$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
View map of 68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.
Jun 19, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was cost effective and the place was right down town close to train station, legal office, the waters, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1KTraveler
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jun 6, 2009

Would Definitely Stay Here Again!!!

Here are some highlights from my stay at the Swissotel on Market Street in Sydney: 1)Location: The Swissotel is right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Circular Quay is only a 10-15 minute walk (ferries to Taronga Zoo depart from here). 2)Rooms: My room was very clean, but the bed was VERY firm. I prefer a softer bed, so this was disappointing for me. The ~26" LCD TV had all the basics and more. 3)In-Room Internet: A big disappointment. The Swissotel charges ~25AUD/24 hours for Internet in guest room, and the speed is very slow (about 0.5Mb/sec). TIP: You can get a free Internet connection in the lobby/restaurant/bar area after check-in. This is achieved through a code a guest gets with their room key. 4)Pool/Exercise Area/Spa: The pool at the Swissotel is excellent! It is heated and is suitable for laps. Also, there is a hot tub out by the pool. The exercise room is small but adequate with 2 stationary bikes, 2 treadmills, and an elliptical trainer. I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Sydney if I get the same great rate from Orbitz. When I booked in June 2009, Orbitz was running a special at this hotel which could not be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

BIG TIP: If you need to get to/from Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport, take the AirportLink train to/from St. James station. St. James is only three blocks away from the hotel, and the cost one-way to/from the airport is 15.20 AUD (a return ticket is discounted). Also, the AirportLink train runs around every 15 minutes. I took a taxi to the Swissotel from Sydney's International terminal and wound up paying a tremendous sum!

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boo ratler
Business
santa cruz
Apr 22, 2009

nice lux hotel

Excellent location, in heart of city and action. Hotel was very nice, very comfortable. Little annoying having to take a elevator every time to get to hotel lobby(3th floor?)and then different elevator to get to room...also, the concierge could have been more helpful, more friendly at times. Would certainly stay there again esp if great internet deal found....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is in heart of city - minutes away from everything - shopping, restaurants, parks, other sites and attractions

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved the hotel
Business
Tokyo
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location

Loved the Hotel. Great location. Friendly people. The only bad thing was the power going out and not knowing why for three hours and the loss of hot water for half a day due to the loss of power the day before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It had all of the hints. shopping dining attractions all with in five min of the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.A.
Mar 30, 2009

Not kid friendly!

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone bringing children. The pool is not heated and so you can't play in it. The room is small. There is noisy construction going on all day. The lobby restaurant poisoned my young daughter by giving her my alcoholic drink and management did nothing to compensate for this nor did they show concern for their grave mistake. Since she drank the drink before I realized, she could have been badly poisoned. The two good points are that the hotel is centrally located and they gave us an early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a food court basically under the hotel which you get to right around the corner from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Mar 8, 2009

Great location.

Great location, but hotel is a bit dingy. Was told by orbitz if we upgraded to the advantage room it would include free breafast and internet. It was an additional $25 per day. We did get a coffee maker in our room for the extra price. The staff was great, and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii, USA
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location, Great Price

First trip to Sydney. Hotel is 5mins away from St. James Train Station. 2mins away from Monolrail Station. Central location to Sydney Harbour or Darling Harbor. Hotel Lobby on 8th Floor, private and quiet. Lobby bar and restaurant lovely and good value for money. Staff very friendly and profesional. Laundry facility in Hotel. Beautiful clean room and bathroom. Theatre across the street. Cafe next door for light breakfast. Losts of restaurants at the Rocks or Darling Harbour. Plenty to do and see. Great Vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Paddy's Market, China town on the monorail. Get the Day pass and tour all the different locations and use the coupons at the restaurants. Great underground shopping that leads to the Queen Victoria building. Good souvenier stores at Darling Harbor and Quays.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 3, 2009

Great Location and great price

We were expected and treated quickly and by friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 28, 2008

Great for business or touring

Very pleasant and quiet room with great attention to detail. The fact that you have only one entrance and the lobby upstairs makes for great security which is important to me since I was traveling alone. The location was very convenient. Literally steps from the hotel, you have shops, restaurants, supermarket/department store, theater, train station & monorail station. I would definetly stay there again if I got the same rate. The thing that would improve a stay there is a continental breakfast for everyone, not just the pricier rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Narberth, PA
Aug 1, 2008

Excellent location

This hotel is in the central business district in Sydney, close to shopping. The room was large, the bathroom excellent with nice shower stall and tub. Internet access (both WiFi and hardwired) overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to major shopping areas, but at noght a bit limited choices for restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top