$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
View map of 68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Apr 7, 2010

good location, absolutely no perks

Card system not only unlocked door but operated room lights and the elevator with no written instructions so there was alot of trial & error. The only thing you got for a four star accommodation was a bed & a roof over your head. Area information on restaurants, transporation and attactions non-existent (concierge only). Only two cups coffee/day, everytime you picked up the phone handset was a charge, pool use limited etc. Overall, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour & China Town were the only Sydney attractions within reasonable walking distance. Buyer beware purchasing a multi-day Sydney Pass for transporation purposes there are better alternatives.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul Minnesota
Oct 22, 2009

24 dollars to use a washing machine?

Nice hotel; nice location near major attractions - but 12 dollars each to use the washer and dryer?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

exhange currency all at one time; you get hit with a fee every time you exchange.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 17, 2009

Construction noise was a bummer

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, clean room. Con: Construction noise from across the road was really loud and started at around 7 am each morning, even on Saturday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Dec 5, 2009

A 4 star operated as a 2 star hotel

My expectations for a hotel of this caliber is simply that everything should run smoothly with no hassles. I would say that I was disappointed. Having stayed a week created the opportunity for more problems. Hassle 1 - you arrive at the hotel on the first floor and the lobby is on floor 8 - that's okay. But when you leave your luggage and 45 minutes after checking in and being in the room and no luggage has arrived is a problem. It should have been deposited in the room during the check-in process. Having to make a call to get your luggage is not acceptable. Hassle 2 - When I travel for pleasure (as this trip was) - I also travel with a computer and stay in touch with the office. For this I need good access to the internet. The internet in the room at $25 a day is over-priced. I chose the 7 day plan and paid $100. I had difficulty getting the computer set up with the internet modem in the room. No one at the hotel seems to know anything about the computer system. Instead they have you dial 59. This puts you in touch with the internet modem company. They try to diagnosis the problem from India, the Philippines or somewhere (they informed me that they could not divulge the country that they were in). They informed me that I did not have wi-fi in the room (which I discovered later that I did but it was a weak signal)and that I needed to make a direct connection to the modem. Which I did. Nothing seemed to work. I eventually examined the plug to the wall and discovered it was ajar. That fixed the problem. I also had that problem again and figured the cleaning staff was the likely culprits. After that the internet connection functioned well. I later tried to use the I-phone (wi-fi) connection on the 8th floor (where there is supposed to be one). I had no luck. I was informed several times that I needed to purchase an internet card. At other times I was told that this was not needed since I had purchased a room plan. I eventually had a friendly staff member give me a code that supposely would permit me to use the system. The i-phone recognized the wi-fi connection but was never able to connect. I also learned that the system in the room and the system on the 8th floor are different. This makes no sense. Once having discovered that I had a weak wi-fi signal in the room, I tried to connect using it. Again no luck. I called 59 again and after 10 minutes was informed that in order to use the I-phone - I would need to purchase an additional internet plan since it is a separate device. They have to be kidding! I proceeded to Starbucks and used the I-phone there. The internet system at the hotel needs to be improved and a single system should be in place. Hassle 3 - the room is small but not a major problem for one person. Having arrived, I looked for a suitcase stand. There was none. Had to call. They informed me that there was one in the closet. I informed them that there was not. Rooms should be inspected before people check in. They proceeded to deliver the stand. I next looked to find a spot to plug the hot water pot in so that I could make tea and coffee. There was no place to plug it in except on the lower wall and set the pot on a foot stool. This is bad planning. Hassle 4 - The hotel lacks a concierge. There should be a staffed concierge desk on the 8th floor. Instead the concierge activities are performed by the staff on the first floor - but neither duty is done in an acceptable manner. Hassle 5 - On two nights of my stay there were guest running between rooms on the floor and slamming the doors (not permitting the doors to close automatically) between 11:15 and 12:15 at night. This is not good. People are trying to sleep. Hassle 6 - Not a hassle but food prices tend to be high at the hotel and you probably will need to check out some modest priced restaurants on Pitt Street. Hassle 7 - After checking out and going to the first floor with my luggage, I had about ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Swissotel customer
Business
Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Aug 25, 2009

My sad story about Swissotel-Sydney

I have stayed with Swissotel in many different countries and considered this hotel as a good one, but after my stay in Swissotel-Sydney I have changed my opinion. Firstly, neither Orbitz nor Swissotel's website at time of booking informed guests about a MAJOR construction site just across the street. Secondly, reception staff failed to mention that room #1514 will be directly across the construction site. Jack hammer started to work at 7.05 AM on Saturday! The noise was so loud that neither pillows nor ear plugs (or both) were working. When I stepped out of the room I met several other patrons talking loudly in the hallway about this situation. I forgot to mention that we flu across the world (over 23 hours) the night before...Subsequent call went to the hotel operator who promised a "very, very quiet" room as soon it becomes available. We were moved across the hall. We did several hours of wondering around like zombies after not getting enough sleep we arrived back to the hotel and found some chocolates and a bottle of vine. Room was OK, but we were not! This experience was not one I expected from Swissotel. After 2 nights we moved away to another hotel which was NOT booked through Orbitz and it was NOT a Swissotel! LOL Enjoy Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the hotel is a very good Greeck restaurant - Medusa! Dinner for 2 including vino was about AU$150.00.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.A.
Mar 30, 2009

Not kid friendly!

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone bringing children. The pool is not heated and so you can't play in it. The room is small. There is noisy construction going on all day. The lobby restaurant poisoned my young daughter by giving her my alcoholic drink and management did nothing to compensate for this nor did they show concern for their grave mistake. Since she drank the drink before I realized, she could have been badly poisoned. The two good points are that the hotel is centrally located and they gave us an early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a food court basically under the hotel which you get to right around the corner from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top