$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Swissotel Sydney

5 stars
View map of 68 Market Street, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Sydney

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Dec 5, 2009

A 4 star operated as a 2 star hotel

My expectations for a hotel of this caliber is simply that everything should run smoothly with no hassles. I would say that I was disappointed. Having stayed a week created the opportunity for more problems. Hassle 1 - you arrive at the hotel on the first floor and the lobby is on floor 8 - that's okay. But when you leave your luggage and 45 minutes after checking in and being in the room and no luggage has arrived is a problem. It should have been deposited in the room during the check-in process. Having to make a call to get your luggage is not acceptable. Hassle 2 - When I travel for pleasure (as this trip was) - I also travel with a computer and stay in touch with the office. For this I need good access to the internet. The internet in the room at $25 a day is over-priced. I chose the 7 day plan and paid $100. I had difficulty getting the computer set up with the internet modem in the room. No one at the hotel seems to know anything about the computer system. Instead they have you dial 59. This puts you in touch with the internet modem company. They try to diagnosis the problem from India, the Philippines or somewhere (they informed me that they could not divulge the country that they were in). They informed me that I did not have wi-fi in the room (which I discovered later that I did but it was a weak signal)and that I needed to make a direct connection to the modem. Which I did. Nothing seemed to work. I eventually examined the plug to the wall and discovered it was ajar. That fixed the problem. I also had that problem again and figured the cleaning staff was the likely culprits. After that the internet connection functioned well. I later tried to use the I-phone (wi-fi) connection on the 8th floor (where there is supposed to be one). I had no luck. I was informed several times that I needed to purchase an internet card. At other times I was told that this was not needed since I had purchased a room plan. I eventually had a friendly staff member give me a code that supposely would permit me to use the system. The i-phone recognized the wi-fi connection but was never able to connect. I also learned that the system in the room and the system on the 8th floor are different. This makes no sense. Once having discovered that I had a weak wi-fi signal in the room, I tried to connect using it. Again no luck. I called 59 again and after 10 minutes was informed that in order to use the I-phone - I would need to purchase an additional internet plan since it is a separate device. They have to be kidding! I proceeded to Starbucks and used the I-phone there. The internet system at the hotel needs to be improved and a single system should be in place. Hassle 3 - the room is small but not a major problem for one person. Having arrived, I looked for a suitcase stand. There was none. Had to call. They informed me that there was one in the closet. I informed them that there was not. Rooms should be inspected before people check in. They proceeded to deliver the stand. I next looked to find a spot to plug the hot water pot in so that I could make tea and coffee. There was no place to plug it in except on the lower wall and set the pot on a foot stool. This is bad planning. Hassle 4 - The hotel lacks a concierge. There should be a staffed concierge desk on the 8th floor. Instead the concierge activities are performed by the staff on the first floor - but neither duty is done in an acceptable manner. Hassle 5 - On two nights of my stay there were guest running between rooms on the floor and slamming the doors (not permitting the doors to close automatically) between 11:15 and 12:15 at night. This is not good. People are trying to sleep. Hassle 6 - Not a hassle but food prices tend to be high at the hotel and you probably will need to check out some modest priced restaurants on Pitt Street. Hassle 7 - After checking out and going to the first floor with my luggage, I had about ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Four Florida Travelers
Couples
Florida
Oct 29, 2009

Location, location, location!

Our stay was for four nights, and everything was fantastic. All of the personnel were caring, conscientious, courteous, and polite; they went out of their way to help. The location is perfect. This was our first trip to Sydney, and seeing the sights, going to the opera, shopping, and finding nearby public transportation were easily accomplished. If/When we return, we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Orinda, CA
Oct 27, 2009

Swissotel Sydney

This is a great hotel within walking distance to most of Sydney attractions and sites. However, the area in experiencing a construction boom, specifically with several retail centers either being developed or retrofitted/renovated. Easy access to public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Withing walking distance to the Sydney Harbor for dining and nightlife.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jonrod1111
Family
Huntington Beach, CA
Oct 27, 2009

Good Stay

Everything was great until they lost our bags that were supposed to be loaded on to the shuttle back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Paul Minnesota
Oct 22, 2009

24 dollars to use a washing machine?

Nice hotel; nice location near major attractions - but 12 dollars each to use the washer and dryer?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

exhange currency all at one time; you get hit with a fee every time you exchange.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Camano Island, WA
Oct 16, 2009

Great location, quality rooms.

We used the great location in the central business district as a base for all our daily sightseeing trips. Right on a major bus line and monorail termimal. The reception area was a little hard to find (on the eigth floor of a large building) but the staff was very helpful and the room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to walk to Circular Quay, the Rocks, Domain and accross the street from the Queen Victoria Building for great shopping.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boog85
Single
Canada
Oct 14, 2009

Great Place to Stay in Sydney

This Hotel was very clean well located.The staff were very friendly.The rooms where very nice.If I was to Return to Sydney I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Redwood City, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Awesome!

The location of Swissotel made it possible for us to visit top attractions on foot, like the Sydney Opera House and Darling Harbor. We walked everywhere, had a great time popping into hidden shopping gems, and save much on cab fare. The PBJ staff were also extremely friendly. Our favorite wait-staff made our dinners some of the best we've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the corner to the Art House hotel and enjoy live acoustic rock music or live jazz. The scene is awesome and the ambiance is unbeatable.

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie Girl
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2009

Excellent Hotel

The Swiss is centrally located. We were able to ditch our tours and create our own walking tour. Its connected to the Queen Victoria building which offers awesome shopping. I highly recommend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Swissotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pedro
Single
Sheffield
Sep 1, 2009

Swissotel Location

The hotel is excellecntly located in the middle of CBD, it is around 20 minutes from the airport by train (then a 5 minute walk from St James Square). It's a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour, Harbourside and the Star City Casino, a 15 minute walk to; Circular Quay, the Rocks and Central station. The hotel is located within 5 minutes of all the major shopping centres the QV building, the Vicotria Gallery's, Pitt Street mall and David Jones. If you don't mind walking the Swissotel Sydney is the best place to stay, with great staff who will take a personnal interest in you, with a good service, pool and a half decent gym, it is without a doubt if money is not too much of an object, Swissotel Sydney is the best place to stay. By far the bets hotel i've stayed in, and i've been travelling for 5 years all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurants are by the quay side at either Darling Harbour or Circular Quay, with both lunch time and dinner specials, Sydney is relatively cheap place to eat as long as you look around.

Back to menu Return to top