$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
355 reviews
outstanding service

Staff went out of their way to assist us. If there were any issues a person was sent to our room... See full review

  • Deso
  • Jul 21, 2014
Best location for doing everything

The rooms were comfortable and clean without being over the top in terms of luxury or design. The... See full review

  • TootsW
  • Jul 21, 2014
Award-winning luxury with Swiss panache
Swissotel Sydney wins global acclaim for delivering luxury in the heart of Sydney’s shopping and business district. Nestled above a department store, this five-star hotel offers solace from the bustling city centre. Darling Harbour, the historic Rocks neighborhood, Sydney Opera House and the Botanic Gardens can be reached on foot a few blocks from the hotel. Meeting space is available for international business travelers and families appreciate themed, kid-friendly accommodations. The hotel also offers fine dining with views of the Sydney skyline.
Highlights
  • Central location makes it easy for guests to walk to major attractions
  • Whimsical kid-friendly rooms
  • Swiss chocolate fondue at Jpb Restaurant 
Rooms
The hotel’s 359 contemporary rooms and suites offer city views and are handsomely furnished with textured carpets, loveseats and couches in autumn hues. Beds are outfitted with mountains of pillows and fine linens. Bathrooms feature full-size tubs and separate showers. A modest workstation offers high-speed Internet access (fees apply). The kid’s room is a must for families, featuring colorful bedding, kid-sized chairs and table, toys, age-appropriate DVDs, plus chocolate and milk in the mini-fridge.
Features
Amrita Spa gets the kinks out of jet-lagged muscles with decadent spa treatments. All guests have access to the outdoor heated pool, sauna and fitness center. Head to Crossroads Bar after a day of sightseeing for cocktails and sunsets or high tea and afternoon snacks. Fine-dining, Jpb Restaurant, offers skyline views and serves modern Australian cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily (no dinner on Sunday). Sample grilled barramundi, cheese plates or Swiss chocolate fondues. On-site parking is also available for an added fee.
Transportation
  • Town Hall station (2 blocks)
  • City Centre station (1 block)
  • Sydney International Airport (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Darling Harbour (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • The Rocks (.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Circular Quay (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Conference center with 10 meeting rooms
  • Business center with fax and printing capabilities
  • high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi (fees apply)
Policies and Fees
  • Wi-Fi access fee is $24.95 AUD per day.
  • Valet parking fee with unlimited entries and exits is $60 AUD per day.
  • Self parking is $45 AUD per entry.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-33.8708 151.2071
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Swissotel Sydney has long been the choice of discerning travellers, where they can find the warmth of Australian hospitality mixed with an International flavour. This deluxe five star hotel is located above one of Australia's most iconic department stores, centrally positioned amongst Sydney's prime tourist, shopping and entertainment districts, including Pitt Street Mall and Queen Victoria Building. Plus, it is only a short stroll to Darling Harbour, which features the Sydney Aquarium and Cockle Bay Wharf.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Swissotel Sydney Rooms

Swiss Executive Club Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, on the top floors with panoramic city views, inclusive of access to the Swiss Executive Club Lounge, kick-start your morning with a gourmet hot breakfast and from early evening relax with pre-dinner drinks and canapes. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.
Swiss 1 Bedroom Suite
One King with separate lounge room, two Plasma televisions, DVD and CD player, espresso coffee machine, ergonomic work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with full-size bathtub and separate shower.
Swiss Executive Club Suite
One King with separate lounge room, two Plasma televisions, DVD and CD player, inclusive of access to the Swiss Executive Club Lounge, kick-start your morning with a gourmet hot breakfast and from early evening relax with pre-dinner drinks and canapes.
Classic Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, with city views with a functional work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with fullsize bathtub and separate shower. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.
Swiss Advantage Room
One King or two Double beds based on availability, with panoramic views of the city skyline, espresso coffee machine, ergonomic work area, high speed broadband internet access, feather pillows upon request with full-size bathtub and separate shower tones. It is spacious and comfortable room with functional work area including high speed broadband internet access, feathered pillows upon request, luxurious en suite with marble vanity, full-size bathtub with a separate shower stall. These rooms offer panoramic views of the city skyline. Rates are based on 2 persons with additional charges for extra persons.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Customs House: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.3 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Swissotel Sydney's conference and event facilities include nine function rooms, located on the eighth and ninth floors. The Blaxland Ballroom is a heritage listed column-free Ballroom that is well suited for any event; whether it is a conference for up to 210 delegates or a gala dinner for 300 guests. The Blaxland Ballroom's unique warm timber features, tapestry panel surroundings and art deco touches create an intimacy perfect for any event. The Oak Room, located adjacent to the Blaxland Ballroom, has the ability to accommodate a workshop for up to 24 delegates or an annual AGM meeting of 40 shareholders.

Dining

Crossroads Bar
Crossroads Bar is located on level 8. The lush surroundings are the ideal place to relax over high tea or a few drinks. The Crossroads Bar is also an ideal meeting place to catch up with colleagues or friends.
Just Pure Bistro Restaurant
Just Pure Bistro Restaurant is located on Level 8. It features modern Australian cuisine complemented by fine wine from the restaurant's extensive wine and loft cellar. Catering for the needs of corporate clients and leisure guests, the Just Pure Bistro menu is designed to deliver a satisfying experience by combining excellent variety, fresh taste and exceptional service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (355)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
355 out of 355
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sk23
NZ
Mar 27, 2012

Great location but I wouldn't stay again

Mid level business hotel that thinks its something special which its not. Location is fantastic but hotel in need of maintenance. Very overpriced for the service offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Dec 25, 2011

very very dissatisfied and disappointed

Even though it has a great location the facilities in the room is very very bad and disappointing!!! Decoration and furniture has no class at all! A 3 stars hotel room can easily take over it. I was totally shocked by the time I entered the room! How come they make their lobby and lifts look so fancy but the rooms so bad!!!  The TV is very small with only 6 public channels and a broken remote control. The bed is very poor quality with wobbly base!! There's totally nothing that looks like the photo! Don't tell me its because I didn't stay in a deluxe room. I've been living Swissotel Shanghai for 4 nights and it was fantastic!! I couldn't believe they are the same hotel!! As what I said, the room is so bad that it looked like a 3 star hotel!! I felt like I was cheated because it's completely disappointing!! I really expect an explanation from the hotel since I had such a good impression with Swissotel before. The one in Sydney is totally different from elsewhere in the world, it is a maximum 3 stars rating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kazeriel
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 22, 2013

Definitely not living up to a 5 star impression

The Hotel is nice on impression but the disclosure is terrible. Charges $55 per day for velvet. Room doesn't have enough amenities for the number of customers staying, bottled water is chargeable, Internet is chargeable, doesn't disclose price for item in the mini bar clearly and slippers are chargeable for a FIVE star hotel!! The Location is the only upside for this hotel. It's close to all of the city center shops and boutique fashion stores. Out of all of the five star hotel I have stayed in, both in Australia and overseas, this is by far the worst one. ( Some of the four star ones i stayed are better.) Anyone looking for a five star experience should avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Only good thing is the location.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Xtinie
Sydney, nsw
Jun 11, 2012

Worst hotel experience

When we first arrived @ 5pm to check in we were told the room was not ready and to come back in 1 hour.. Check in was meant to be at 3pm luckily we were already running late or we have been waiting round for several hours to check in... When we eventually checked in the room we were given was a standard room when infact the reservation was for a suite.. We brought this to the attention of hotel staff and were given the explanation of a system glitch. We were offered a late check out and conplimentary breakfast as a resolution. I feel that we were not given a satisfactory resolution to the many issues we encountered.. Staff were not willing to resolve the issue and simply offered a late check out and breakfast.. This does not resolve the fact that the room was not ready for 3 hours after check in time regardless of when i arrived to check in and the room was not what i have paid for! The customer service was disgusting and i will never return to stay at this hotel again, ive also provided feedback of my stay to many friends and family to not stay with thos hotel chain in future.. I request to be contacted to resolve this experience with a manager or someone of higher authority

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Dec 5, 2009

A 4 star operated as a 2 star hotel

My expectations for a hotel of this caliber is simply that everything should run smoothly with no hassles. I would say that I was disappointed. Having stayed a week created the opportunity for more problems. Hassle 1 - you arrive at the hotel on the first floor and the lobby is on floor 8 - that's okay. But when you leave your luggage and 45 minutes after checking in and being in the room and no luggage has arrived is a problem. It should have been deposited in the room during the check-in process. Having to make a call to get your luggage is not acceptable. Hassle 2 - When I travel for pleasure (as this trip was) - I also travel with a computer and stay in touch with the office. For this I need good access to the internet. The internet in the room at $25 a day is over-priced. I chose the 7 day plan and paid $100. I had difficulty getting the computer set up with the internet modem in the room. No one at the hotel seems to know anything about the computer system. Instead they have you dial 59. This puts you in touch with the internet modem company. They try to diagnosis the problem from India, the Philippines or somewhere (they informed me that they could not divulge the country that they were in). They informed me that I did not have wi-fi in the room (which I discovered later that I did but it was a weak signal)and that I needed to make a direct connection to the modem. Which I did. Nothing seemed to work. I eventually examined the plug to the wall and discovered it was ajar. That fixed the problem. I also had that problem again and figured the cleaning staff was the likely culprits. After that the internet connection functioned well. I later tried to use the I-phone (wi-fi) connection on the 8th floor (where there is supposed to be one). I had no luck. I was informed several times that I needed to purchase an internet card. At other times I was told that this was not needed since I had purchased a room plan. I eventually had a friendly staff member give me a code that supposely would permit me to use the system. The i-phone recognized the wi-fi connection but was never able to connect. I also learned that the system in the room and the system on the 8th floor are different. This makes no sense. Once having discovered that I had a weak wi-fi signal in the room, I tried to connect using it. Again no luck. I called 59 again and after 10 minutes was informed that in order to use the I-phone - I would need to purchase an additional internet plan since it is a separate device. They have to be kidding! I proceeded to Starbucks and used the I-phone there. The internet system at the hotel needs to be improved and a single system should be in place. Hassle 3 - the room is small but not a major problem for one person. Having arrived, I looked for a suitcase stand. There was none. Had to call. They informed me that there was one in the closet. I informed them that there was not. Rooms should be inspected before people check in. They proceeded to deliver the stand. I next looked to find a spot to plug the hot water pot in so that I could make tea and coffee. There was no place to plug it in except on the lower wall and set the pot on a foot stool. This is bad planning. Hassle 4 - The hotel lacks a concierge. There should be a staffed concierge desk on the 8th floor. Instead the concierge activities are performed by the staff on the first floor - but neither duty is done in an acceptable manner. Hassle 5 - On two nights of my stay there were guest running between rooms on the floor and slamming the doors (not permitting the doors to close automatically) between 11:15 and 12:15 at night. This is not good. People are trying to sleep. Hassle 6 - Not a hassle but food prices tend to be high at the hotel and you probably will need to check out some modest priced restaurants on Pitt Street. Hassle 7 - After checking out and going to the first floor with my luggage, I had about ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Swissotel customer
Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Aug 25, 2009

My sad story about Swissotel-Sydney

I have stayed with Swissotel in many different countries and considered this hotel as a good one, but after my stay in Swissotel-Sydney I have changed my opinion. Firstly, neither Orbitz nor Swissotel's website at time of booking informed guests about a MAJOR construction site just across the street. Secondly, reception staff failed to mention that room #1514 will be directly across the construction site. Jack hammer started to work at 7.05 AM on Saturday! The noise was so loud that neither pillows nor ear plugs (or both) were working. When I stepped out of the room I met several other patrons talking loudly in the hallway about this situation. I forgot to mention that we flu across the world (over 23 hours) the night before...Subsequent call went to the hotel operator who promised a "very, very quiet" room as soon it becomes available. We were moved across the hall. We did several hours of wondering around like zombies after not getting enough sleep we arrived back to the hotel and found some chocolates and a bottle of vine. Room was OK, but we were not! This experience was not one I expected from Swissotel. After 2 nights we moved away to another hotel which was NOT booked through Orbitz and it was NOT a Swissotel! LOL Enjoy Sydney!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from the hotel is a very good Greeck restaurant - Medusa! Dinner for 2 including vino was about AU$150.00.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
U.S.A.
Mar 30, 2009

Not kid friendly!

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone bringing children. The pool is not heated and so you can't play in it. The room is small. There is noisy construction going on all day. The lobby restaurant poisoned my young daughter by giving her my alcoholic drink and management did nothing to compensate for this nor did they show concern for their grave mistake. Since she drank the drink before I realized, she could have been badly poisoned. The two good points are that the hotel is centrally located and they gave us an early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a food court basically under the hotel which you get to right around the corner from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
simon and wife
perth
May 5, 2013

dissapointed

They sure did some photoshop magic to make the hotel look so good in the photos. very disappointed in room décor, room service inedible. good location but disappointed in all of the hotels facilities. wont be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good location but disappointed in all of the hotels facilities.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 1, 2009

Beginning to look a little worn

Beginning to look a little worn and run down. Value for money at around AUD150 -- wouldn't be happy paying much more. Rooms are quite large, comfortable. Service OK. Blinds don't keep the light out very well in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amsling
Fort Worth, TX
Feb 16, 2012

Stay down the street

This property is far from being 5 star. After a 17 hour flight and hours of delays in customs we were ready for a stiff drink. When we checked in I asked where the ice machine. was and was told down the hall and if there was a problem go to the next floor. Well the ice mach is on the 17th floor but the room key is restricted to your floor only. called room service and after 50 min. no ice so I called again. Eventually went down to the bar in the lobby for ice. This Hotel is an old remodeled re-branded property. There is little frontage on street level, save the concierge's desk. Lobby is on the 8th floor. No towels at the pool, Spa closed on weekends. There is a 5 star down the street with a name beginning with "H", Stay there! You won't be sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the "H" down the strret

Back to menu Return to top

Change search