$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
View map of 68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiri
Business
Houston, Texas
Feb 12, 2012

Location, location, location!

The location was superb in the middle of everything - sightseeing spots, shopping, food, transport, you name it. You could reach all these places by walking for a few minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court on the fifth level of the Westfield shopping mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAG1
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 12, 2011

Food & Bar Facilities

Very limited facilities. Understaff. Very slow service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 4, 2011

Excellent location and price

The hotel was very accesible, the decoration was modern, very comfortable. We travel a lot and this hotel was really good for the price we paid. The employees were very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoy the stay. Hotel for two days before a cruise and planned to stay in another hotel after the cruise. Since we liked it we stay again in it for three more days after the cruise. I recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 7, 2011

Centrally Located and Good Service

Excellent services from the reception to all hotel staff. The repsonse was prompt and courteous. Hotel located right in the centre of downtown shopping area and just a short walk to Darling Harbour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Hurley
Business
Iowa City, IA
Dec 24, 2010

Amazing Hotel, close to aquarium

This was one of the nicer hotels I have stayed at. Got a great view of the city, wonderful, comfortable bed and pillows, huge bathroom, and location close to everything. Medium walk to the Opera House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried to get tickets online, but it charges a service fee, and negated the cost savings, so I think that's pretty dumb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan V
Business
San Diego
Aug 30, 2010

Great Location in the center of downtown

The hotel has all that we required for our stay. The location was an easy walk to the Rocks, Darling, Oxford area and shopping. It is located above a Meyer dept store and has a very limited street level footprint so it is easy to miss upon arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

For a quick snack or lunch there is a huge food court in the basment of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Apr 7, 2010

good location, absolutely no perks

Card system not only unlocked door but operated room lights and the elevator with no written instructions so there was alot of trial & error. The only thing you got for a four star accommodation was a bed & a roof over your head. Area information on restaurants, transporation and attactions non-existent (concierge only). Only two cups coffee/day, everytime you picked up the phone handset was a charge, pool use limited etc. Overall, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour & China Town were the only Sydney attractions within reasonable walking distance. Buyer beware purchasing a multi-day Sydney Pass for transporation purposes there are better alternatives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeoSF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 22, 2010

Swissotel Sydney

Pay to stay on the Executive Club floors. Internet access, free breakfast, bigger rooms, and complimentary drinks and hors de vors at 5:30. Our room was twice as big as the room we had at the Sydney Four Seasons. The bar staff was not attentive. The Concierge booked us front row table at a great open air restaurant with a view of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge. Would definitely stay with Swissotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 17, 2009

Consistently Good

Consistently good service from Swissotel and excellent location in the Sydney Central Business District. Short walk from the botanical gardens, bridge, and Darling Harbour. Staff was efficient and the facility was modern and clean. Outdoor pool area was nice but weather was too cold to enjoy. Only issue with this location is the use of elevators. In order to get to the lobby from the main entrance on Market Street, one must take an elevator. From these elevators one must cross the lobby and use a seperate bank of elevators to access the rooms. Just enough delay to be a nuisance, especially during morning or afternoon check-in/out times. Did not eat or drink at the hotel bars/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Dec 5, 2009

A 4 star operated as a 2 star hotel

My expectations for a hotel of this caliber is simply that everything should run smoothly with no hassles. I would say that I was disappointed. Having stayed a week created the opportunity for more problems. Hassle 1 - you arrive at the hotel on the first floor and the lobby is on floor 8 - that's okay. But when you leave your luggage and 45 minutes after checking in and being in the room and no luggage has arrived is a problem. It should have been deposited in the room during the check-in process. Having to make a call to get your luggage is not acceptable. Hassle 2 - When I travel for pleasure (as this trip was) - I also travel with a computer and stay in touch with the office. For this I need good access to the internet. The internet in the room at $25 a day is over-priced. I chose the 7 day plan and paid $100. I had difficulty getting the computer set up with the internet modem in the room. No one at the hotel seems to know anything about the computer system. Instead they have you dial 59. This puts you in touch with the internet modem company. They try to diagnosis the problem from India, the Philippines or somewhere (they informed me that they could not divulge the country that they were in). They informed me that I did not have wi-fi in the room (which I discovered later that I did but it was a weak signal)and that I needed to make a direct connection to the modem. Which I did. Nothing seemed to work. I eventually examined the plug to the wall and discovered it was ajar. That fixed the problem. I also had that problem again and figured the cleaning staff was the likely culprits. After that the internet connection functioned well. I later tried to use the I-phone (wi-fi) connection on the 8th floor (where there is supposed to be one). I had no luck. I was informed several times that I needed to purchase an internet card. At other times I was told that this was not needed since I had purchased a room plan. I eventually had a friendly staff member give me a code that supposely would permit me to use the system. The i-phone recognized the wi-fi connection but was never able to connect. I also learned that the system in the room and the system on the 8th floor are different. This makes no sense. Once having discovered that I had a weak wi-fi signal in the room, I tried to connect using it. Again no luck. I called 59 again and after 10 minutes was informed that in order to use the I-phone - I would need to purchase an additional internet plan since it is a separate device. They have to be kidding! I proceeded to Starbucks and used the I-phone there. The internet system at the hotel needs to be improved and a single system should be in place. Hassle 3 - the room is small but not a major problem for one person. Having arrived, I looked for a suitcase stand. There was none. Had to call. They informed me that there was one in the closet. I informed them that there was not. Rooms should be inspected before people check in. They proceeded to deliver the stand. I next looked to find a spot to plug the hot water pot in so that I could make tea and coffee. There was no place to plug it in except on the lower wall and set the pot on a foot stool. This is bad planning. Hassle 4 - The hotel lacks a concierge. There should be a staffed concierge desk on the 8th floor. Instead the concierge activities are performed by the staff on the first floor - but neither duty is done in an acceptable manner. Hassle 5 - On two nights of my stay there were guest running between rooms on the floor and slamming the doors (not permitting the doors to close automatically) between 11:15 and 12:15 at night. This is not good. People are trying to sleep. Hassle 6 - Not a hassle but food prices tend to be high at the hotel and you probably will need to check out some modest priced restaurants on Pitt Street. Hassle 7 - After checking out and going to the first floor with my luggage, I had about ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top