt Street. Hassle 7 - After checking out and going to the first floor with my luggage, I had about ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borderland
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Sep 1, 2009

It was OK

Reception area was oddly located

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coast restaurant at Darling Harbour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 17, 2009

Construction noise was a bummer

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, clean room. Con: Construction noise from across the road was really loud and started at around 7 am each morning, even on Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasRICH6 - Business Coach
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Swiss lived up to it's name...clean

Helpful staff...willing to go the extra mile to assist on connectivity to the wireless capability. Hotel is close to the harbors for excellent restaurants, travel, entertainment, parks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to the harbor amenities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.
Jun 19, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was cost effective and the place was right down town close to train station, legal office, the waters, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1KTraveler
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jun 6, 2009

Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!!

Here are some highlights from my stay at the Swissotel on Market Street in Sydney: 1)Location: The Swissotel is right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Circular Quay is only a 10-15 minute walk (ferries to Taronga Zoo depart from here). 2)Rooms: My room was very clean, but the bed was VERY firm. I prefer a softer bed, so this was disappointing for me. The ~26" LCD TV had all the basics and more. 3)In-Room Internet: A big disappointment. The Swissotel charges ~25AUD/24 hours for Internet in guest room, and the speed is very slow (about 0.5Mb/sec). TIP: You can get a free Internet connection in the lobby/restaurant/bar area after check-in. This is achieved through a code a guest gets with their room key. 4)Pool/Exercise Area/Spa: The pool at the Swissotel is excellent! It is heated and is suitable for laps. Also, there is a hot tub out by the pool. The exercise room is small but adequate with 2 stationary bikes, 2 treadmills, and an elliptical trainer. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Sydney if I get the same great rate from Orbitz. When I booked in June 2009, Orbitz was running a special at this hotel which could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BIG TIP: If you need to get to/from Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport, take the AirportLink train to/from St. James station. St. James is only three blocks away from the hotel, and the cost one-way to/from the airport is 15.20 AUD (a return ticket is discounted). Also, the AirportLink train runs around every 15 minutes. I took a taxi to the Swissotel from Sydney's International terminal and wound up paying a tremendous sum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 28, 2008

Great for business or touring

Very pleasant and quiet room with great attention to detail. The fact that you have only one entrance and the lobby upstairs makes for great security which is important to me since I was traveling alone. The location was very convenient. Literally steps from the hotel, you have shops, restaurants, supermarket/department store, theater, train station & monorail station. I would definetly stay there again if I got the same rate. The thing that would improve a stay there is a continental breakfast for everyone, not just the pricier rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Narberth, PA
Aug 1, 2008

Excellent location

This hotel is in the central business district in Sydney, close to shopping. The room was large, the bathroom excellent with nice shower stall and tub. Internet access (both WiFi and hardwired) overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to major shopping areas, but at noght a bit limited choices for restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top